Frequently Asked Questions

 

GENERAL

Q. What is The Hub?

A. The Hub is our new church management software. It is designed to empower the staff, assist group leaders and improve connectivity within the congregation. The Hub is an integral tool for how we will function as a church body and everyone is encouraged to participate and take advantage of its benefits.

 

Q. Why would I use the Hub? What are the benefits to me?

A. The Hub provides a number of benefits and uses for every member of the congregation. Some of the more prominent features include the ability to:

 

 

Q. Is The Hub just another form of social media?

A. No. Although we are excited by the many ways the Hub can help strengthen the congregational community and increase connectivity; it is not a social media tool. The Hub does not allow for personal broadcasting and there are no blogs, tweets, posts, or “likes”.

 

Q. Who is on the Hub and can I request a login?

A. Anyone can request a login. The permissions and privileges granted will be determined based on that person’s status within the church database. People identified as church members and regular attenders in the church’s database are the only people able to view the online directory in the Hub. Visitors may be granted access with limited privileges and visibility.

 

Q. Can I add people to my family in the Hub?

A. Only the church administration can add people to the Hub database. If you would like to add someone to the Hub, use the Request a New Profile link on the Hub login page.

 

Q. Can I edit my own information?

A. Yes, after you log in to your profile, you can select the option to “edit your profile.” Here you can change your address, email, phone number and much more.

 

Q. Can a person’s login be revoked?

A. Yes, if an individual is found to be using the system for inappropriate purposes and continues to do so even after being asked to stop, their user ID can be revoked.

 

Q. What does it mean when you designate someone as a friend in The Hub?

A. Designating someone as a friend simply allows them to see the information that you have listed in your privacy settings as viewable to “friends” or “friends and my group members.” In addition, it allows you to quickly access their profile.

 

Q. If I “unfriend” someone in The Hub, do they get notified?

A. No, they will simply no longer be able to see the information that you have set as viewable to “friends” or “friends and my group members.”

 

SECURITY/PRIVACY

Q. I am nervous about putting my information online. How secure is The Hub?

A. Security is of the utmost importance. Your information is secure and well protected. CCB’s software has been vetted by a number of private and public organizations, and the church utilized a number of security experts in our congregation to validate that security of the system.

 

Q. What if I am a very private person and I’m nervous about putting information into the Hub?

A. It is very important to understand the difference between what you put into the Hub and what you choose to share. For the sake of the staff and administration team, it is requested that you put as much information in the system as possible. Maintaining basic contact and demographic information is particularly important. However, from a privacy perspective, once you’ve entered that information, you may choose to display as much or as little of that information to the rest of the church as you choose. When you follow the steps under the “Getting Started” worksheet you will be shown how to set your privacy settings so you can share as much or as little information as you are comfortable with.

 

Q. Can you explain the privacy setting options?

A. You have four privacy setting options which “dial” up or down who can see specific pieces of information. For every piece of information you enter, you can select a privacy setting:

 

1. Everybody: This is the highest level for viewing. If someone has a username and password, they can see the information in this field.

2. Friends & My Group Members: Fields with this setting can be viewed by members of “members interact” type groups you are involved in as well as other people with a login who are on your friends list. Appropriate church leadership can view the information as well.

3. Friends Only: Fields with this setting can only be viewed by other people with a login who are on your My Friends list. Appropriate church leadership can view the information as well.

4. Church Leadership Only: This is the lowest level for viewing. Fields with this setting can only be viewed by appropriate church leadership (people who have been given additional administrative privileges for the system.)

 

HELP

Q. Where can I go if I need help getting logged in or using the system?

A. The church has developed a number of guides and “cheat sheets” to help folks accomplish some of the more basic functions in the Hub. When you click on the Hub link on the church’s home page, you will be directed to some “How To” documents. If you are having troubles logging into the system, please contact the church office. Once you are in the system, the Hub also has an extensive collection of help videos as well as a “Help” library.

 

CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 13

Q. Who can see children’s names and ages?

A. Users cannot see information on children if they are under the age of 13.

 

Q. If an individual wants his/her child under the age of 13 to be displayed, can it be?

A. No.

 

Q. At what age can a child request a login?

A. Children may request a login at age 13.

 

FINANCIAL

Q. Who can see my giving?

A. The only people with access to your giving history are the financial committee members in charge of counting and entering donations, and the master administrator.

 

Q. My husband and I can see our children’s financial giving, can they see ours?

A. No, whoever is listed in the Hub as the primary contact as well as the spouse can see all financial giving for members in their own family; however, the family members cannot see anyone’s financial giving except their own.

 

EMAIL/COMMUNICATION

Q. Can a user send an email to the whole church?

A. No.

 

Q. Can a user email everyone in a group in which they are a member?

A. Yes, unless the group leader has chosen to restrict the group email settings.

Q. What are the policies for emailing others from within The Hub?

A. Do not send emails that are not necessary or requested, e.g. jokes, stories, petitions, etc. Use the Online Community with care and courtesy for personal and friendly communication. Even if it’s interesting, funny or important, do not send unsolicited information. Do not add members to email lists outside the Online Community without prior consent.

 

Q. My wife and I have the same email address, can we share our account?

A. Individuals can share the same email address, but each individual should use his or her unique login credentials. This ensures that each person has access to the correct Groups, communications and calendars. The first user who signs up with the email address will be given that email address as their username. The second user who signs up with the same email address will be prompted to create a new username.

 

CALENDARS

Q. What types of calendars are in The Hub?

A. There are three types of calendars in The Hub:

 

1. Your personal calendar (“My calendar”) shows specific events or meeting you are scheduled to attend

2. The Church-wide calendar shows events happening in the life of the church

3. Public calendar shows events that are open to the general public

 

Q. Can I import my The Hub calendar into my personal calendar?

A. Absolutely! One of the benefits of the Hub is having the ability to import your church calendar into your personal calendar and have it update real time as church events or meetings change. For instructions on how to import your calendar go to the CCC website and click on the Hub link for “How To” videos. Look for the link entitled “How to: Subscribe to your calendar.” That document will walk you through those steps.

 

GROUPS

Q. Is every group in The Hub able to be viewed?

A. No, Groups that are designated as unlisted cannot be viewed by basic users in the system; however, you can view the unlisted group if you are a member of that group.

 

Q. If I am in a group that is listed, can people see if I am a member of that group?

A. No, the only names that are visible for group participants are the main leader and the assistant leader(s). Other than that, no one has the ability to see who is in that group.