Constitution of the Bute Medical Society


  1. I. TITLE
  2. II. AIMS

  1. I. TITLE: the society shall be called the Bute Medical Society (BMS) and shall be affiliated to the University of St Andrews Students’ Association.

  1. II. AIMS: the aims of the society shall be as follows:

1. To introduce members of the society to the wider aspects of Medical Science through various events.

2. To organise activities that will promote fellowship and integration within the society.

3. To raise funds and awareness that might aid the 2 charities selected each year.

  1. III. AFFILIATIONS: the society shall be affiliated with the St Andrews University Students’ Association and so the committee shall follow the Standing Orders for all affiliated societies as laid down by the Societies Committee of the Students’ Association.

The society shall have the following affiliations outside the University of St Andrews Students’ Association:

All members shall have the option of not contributing to these outside affiliations.

  1. IV. MEMBERSHIP: the society shall consist of Ordinary Members and Associate Members, as well as Honorary Members and Honorary Officers.

  1. V. COMMITTEE: the affairs of the Society shall be conducted by a Committee of (maximum) 22 Voting Officers. There shall be the following Officers:

All Officers shall be elected at a General Meeting (Annual General Meeting or Extraordinary General Meeting), or co-opted by the Committee if no candidate is elected at a General Meeting or in the case of casual vacancy (death, disqualification, or resignation). No two executive positions may be held concurrently by the same individual.

Any member of the Committee, except the Secretary, may resign at any time by giving written notice or notice by electronic transmission thereof to the Secretary; the Secretary may resign at any time by giving written notice or notice by electronic transmission thereof to the President. Such resignation shall take effect at the time specified therefor or if the time is not specified, upon delivery thereof; and, unless otherwise specified with respect thereto, the acceptance of such resignation shall not be necessary to make it effective.

In the event of the death of the President the Vice President shall become President.

The Committee may co-opt additional members to the Committee, if doing so is expedient to the good governance and organisation of the Society. Only those Officers elected at a General Meeting shall be Voting Officers.

  1. VII. GENERAL MEETINGS and ELECTION: An AGM should be called before the end of the Candlemas Semester, in accordance with the most up-to-date rules and guidelines1 established by the SSC Societies Committee.

1 (

Committee Officers (with the exclusion of 1st Year Representatives and the ScotGEM Representative) will be elected by a ‘first past the post’ method of voting for all positions on committee.

Rules for Ordinary Members considering a position on committee include:

  1. VIII. COMMITTEE MEETINGS: shall be called by the President on their own volition, or upon presentation of a written request by two fifths of the Voting Committee Officers. At least 24 hours’ notice of a Committee meeting shall be provided to all Voting Committee Officers. The quorum for a committee meeting should be at least two thirds of all Voting Committee Officers, provided that one is the President or another Executive Officer.

The Society may adopt standing orders with regard to the day-to-day running of the Society in accordance with the provisions of this constitution. Such standing orders shall be adopted and rescinded by a two-thirds majority of the voting members of the Committee or a majority of those present and voting at a general meeting of the Society.

  1. IX. FINANCE: The finances of the society shall be dealt with along the lines laid down by the Societies Committee: o Any debt incurred by the Society shall be satisfied by an equal subscription from all members.
  2. o The annual subscription for Ordinary Membership should be approved at a General Meeting.
  3. o Two signatories of the Students’ Association shall appear on the bank mandate.