How to Interpret a Standards Based Report Card

Our district's Elementary Schools use a "standards" based report card. This is different from a letter grade report card that begins to be used in middle school. Standards based learning is a set of skills, content and performance tasks that a student continues to develop throughout the year. The goal is to achieve proficiency in each standard by the end of the year. The teacher will give a 1, 2, or 3 to indicate the student's progress towards achieving the complete year-end standard. There can be many parts to a standard.

1+ Below Grade Level (needs support with the application of skills and concepts)

2 - Approaching Grade Level (beginning to independently use grade level skills)

3 - At Grade Level (consistently applies or exceeds grade level skills)

Level 3 means that standard is complete and fully met


Parents should note that is not unusual for even advanced students who are making excellent progress to be at Level 2 in the beginning of the year because there are new concepts or skills within that standard that have not yet been introduced or assessed. This is especially true in reading and writing. The ideal is to achieve all 3s by June.

Scholastic Reading Inventory (SRI)

The SRI is a computer based assessment of reading comprehension that is customized to each student based on the difficulty level of the reading selection and vocabulary and the quality of the response. It results in a number score on a continuum between 0 (beginning reader) and 1600 (high school). This is referred to as their "lexile" score. On average, 100 lexile points corresponds to approximately 1 year of growth in comprehension and vocabulary. Each grade level has a target score to be reached by the end of the year to achieve grade level proficiency.

End of the year lexile targets:

Grade 4                Proficient  -lexile 740                        Advanced - lexile 900

Grade 5                Proficient - lexile 830                        Advanced - lexile 1000

Fountas and Pinnell Reading Levels (F&P)

F&P is a reading assessment that involves the student reading aloud as the teacher collects data on decoding skill, accuracy, self-corrections, tracking patterns and fluency. It is followed by an interview that measures the level of reading comprehension. It is scored on a continuum with a letter grade from A (beginning reader) to Z (eighth grade). Each grade level has a target letter to be reached by the end of the year to achieve grade level proficiency.

F&P Grade Level Ranges

Grade 4         P, Q, R, S:         End of Grade 4 Proficiency Target  - Level S

Grade 5         S, T, U, V:         End of Grade 5 Proficiency Target  - Level V