July 10, 2017

Administration Office

183 W. Roosevelt

12:00 PM


PRESENT:           Board of Education: Linda Bush, Tom DenHerder, Rick Dernberger, April DeWitt, Ron Scott, Mark Snyder

                            Administrators: Cal De Kuiper, Lynn Van Kampen

ABSENT:             Board of Education: Todd Brennan



I.              CALL TO ORDER:  12:00PM                                                               Ron Scott

A.   PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:                                                    Cal De Kuiper



For decades, school board elections were held in May, four-year terms of office were from July 1 to June 30 (four years later), and the fiscal year was also July 1 through June 30.   There was one organizational meeting, held in July.   All of the officers, committees, and fiscal responsibilities were updated at this meeting in July.

Legislation changed school board elections from May to November of even years.  School boards had the option of four-year terms or six-year terms.  Most school districts chose six-year terms.  Long story short – six year terms prevents majority turnover for board seats in any one year, usually an unhealthy situation.    ZPS chose six-year terms.

With November elections, school board terms now begin on January 1 and expire on December 31, six years later.  Our board terms are now completely phased in to this new schedule.

Most districts, including ZPS, now have two organizational meetings, one in January and one in July.   This will always be a little confusing because of the overlap of election, fiscal, and education calendar years.

Our board has decided to elect officers at the January session.   They are listed below.   July conversation around potential officer changes in January is certainly appropriate.   Officers terms begin February 1, concluding January 31 of the following year.

Our committees are determined in July and terms are set to run July through June to coincide with the school calendar, but are revisited in January.  Committees are appointed by the board president.  

A.      Reviewed Terms of Office:

                Ron Scott                2020

                Todd Brennan        2020

                Tom DenHerder        2020

                April DeWitt                2022

                Rick Dernberger        2022

Linda Bush                2018                

Mark Snyder                2018        


B.      Reviewed Current Board Officers (as of January 31, 2017)


Ron Scott                         President                            April DeWitt                   Trustee

Rick Dernberger             Vice-President             Mark Snyder                  Trustee

Tom Den Herder             Treasurer                           Todd Brennan               Trustee

Linda Bush                      Secretary


C.      Reviewed and approved  current committee appointments for:


                        Agenda Planning – Ron Scott, Rick Dernberger, Tom DenHerder

                        Curriculum – Linda Bush, April DeWitt, Rick Dernberger (chair)

                        Finance Committee – Todd Brennan, Mark Snyder, Tom DenHerder (chair)

                        Co-Curricular – Tom DenHerder, Mark Snyder, Ron Scott (chair)





Linda Bush moved and Tom DenHerder supported the motion to hold regular board meetings for the 2017-18 school year on the third Monday of each month in the cafeteria of Zeeland West High School, 3390 100th Street.  The Superintendent’s Assistant is designated to post public notices of dates and times of regular and special board meetings of the Zeeland Public Schools Board of Education for the 2017-18 school year.


ROLL CALL:    YEA:        Bush, Dernberger, DenHerder, DeWitt, Scott, Snyder




Tom DenHerder moved and Linda Bush supported the motion:


·   To authorize all Zeeland Public Schools moneys to be deposited in Huntington Bank for the 2017-18 fiscal year.

·   That all checks from every fund bear the signature of the Treasurer and Secretary of the Zeeland Public Schools Board of Education for the 2017-18 fiscal year.

·   To retain the law firms of Thrun Law Firm, P.C. of Lansing, Michigan; Miller Johnson of Grand Rapids, Michigan; Scholten Fant Attorneys of Grand Haven and Clark Hill PLC of Grand Rapids for the 2017-18 school year.

·   To retain the accounting firm of Kiekover, Scholma and Shumaker, P.C. of Zeeland, Michigan, as auditors for the District for the 2017-18 school year.

·   To appoint the Ottawa Area Intermediate School District as fiscal agent for certain Zeeland Public Schools’ programs for the 2017-18 school year.

·   To appoint Rick Dernberger as representative to the Ottawa Area School Board Association Board of Directors for the 2017-18 school year.

·   To approve the resolution authorizing the purchase of property for the 2017-18 school year.

·   To approve the resolution authorizing the sale of securities for the 2017-18 school year.

·   To renew the membership to the Michigan Association of School Boards for 2017-18.

·   To appoint Mark Snyder as the district representative on the ZPS Recreation Advisory Board.   


ROLL CALL:  YEA:        Bush, Dernberger, DenHerder, DeWitt, Scott, Snyder




V.             RECESS:


The organizational meeting of July 10, 2017 recessed at 12:24 PM to reconvene in regular session.