Published using Google Docs
Updated automatically every 5 minutes

Whitchurch-on-Thames Cricket Club

We field a friendly team on most Sundays throughout the summer. We prefer 35-over matches, but the occasional declaration game works too. Lately, we've begun to play a few 20:20 matches on Friday evenings.

We have a diverse squad of players ranging in age from 14 to 50-something, drawn from the local area and beyond. If you fancy a game, just drop in at the club at the weekend, or email us at

Directions to the Ground

Eastfield Lane, Whitchurch on Thames, Oxfordshire, RG8 7EJ.

Find your way to Whitchurch on Thames. It's in South Oxfordshire, right over the river from Pangbourne, about 8 miles West of Reading and about 5 miles North from junction 12 of the M4.

If you're coming by car from the Pangbourne (South) side of the Thames, you'll have to pay a 60p (October 2017) toll each way to cross Whitchurch Bridge. Pedestrians, bicycles and motorbikes cross for free.

Pangbourne station is served by First Great Western trains between Reading and Oxford. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the station to the ground.

From Whitchurch High Street, find The Greyhound pub, which is on the corner of Eastfield Lane and the High Street and turn into Eastfield Lane.

About 400m down Eastfield Lane on the left, just after the last house on the left, you'll see a metal gate, which is the access into the ground. There is a small car park on-site and sufficient additional parking in the Eastfield Lane.

Contact us

For fixture enquiries please contact the Fixtures Secretary, Chris Grogan (details below).

Officers of the Club

All of the email addresses below are of the form <role> They’re not spelled out explicitly to make the job of email spam robots that little bit harder.


Position Vacant



Mike Butt


Fixtures Secretary

Chris Grogan


Hon. Secretary / Treasurer

Andy Heard


General Committee Members

Cormac Neeson

Rob Palmer


The club was founded in 1877 and we have occupied our beautiful ground on Eastfield Lane since 1923, following acquisition of the land by the Whitelock family in 1921.

To read our former President Miles Whitelock's history of the Club please click here. The history appears by kind permission of Mr Whitelock.


The club is proud to recognise our distinguished Life Vice-Presidents. Many of these we've lost touch with over the years - we'd love to hear from you!

T. Brickhill Esq.

B. Wheeler Esq.

R.F.J. Young Esq.

R. Baker Esq.

P.H. Bartrum Esq.

W. Butler Esq.

N. Cabeldu Esq.

A.F.R. Clark Esq.

Mrs J. Clark

F.Head Esq.

M. Houldey Esq.

B. Kingston

R. Lafford Esq.

Brigadier P. Lewis

M. Parkinson Esq.

C. Povey Esq.

M. Scanlon Esq.

P. Wakely Esq.

J. West Esq.