Published using Google Docs
Covid 19 Response
Updated automatically every 5 minutes

CHIRENO ISD

Covid 19 Response

2021-2022

Chireno ISD will continue to monitor the impact of COVID-19 in our community and follow the guidance of local health authorities and the Texas Education Agency to mitigate spread and keep our students, staff and their families safe.  The following is a list of procedures that Chireno ISD will follow to start the 2021-2022 school year.  Understanding that conditions can shift rapidly, Chireno ISD will remain flexible to adjust to prevailing conditions and continue to enforce prevention measures and strategies to the extent possible and allowable under Texas law.

 

1.        MASKS—Masks will be optional for students, staff and visitors, and campuses will work to ensure no person is treated differently as a result of their choice to wear or not to wear a mask.

2.        SOCIAL DISTANCING—Campuses will do their best to accommodate parent requests to ensure their student remains socially distanced when possible, but social distancing is not feasible in all situations.

3.        HYGIENE— Staff and students will continue to be expected to wash their hands frequently throughout the day.  There will be hand sanitizing stations placed in strategic locations around campus.  Hand sanitizer will also be available in classrooms.  Please review with your child(ren) when and how to wash their hands.  Our staff will also review with your child(ren) when and how to wash their hands and remind them frequently of handwashing techniques.

4.        REPORTING POSITIVE/NEGATIVE CASES—Parents and employees will continue to be required to report confirmed positive cases as well as negative test results of COVID-19 to the campus nurse.  We are still required to report those cases to the Texas Department of State and Health Services.  This is to give us information to build on and improve from year to year.

5.        QUARANTINE—Staff and students with a confirmed case of COVID-19 must quarantine for 5 days from the date of the positive test with or without symptoms.  That means you will be required to stay home from the day you test positive, count 5 days, and then you can return on day 6.  Sometimes the return date from the doctor’s office is on day 5.  PLEASE NOTE THEY MUST BE HOME FOR 5 DAYS AND CAN RETURN ON DAY 6.  If a student is unvaccinated, is identified as close contact exposed, and lives in the home with a person who is positive for COVID-19 he/she must quarantine for 5 days and may return to campus on day 6 only if the following criteria are met:

If a student/staff member is fully vaccinated and lives in the home with a person who is positive for COVID-19 they will not be required to quarantine unless they are exhibiting symptoms.  In accordance with CDC guidelines if you have symptoms of COVID-19, you should get tested and stay home and away from others. If your test is positive, isolate at home for 5 days.

If a student/staff member has had a positive test result in the last 90 days they will not be required to quarantine.  Proof of positive test results will be required.

For staff only, if you meet the close contact threshold with a COVID-19 positive individual, if you continue to work on campus, rapid testing must be performed periodically until the end of day 5.  These tests are available in the nurse’s office.  Vaccination status will be taken into consideration.  

While students/staff are not required to quarantine unless a.) they have tested positive, b.) live in the home with a person who is positive for COVID-19, or c.) are displaying symptoms consistent with COVID-19, parents may choose to keep their child home as a result of a close contact exposure to a person with confirmed positive COVID-19.  Proof of positive test must be presented to the school nurse to determine when exposure occurred and when the return date will be.  Absences will be excused up to 10 calendar days from the date of the positive test.  NOTE: your child will be marked absent but with proof of the positive test result it will be an excused absence.

6.    CONTACT TRACING—Staff will not conduct close contact reviews, and pursuant to TEA requirements, students and staff will not be required to quarantine for exposure unless they are unvaccinated and live in the home with a person who is positive for COVID-19.

7.    NOTIFICATION—Parents/staff at the elementary level will be notified when there is a positive case in their student’s class/staff member’s class through the class contact the teacher has set up to notify you of happenings on campus/ in the classroom. Parents/staff at the secondary level will be notified when there is a positive case on campus via social media and school website. Staff at the central level will be notified when there is a positive case in their department.

8.    SICKNESS— If a student displays any symptoms of COVID-19, the school nurse will conduct a clinical evaluation to determine if the symptoms are consistent with COVID-19. Symptoms consistent with COVID-19 are defined as:

§  new onset of at least two of the following symptoms: chills, extreme fatigue with no known cause, muscle or body aches, headache, congestion or runny nose, cough, OR

§  new onset of at least one of the following symptoms: fever, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, new loss of taste or smell, sore throat, vomiting, or diarrhea

If a nurse determines that the student is displaying symptoms consistent with COVID-19, the student will be sent home. Students with symptoms consistent with COVID-19 must quarantine until the individual’s symptoms have improved or one of the following:

(i)   at least 5 days have passed since symptom onset; or

(ii)  the individual receives a negative test (proof required); or

(iii) a physician identifies the individual’s symptoms as something other than COVID-19 (doctor’s note is required confirming alternative diagnosis)

9.        VACCINATIONS—Government entities in Texas, including school districts, are prohibited from requiring individuals to receive the COVID-19 vaccine. Although the vaccine is strongly encouraged by health experts, it is optional for Chireno ISD students and staff in accordance with executive orders from Texas Governor Greg Abbott. At this time the district will not inquire regarding COVID-19 vaccination status and a conscientious exemption is not needed for the COVID-19 vaccine.  If you are interested in getting a COVID vaccine for your child(ren) age 12 and older please contact your doctor’s office or local health authority.

10.    RAPID TESTING--For the students who are symptomatic the nurse will perform assessment to determine if a test is warranted.  The parent will be contacted and permission will be required before testing.  

 

FAQs of COVID-19

What should I do if I suspect my child has COVID-19?

             Keep your student home from school until you can see a health care provider or take and receive results from a COVID-19 test.

Students and staff who have tested positive for COVID-19 will be required to quarantine until at least 5 days have passed since their symptom onset AND their symptoms have improved, or since their positive test if they have no symptoms.

 

What will the school do if a student/staff member is displaying symptoms of COVID-19?

              The Texas Department of State Health Services updated its rules for schools regarding communicable diseases to include COVID-19. As a result, schools are required to exclude students who have tested positive for COVID-19 or who are suspected of having COVID-19 and do not test for COVID-19. Additionally, schools must exclude students who are suspected of having COVID-19 until they meet the criteria for readmission.

What will be the procedure if someone in my child’s class is confirmed to have COVID-19?

             Parents/staff at the elementary level will be notified when there is a positive case in their child’s class/staff member’s class. Parents/staff at the secondary level will be notified when there is a positive case on the secondary campus. Staff at the central level will be notified when there is a positive case in their department. Staff will not conduct close contact reviews, and pursuant to TEA requirements, students and staff will not be required to quarantine for exposure.

While students are not required to quarantine unless they have tested positive or are displaying symptoms consistent with COVID-19, parents may choose to keep their child home as a result of a close contact exposure to a person with confirmed positive COVID-19.  Proof of positive test must be presented to the school nurse to determine when exposure occurred and when the return date will be.  Absences will be excused up to 10 calendar days from the date of the positive test.  NOTE: your child will be marked absent but with the proof of the positive test result it will be an excused absence.

How will students who have confirmed COVID-19 or displays symptoms of COVID-19 without testing access instruction during quarantine?

This will be determined on a case by case situation.  Please contact your child’s campus principal for this information.

What should I do if I am waiting on test results for my child?

If you have had your child tested for COVID-19 and are awaiting test results you must keep your child at home until those test results are available.

What should I do if I want my child tested for COVID-19?

If you suspect that your child is positive for COVID-19 and want them tested please contact your child’s physician to have them examined.  If your child is at school and the nurse warrants a need for a test based on assessment you may have your child tested on campus.  Contact the school nurse for more information.

Reviewed and Updated 01/10/2022 C. Butler, RN