Welcome to PS 32

The Belmont School

2017-2018

C:\Users\admin\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\GT51Q84U\FullSizeRender.jpg

Mission Statement

We believe that a great education is one that works in partnership with its families and community to develop students to their fullest intellectual, creative, social-emotional, and physical capacities. P.S. 32’s mission is to provide and support challenging and rigorous educational opportunities to ensure academic excellence for all students in a safe and caring learning environment. Engaging rigorous and challenging common core aligned curriculum guided by data, and research-based instructional practices.

Instructional Focus

If teachers are engaged in professional learning cycles around student discourse, students will develop the necessary critical thinking skills, problem-solving skills, and independence needed, resulting in an increase in student achievement in all content areas.


Theory of Action

If students have timely, accurate, and specific feedback on both their current level of performance and recent growth then they will be motivated and better able to direct their own learning leading to greater student achievement and student independence.

We Believe Children Learn Best…

  • in a nurturing environment
  • when they are respected and feel safe to take risks
  • from each other
  • when presented with authentic learning tasks – through real world, hands on experiences
  • in small groups
  • when exposed to different texts/media and are writing across genres
  • through discussion and questioning
  • through experiences and exposure
  • when provided on-going, explicit feedback

Students will:

  • Engage in rigorous tasks and discussions aligned to the CCLS.
  • Use assessment rubrics and/or checklists to guide them in completion of tasks.
  • Tract and monitor their progress toward mastery of standards.
  • Use feedback to reflect and goal-set based on their performance.
  • Self-assess performance using rubrics.

Teachers will:

  • Create a warm, encouraging environment where all students feel welcome and respected
  • Design lessons and assessments aligned to the CCLS.
  • Provide clear assessment criteria using a rubric and/or checklist.
  • Create a system for students to track and monitor their progress
  • Create student friendly assessment rubrics to allow students’ to self-assess
  • Use checks for understanding to monitor students’ progress toward mastery of learning targets
  • Provide students with timely feedback on all assignments

School Leaders will:

  • Hold high expectations for all students to achieve rigorous, CCLS-aligned standards in all academic areas.
  • Provide instructional resources and supports to help teachers effectively assess student understanding.
  • Hold high expectations for teacher through regular observations, check-ins and feedback.

Parent will:

  • Ensure that their child is in school, on time and prepared to learn every day.
  • Attend parent workshops.
  • Regularly monitor their child’s performance and ask their child about what he or she is learning in school.
  • Attend every parent Teacher Conference Nigh and ask questions 

Important Dates

2017 – 2018 Coffee with Mrs. Lew

September 26th

October 27th 

December 1st 

January 26th 

March 2nd 

April 27th 

May 25th 

June 8th 

2017 – 2018 Parent Association Meetings

September29th

October 10th

November 14th

December 12th

January 9th

February 13th

March 13th

April 10th

May 8th

June 5th

2017 – 2018 SLT Meetings

October 25th

November 29th

December 20th

January 31st

February 28th 

March 28th

April 25th

May 30th

June 6th

2017-2018 New York State Exams

 

Assessment

Date

New York State English as a Second Language Test (NYSESLAT) – Speaking Portion

April 9 – May 18

New York State English as a Second Language Test (NYSESLAT) – Reading, Writing, and Listening

NYS English Language Arts (ELA) Exam

April 11 – 12

NYS Mathematics Exam

May 1 – 2

NYS Science Performance Exam

May 23 – June 1

NYS Science Written Exam

June 4


2017-2018 P.S. 32 School Directory

Teacher

Title

Email

Ms. Acosta

Teacher – Pre-K

MLocasto2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Alleva

Teacher – 2nd Grade

KAlleva@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Alvarez

Speech (Related Services)

AAlvarez18@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Argueta

Teacher – 3rd Grade

EArgueta@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Arnold

IEP Teacher

NArnold2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Averill

Teacher – 5th Grade

MAverill@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Barbieri

Assistant Principal

LBarbieri2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Bonet

Teacher – K/1st Grade

MBonet2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Bouhet

Assistant Principal

JBouhet@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Bricker

Universal Literacy Coach

SBricker@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Buono

Teacher – 4th Grade

EBuono2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Caltabellotta

Teacher – 2nd Grade

TCaltabellotta@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Celic-Marte

School Psychologist

MCelic@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Cesa

Teacher – 4th Grade

LCesa@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Chestnutt

Music Enhancement Teacher

SChestn@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Christian

Teacher – 2nd Grade

nchristian3@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Colangelo

UFT Teacher Center Instructional Coach

DColangelo@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. D’Agostino

Teacher – 5th Grade

TDagostino2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Darling

Teacher – 2nd Grade

VDarling@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Elliott

Teacher – 2nd Grade

LElliott5@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Emond

Teacher – 5th Grade

REmond@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Espinal

Teacher – 3rd Grade

SEspinal@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Estevez

Guidance

mesteve3@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Evans

Art Enhancement Teacher

DEvans11@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Farrell

Teacher – Speech (Related Services)

CFarrell9@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Fisher

Teacher – 3rd Grade

jfisher18@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Friedman

Instructional Coach

SFriedman23@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Fiorentino

Technology Enhancement Teacher

WFiorentino@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Garcia

Social Worker

TGarcia7@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Giustino

Teacher – 5th Grade

NGiustino@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Grant

Teacher – Speech (Related Services) 

VGrant2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Hanaburgh

Teacher – 1st Grade

khanaburgh@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Harmonay

Teacher – Kindergarten

CHarmonay@schools.nyc.gov

Teacher

Title

Email

Ms. Hebron

AIS Teacher

CHebron@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Hurley

Librarian

MHurley@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Kaplan

Teacher – 4th Grade

nkaplan4@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Krellenstein

Guidance

MKrellenstein@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Kreitzberg

Teacher – 3rd Grade

MKreitzberg@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Lawrence

Teacher – 2nd/3rd Grade

SLawrence7@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Lo Medico

Teacher – 2nd Grade

TCarino@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Longarino

Teacher – 4th Grade

DLongarino@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Ljuljduraj 

Teacher – 4th

LLjuljduraj@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Maulucci

Teacher – Kindergarten

DMaulucci@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Mazzella

Teacher – 4th 

VMazzella@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. McAleer

Teacher – Related Service Provider

WMcalee@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Melo 

Teacher

EMelo4@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Mentrati

Teacher – Kindergarten

cmentrasti@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Merckel

Teacher – Kindergarten

JMerckel@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Migdal

Teacher – 5th Grade

SMigdal@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Moore

Teacher – 3rd Grade

JMoore33@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Morfe

Teacher – Pre-K

lfeldmeth@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Nemeth

Teacher – 1st Grade

TNemeth@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Oliveras

Teacher – 1st Grade

JOliveras@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Pena Tirado

Social Worker

YPenaTi@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Perez

Art Enhancement Teacher

fperez18@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Petrera

Gym Enhancement Teacher

MPetrera@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Pinto

Science Enhancement Teacher

GPinto@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Polanco

Family Worker

SPolanco4@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Power

Gym Enhancement Teacher

GPower2@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Rabinowitz

Teacher – 5th Grade

NRabinowitz2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Raffio

Teacher – 1st Grade

CRaffio@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Ramirez

Ms. Ramirez – AIS Teacher

NRamirez2@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Rosado (Florian)

ENL Teacher and Peer Collaborative Coach

CRosado9@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Rosen

Occupational Therapist

BRosen4@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Sanchez

Teacher – Kindergarten

JSanchez55@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Salazar

Teacher – 1st/2nd Grade

ksalazar3@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Sedlarcik

Teacher – 4th Grade

MSedlar@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Servello

Teacher – 4th Grade

LServello@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Sorkin

Teacher – 5th Grade

HSorkin@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Spahn

Teacher – 2nd Grade

DSpahn@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Stiff

Teacher – 5th Grade

JStiff@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Stigliano

Assistant Principal

rstigli@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Thomas

Teacher – 2nd Grade

CThomas242@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Treanor

AIS Teacher

NTreanor@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Vasilopoulos

Social Studies Enhancement Teacher

JVasilopoulos@schools.nyc.gov

Mr. Veloz

Social Worker

EVeloz@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Vinhas

AIS Teacher

IVinhas@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Yustman

Teacher – 1st Grade

SGiaccio@schools.nyc.gov

Check out our school website for more information about our curriculum and suggested resources. www.ps32belmont.com