the international federation of art & antique dealer associations

As the International Federation of Dealer Associations, CINOA, established in 1935, is the global leader in representing the international art and antiques trade, setting benchmark standards for the industry including the world-wide adoption of The CINOA Code of Ethics. Its 28 member associations represent 20 countries and 5000 of the world’s leading dealers, with an additional 2000 booksellers via the associate membership of the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB).

CINOA actively campaigns on major issues affecting the industry, while working hard on improving standards further in the interests of best practice, transparency and sharing of cultural heritage.

No other industry body within the international art and antiques market offers such an extensive reach or one-stop access to the world’s first rank of trade professionals.

CINOA does not accept individual dealers; dealers can only join through a member association. Membership of CINOA is based on associations which bind their dealer members to adhere to reputable standards of quality, expertise and integrity.

Dealers, covering a wide array of specialities from antiquities to contemporary art, are affiliated with CINOA through their art and antique dealer associations, often display the CINOA logo as support of the CINOA Charter and ethical guidelines. The CINOA logo is recognised as a symbol of quality, expertise and integrity in the art and antique world.

CINOA responds proactively to dealers’ concerns and offers international support to the CINOA dealer associations. Members benefit from shared knowledge and an international network of experts on art, antiques and related matters.  CINOA develops activities that are meant to complement those of its member dealer associations and strives to meet the expectation of its members through current and future initiatives by:



Clinton Howell (USA)


 Mathias Ary Jan (France), Bo Knutsson (Sweden)


Erik Edelstam (Sweden)

Council Members

Bruno Botticelli (Italy)

Mark Dodgson (UK)

Francis Maere  (Belgium)

Hans-Martin Schmitz (Germany)

Petra Young (Czech Republic)

Honorary Councillors 

Pieter Hoogendijk (Netherlands)

Jan De Maere (Belgium)

Honorary Auditors 

James McConnaughy (USA)

Walter Prause (Austria)

AC Advisory Committee

Robert Dance (USA)

Jacqueline Aden Hürst (Switzerland)

Robert Schoisengeier (ILAB representative)

Freya Simms (UK)

Michael Tollemache (UK)

Secretary General

Erika Bochereau

For information regarding our privacy policies, consult our General Privacy Policy for CINOA and the CINOA Privacy Policy for the Internet.