OFU 2017 Schedule

New sessions will be added starting Monday, once topic discussions and coordination of session start times gets under way. Check back often!

Make sure to also read the FAQ carefully for more info regarding the overall structure of the event. Thanks!

The three main daily time windows

In order to maximize connection and collaboration across continents (Americas, Europe and Australasia), we suggest that sessions be scheduled so that they fall into one of the following 3-hour windows:

  • Morning (Americas + Europe): 8-11am Pacific Time (that’s evening 5-8pm in Europe); 1500-1800 UTC/GMT
  • Evening (Americas + Australasia): 4-7 pm Pacific Time (that’s 10am to 1pm in the morning in Sydney) 2100-midnight UTC/GMT
  • Night (Europe + Australasia): 12-3am Pacific Time (that’s morning in Europe & afternoon/evening in Sydney) 0700-1000 UTC/GMT

This is simply a recommendation and has worked well in the past. However, attendees are free to pick whatever session times work best for them and their group.

MONDAY, OCTOBER 16

Orientation session I

6pm Pacific (duration: ~30-45 minutes) / 9pm Eastern / 3am Berlin / 12pm Sydney

Via Zoom (details forthcoming)

Co-hosts: Tim Bonnemann & Palash Sanyal

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 17

Orientation session II

9am Pacific (duration: ~30-45 minutes) / 12pm Eastern / 6pm Berlin / 3am Sydney

Via Zoom (details forthcoming)

Co-hosts: Tim Bonnemann & Caroline Blackwell

QiqoChat Virtual Café

9am-10am Pacific / 12-1pm Eastern / 6-7pm Berlin / 3-4am Sydney

Host: Lucas Cioffi (founder, QiqoChat)

http://dialogue.qiqochat.com/events

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 18

Orientation session III

12am Pacific (duration: ~30-45 minutes) / 3 Eastern / 9am Berlin / 6pm Sydney

Via Zoom (details forthcoming)

Co-hosts: Tim Bonnemann & Lyda Michopoulou

QiqoChat Virtual Café

9am-10am Pacific / 12-1pm Eastern / 6-7pm Berlin / 3-4am Sydney

Host: Lucas Cioffi (founder, QiqoChat)

http://dialogue.qiqochat.com/events

Orientation session IV

10am Pacific (duration: ~30-45 minutes) / 1pm Eastern / 7pm Berlin / 4am Sydney

Via Zoom (details forthcoming)

Host: Tim Bonnemann

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 19

Blending F2F and online to make most of facilitation processes

12am Pacific / 3am Eastern / 9am CET / 6pm Sydney

Co-hosts: Anja Ebers & Mirjami Sipponen-Damonte

Dial-in information

QiqoChat Virtual Café

9am-10am Pacific / 12-1pm Eastern / 6-7pm Berlin / 3-4am Sydney

Host: Lucas Cioffi (founder, QiqoChat)

http://dialogue.qiqochat.com/events

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 20

Creating virtual spaces for vulnerability and transformation

Relationship and Process – how technology can help and hinder

Using technology it is possible to offer pre designed processes to facilitators and coaches to help them deal with virtually any issue. The question then becomes how to use the technology to support effective coaching and facilitation without losing the impact and power of direct relationships. We will explore this issue and brainstorm some ideas for getting the balance right. There will be some software demonstrations and participants are encouraged to bring their favourite tool to discuss with the group.

9am-10.30am Pacific / 12-1.30pm Eastern / 6-7.30pm Berlin / 3-4.30am Sydney / 1600-1730 UTC - click here for time where you are

https://zoom.us/j/989476383 

Via Zoom (dial-in information)

You are invited to a Zoom meeting now.

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/989476383

Or iPhone one-tap :

    US: +14086380968,,989476383#  or +16468769923,,989476383#

Or Telephone:

    Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

        US: +1 408 638 0968  or +1 646 876 9923  or +1 669 900 6833

    Meeting ID: 989 476 383

    International numbers available: https://zoom.us/zoomconference?m=nUtxnmkmukqS8mzDxVTbAaZ_dEqYJFyt

Planning to attend:

QiqoChat Virtual Café

9am-10am Pacific / 12-1pm Eastern / 6-7pm Berlin / 3-4am Sydney

Host: Lucas Cioffi (founder, QiqoChat)

http://dialogue.qiqochat.com/events

LISTSERVs, Blogs, Structured Fora and Open Meeting Laws

Massachusetts, like most states, has an Open Meeting Law. (Some states call it a Sunshine Law.) Basically, it says that public business must be conducted in the public’s view - that is, it must be open to public visibility. A quorum of a Public Body (a Board, Committee, or Commission, etc.) is not allowed to deliberate on a matter within their jurisdiction except at a duly announced in-person meeting. They are not allowed to conduct such deliberations in private meetings, by phone, or by E-Mail (for fear that they would make some kind of secret deal of which the public would be unaware).

I want to amend the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law to permit members of public bodies to participate in Public Internet Discussions, provided that there is a public announcement of the Public Internet Discussion including instructions for free Internet access to monitor the discussion as fully as the members of the public body themselves, every statement is date and timestamped and attributed to the person who made it, an archive or transcript is kept and instructions for free Internet access to the archive is included in the announcement of the Public Internet Discussion. I envision Public Internet Discussions being asynchronous, written text-based discussions that are in operation 24 hours a day, seven days a week, for an indefinitely long period - perhaps years or even decades.

In this session we can discuss issues related to this.

The session is on Friday, 20-Oct-2017 at 10 AM Pacific, 1 PM Eastern, 1700 UTC using Zoom.

Host: David Rosenberg <Rosenberg@ACM.org>

Join from a PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/3550594890

Or iPhone one-tap: US: +16468769923,3550594890# or +16699006833,3550594890#

Or Telephone: Dial (for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 646 876 9923 or +1 669 900 6833

Meeting ID: 355 059 4890

International numbers available: https://zoom.us/zoomconference?m=mdLRvigYpehqs0I9ZtNPtwlhpM3hNnXz

If you are interested, but can’t attend the session, please contact me, David Rosenberg, at Rosenberg@ACM.org

Planning to attend:

Hybrid sessions – Maximizing Synchronous and Asynchronous Facilitation (pre-scheduled program)

We will explore the pros and cons of virtual facilitation in synchronous (real-time) and asynchronous (non real-time) modes, experiencing how online tools can support both modes and your facilitation goals.

This will be a hands on session; after a 10’ presentation of the concept we will simulate a hybrid creative problem solving (CPS) session that mixes synchronous and asynchronous phases.

12pm Pacific / 3pm Eastern / 9pm Berlin / 6am Sydney / 1900 UTC

Alexandre Eisenchteter (co-founder, Stormz)

 

How to join the session (Zoom)?  

How to participate to the simulation (Stormz) ?

On top of the the videoconference tool Zoom, we need you to create a free account on Stormz (https://stormz.me)

Planning to attend:

Successful online deliberation: a case study and discussion

Description: In this session, you will be presented with a rich New Zealand case study of a public deliberation process for approximately 30 minutes. This will be a starting point for group discussion following the interests of those who attend.

The deliberation topic was the pre-birth testing of human embryos and foetuses. The case study speaks to a number of issues that have been raised so far in various discussions including the respectful discussion of sensitive topics (this one backs onto abortion) in small online groups, scaleability, vulnerability and transformation, hybrid face-to-face and online processes (the main focus will be on the online process), institutional arrangements and more.

Host: Simon Wright (simon@pep.org.nz)

Record of session: I have some PowerPoint slides and will make a video recording (someone please remind me!). Are there any volunteer note takers willing to record the discussion?

Time: Friday 20th 1.00-2.30pm PDT : Friday 20th 4.00-5.30pm EDT : Friday 20th 10.00-11.30pm BST : Saturday 21st 7.00am AEST : Saturday 21st 9.00-10.30am NZDT

Location: Zoom - join from PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://vuw.zoom.us/j/9631909284 

Planning to attend:

Here’s a link to the presentation slides - https://www.dropbox.com/s/raxtru6m18vafln/PBT%20Case%20Study.pptx?dl=0 

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 21

Online distributed conversations

Imagine scores or hundreds of people discussing possible solutions to a big issue. People set up local meetings of half a dozen people in their homes or a community room (just like supporters did in the campaign of Larry Sanders’ brother). They are connected by video conferencing to lots of other similar groups and the event organisers. After an introduction they discuss in their own rooms, while someone takes notes that are shared to a group who pick out common themes and ideas to be fed back to all the rooms. Over the event they reach consensus on some ways forward. That is modelled on the techniques AmericaSpeaks used to do in 21st Century Town Meetings in one big room. But now video conferencing is more reliable, we could try distributed meetings. The session will collect ideas on how to make this vision work – technically, psychologically, organisationally and financially. The output will be a list of ideas and steps we could take to create a trial of the technique.

1am Pacific / 4am Eastern / 9am BST / 10am CET / 7pm Sydney / 0800 UTC

Host: David Newman

Via Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/9299593080
More info:
https://2017.ofuexchange.net/t/session-details/114/22

Planning to attend:

QiqoChat Virtual Café

9am-10am Pacific / 12-1pm Eastern / 6-7pm Berlin / 3-4am Sydney / 1600 UTC

Host: Lucas Cioffi (founder, QiqoChat)

http://dialogue.qiqochat.com/events

SUNDAY, OCTOBER 22

Vance Stevens & Hanaa Khamis -
Voice Apps for Developing Speaking and Writing Activities

This will be Episode 373 of Learning2gether, https://learning2gether.net/about/ 

Learning2gether is a non-funded, free podcast put on informally by teachers forming a community of practice supporting online facilitation of topics regarding innovations in language learning and educational technology, and on education in general.

 

Accordingly, this event is being posted to the 2017 Online Facilitation Unconference. This session will  model techniques in using free online facilitation tools to make online events as accessible as possible, while creating archives of audio, video, and text  recordings.

The recorded archives of this session can now be found here:

https://learning2gether.net/2017/10/22/learning2gether-with-hanaa-khamis-voice-apps-for-developing-speaking-and-writing-activities-and-the-online-facilitation-unconference/ 

 

Sunday October 22, 2017 at 1400 UTC

7-8am Pacific / 10-11am Eastern / 4-5pm Berlin / 1-2am Sydney / 1400-1500 UTC/GMT

 

Where?

The event will take place in Hangout on Air on Vance's YouTube Channel, https://www.youtube.com/user/vancestev 

Be sure you use the correct venue, graphic below (we had to change it)

2017-10-22_1806hanaa-Vance.png

If you need help or want to chat with the live participants while watching the streamed HoA, please use Chatwing, (log in usng FB, Google, Twitter) http://chatwing.com/vancestev

If you want to join us in the live HoA

Once the event has started, we'll post the direct link to the HoA in the Chatwing text chat.

Anyone wishing to join us in the HoA will be able to do so by clicking on the link, up to 10 participants in the HoA at any one time.

More information and convenient embeds of YouTube stream and Chatwing text  chat were posted here: http://tinyurl.com/learning2gether (now the event has been archived here)

Planning to attend:

QiqoChat Virtual Café

9am-10am Pacific / 12-1pm Eastern / 6-7pm Berlin / 3-4am Sydney

Host: Lucas Cioffi (founder, QiqoChat)

http://dialogue.qiqochat.com/events

OFU “Catch-All” Conversation (Your Thoughts, Next Steps, Etc.)

SUNDAY 10:30-11:30 am Pacific / 1:30-2:30 pm ET / 7.30-8.30pm CET / 4.30-5.30am Sydney

Host: Stephen Buckley ( tweeting at  @OpenGovMetrics @Transpartisan )

NOTE: This session will follow Lucas Cioffi’s “QiQoChat Cafe”, but allow for a 30-.minute break.

Platform: https://join.me/opengovernment 

You do NOT need to download the Join.Me app (unless you want to). You can simply just use your web-browser. World-wide phone-in numbers are available (look for “Microphone” icon), but the default call-in is +1-202-660-1314 (Washington, DC) which allows you to remain anonymous if you choose.  Instead of using computer speakers, I suggest you use a headset (or ear-buds) to avoid audio-feedback.

This session will allow everyone an opportunity to give their "elevator speech" (1-minute max.) or otherwise share their thoughts about the OFU Exchange 2017 sessions, specifically, or the general state of Online Facilitation and where you think it needs to go.

I am particularly interested in hearing ideas about how we can create a "Community of Practice" for Online Facilitation, with the goal of Improving Online Discussions. The group would mostly exist online, of course, but also at face-to-face meetings.

Anyone is welcome to take notes, of course, and share them as they wish. But, in the interest of openness and accuracy, I plan to record the session and make it available for the benefit of those who are interested but unable to attend. (Email me if you want me to send the video-link later.)

I thank Tim for setting this whole thing up, but I think that we have been too scattered to take proper advantage of our collective wisdom and, so, need to talk about how to set up a “home-base” (even a temporary one) for our community-to-be.

Stephen Buckley

Collaboration Engineer

Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

OpenGovMetrics.com

sbuckley@opengovmetrics.com

Planning to attend?