Cloverdale High School
Chris Meredith, Principal
Steve Stewart, Vice Principal
Kellianne Abshier, Academic Counselor
Patti Erwin, Administrative Assistant
509 North Cloverdale Boulevard
Cloverdale, CA 95425
Cloverdale High School
Cloverdale High School cultivates a safe learning community that fosters personal, social, and academic growth. We provide a diverse educational program that prepares students for postsecondary education, the 21st Century global workforce, and responsible citizenship.
English 1,2,3,4 4 years 40 credits
Mathematics 2 years 20 credits
Social Studies 3 years 30 credits
Science 3 years 30 credits
PE 2 years 20 credits
Foreign Lang/Fine Arts 1 years 10 credits
Technology related course ½ year 5 credits
Required Core Courses 155 credits
General Electives 75 credits
Total Course Requirements 230 credits
Portfolio 2 credits/year 8 credits
TOTAL CREDITS 238 credits
· California State Board of Education requires all students to pass a full course of Algebra to earn a high school diploma.
· Students must complete 15 hours of Community Service Hours per year (60 hours in four years) to earn a diploma.
· Community Service Hours may be completed during the summer.
· Option for seniors: Seniors may complete 15 hours of job shadowing in a career field of their choice as part of their 15 hours.
· Failed courses must be made up in summer school (if available) and Cyber High
MAKE UP of LOST CREDIT(S):
Lost credit due to unexcused absences and/or failed classes must be made up by enrolling in Cyber High or Summer School (if available). Credits can only be made up during regular school with special permission.
STUDENT SERVICES & SCHOOL PROCEDURES
The Governing Board believes that academic honesty and personal integrity are fundamental components of a student’s education and character development. The Board expects that students will not cheat, lie, plagiarize or commit other acts of academic dishonesty. In addition, students found to have committed an act of academic dishonesty shall be subject to district and school-site discipline rules.
· Progress Report/Report cards are mailed home at the end of each grading period (six weeks).
· Access to teacher gradebooks is available on Aeries, please ask for your code in the office
· Weekly progress reports are available to students and parents in the Main Office.
· Credits are earned at the end of each semester.
BICYCLES, SKATEBOARDS, ROLLERBLADES:
· Bicycles and skateboards are to be locked in the designated racks on campus.
· Skateboards and rollerblades are not to be ridden on campus at any time.
· Students will not be allowed to carry their skateboards or roller blades from class to class.
· Skateboards must be locked up in the skateboard holder by the bike rack.
CARS ON CAMPUS AND PARKING:
· Students may not loiter or sit in car during school hours.
· Students may park cars only in the lots designated for student use.
· The speed limit on campus is 5 mph.
· Students are required to obey all California traffic laws. Failure to do so will result in a referral to the police and denial/termination of parking privileges on campus, or other disciplinary consequences.
· Student vehicles shall not be operated on campus at any other time other than before school, lunch, after school, or with permission from the attendance office.
· Violators of parking restrictions or school driving regulations may result in denial of parking privileges, towing away of the vehicle, detention, administrative restriction, or suspension from school. Students are not to use their cars as book lockers during the school day.
· All student drivers must have a valid driver’s license and proof of insurance at all times.
· Vehicles parked on campus are subject to search by school authorities.
A student’s attire should respect the learning environment by not creating distractions or disruptions. At all times, a student’s dress should be appropriate for a business or professional environment. The following guidelines apply:
· No lettering or designs referring to drugs, gangs, alcohol, sexual behavior, that contains profanity, or that is demeaning to any race or to either sex.
· No visible undergarments, halter-tops, half shirts, low-cut tops and shorts should be fingertip length.
· No cut-away T-shirts/tank tops.
· Appropriate footwear must be worn at all times.
Please note: Physical education, science, and shop teachers may impose more stringent requirements than above as needed. If your clothing is not appropriate, you may be asked:
1) To change clothing, parent called
2) Change clothing with one-day detention, parent called
3) Students will be put on school probation if dress code violations continue.
GANG AFFILIATION and/or ACTIVITY:
It is important to maintain a campus that is safe for students and staff in accordance with the mandate of the Constitution of the State of California. In meeting this commitment, the governing board finds that gangs, or any groups, which initiate or advocate activities which threaten the safety and well being of persons or property on school campuses are dangerous and harmful to the purposes for which the school operates. Any article of clothing, paraphernalia, accessories, insignia, styles, or graffiti, which in the judgment of school officials is gang related is prohibited. (In making these judgments, school officials shall take into consideration information obtained by appropriate community agencies and resources.) No apparel will be allowed (or other items), with insignias that indicate gang affiliation (e.g. hair nets, bandanas, blue or red belts, hats, or shoe laces). Sagging pants (two or more sizes too large) will not be allowed. Any other clothing, which, in the opinion of the administration or the police department represents gang-related paraphernalia, will be strictly forbidden. If clothing is not appropriate, you may be asked to: 1) change clothing with parent contact; 2) change clothing with one-day detention. Students will be put on an anti-gang contract, if dress code violations continue.
HALL AND P.E. LOCKERS
· Your locker assignment is on your class schedule.
· Students use lockers at their own risk and each student is responsible for lost school or personal items. The school is not responsible for the loss of materials in your locker.
· Lockers are subject to search by school authorities.
· Students are not to deface or damage any locker; such vandalism is subject to school disciplinary action, police action, and remuneration for damage.
Basic first aid is available in the school office.
Medication (either prescription or over-the-counter) must be kept in the school office at all times and can be taken during school hours if a student:
· Brings a permission slip to the office.
· Brings medication to the office in its original container.
· Allows the office personnel to monitor and store the medication.
The school carries no insurance on students. This requires that all students have adequate insurance coverage in the home. Insurance waivers or student purchased insurance is required for participation in any student athletic program. There are student/accident health insurance plans available. Application forms are available in the office and were sent home at the beginning of the school year.
Cloverdale High School is a closed campus for except for seniors and juniors in excellent academic and behavior standing. See off campus permission slip for details.
· Parents must sign permission slip for students under 18 years of age.
· On occasion parents/guardians and/or immediate relative may pick up their student at lunch if they sign out in the office before leaving campus. Upon return the student must sign back in.
· CHS offers snacks/lunches that are prepared on campus.
· Free or reduced lunch forms are available in the cafeteria. Students and parents must complete the forms and return them ASAP. Free and reduced lunches cannot be sold, exchanged, or given away.
· Students accounts may be set up online and funds added by parents at Food Service Payments – EZSchoolPay.com or add money to their student’s account at the cafeteria.
· Students may not “charge” snacks/lunch.
· Students may not “order” lunch from outside services and have it delivered to the campus.
· Parents may deliver lunch to the office while students are in school.
· Food consumption may be restricted to the cafeteria and the south side of School Street if litter becomes an issue.
PUBLIC DISPLAY OF AFFECTION (PDA):
Students are responsible for all textbooks, Chromebooks, laptops, computer equipment, uniforms, library books and other materials, that is property of Cloverdale Unified School District including those that have been damaged or stolen as a result of being kept at home, in student lockers, backpacks or automobiles. State law allows schools to withhold grades, transcripts, records, and diplomas if schoolbooks, library materials or other school items are not returned or paid for when the student leaves school. Cloverdale High will withhold records if debts are not paid.
The School cannot be responsible for items that are lost or stolen. Large amounts of cash and other items of significant value should be left at home. If a student wishes to bring a headset, cell phones, iPads, or other personal items to school, they do so at their own risk. Students should not leave book bags/backpacks unattended.
· Passes are only issued to students who are in grades 9-12.
· Visitor passes must be approved by the administration at least two days prior to the visitation.
· Permission forms for “Dance Guest” visitors may be picked up in the office.
· Visitors must sign in at the CHS office and receive a guest pass and sign out when leaving.
WITHDRAWAL OR TRANSFER:
When a student must withdraw or transfer from school, parents/guardian must notify the Attendance Office in writing and at least three (3) days prior to leaving. All materials/books must be paid for or returned, before the process can be completed. A completed “Clearance Form” is required to withdraw or transfer from Cloverdale High School and must include the parent/guardian signature if the school does not have previous notification made in writing.
ELIGIBILITY TO PARTICIPATE IN EXTRACURRICULAR AND SPORTS ACTIVITIES:
In order to participate in extracurricular activities such as interscholastic athletics, school plays, cheerleading, student government, etc., students must meet certain minimum academic requirements. The eligibility requirements, as adopted by the Cloverdale Unified Board of Education, are:
· All students must create an account at familyid.com and complete the registration packet for CHS athletics. Students must also upload a current physical.
· The student shall maintain at least a 2.0 grade point average in all enrolled classes, during and prior to the activity. Grades are checked each grading period for eligibility.
· Students must attend school the day of the game (at least 4 periods) in order to be eligible to participate. (Students must attend school four or more periods on a Friday, in order to be eligible for a Saturday event. Administration may waive this requirement due to extenuating circumstances.)
· The student shall progress appropriately towards meeting high school graduation requirements.
· All entering freshmen must have a 2.0 in their last grade reporting period (eighth grade), to be eligible to participate.
· Students may enroll in summer school to gain eligibility status for the following fall season.
· Students who “cut” or are truant any time period or day between games, will lose the privilege of participating following next game.
· See “CHS Athletic packet” for more information.
A doctor’s note is required for every absence for any illness after seven (7) in a semester. (AR 5113(a)) Any illness absence after seven without a note, may cause loss of credit.
There is a direct correlation between a student's attendance pattern and success in school. A student that has a 90% or better attendance rate usually does very well in school.
California Education Code (48205 (a)) states that only the following absences are excused:
· Illness (Doctor’s note required for all absences due to illness after the seventh absence. The note shall be on letterhead paper and contain clinic, name of physician, the time and date of the appointment)
· Routine Medical/dental appointments: verification of appointment (from doctor’s office) is required upon return to school. Appointments, in town, may only be excused up to a maximum of three hours. Any time over three hours will be marked as unexcused.
· Other justifiable absence: court, funeral service, religious service or employment conference.
· College visit/testing (documentation required for verification, seniors only). Parents must request excusal in writing, and have college related absences approved by administrator at least one day in advance.
· Students with CA Ed Code excused absences shall be allowed to complete all assignments and tests missed during the absence within a reasonable amount of time. Tests and assignments shall be reasonably equivalent to, but not necessarily identical to the tests and assignments that the pupil missed during the absence. (Ed. Code 48205 (b))
Cloverdale High School students may lose credits if they are absent due to the following reasons (unexcused absences):
· School Cuts
· Unverified absences (not cleared by in a timely manner will automatically be changed to an unexcused absence and may affect credits earned)
· Family vacations and absences due to personal reasons cannot be considered excused absences.
Unexcused absences will count toward credit loss. Teachers are not required to give students the opportunity to make-up tests or other schoolwork missed during unexcused absences. (AR 5113(a))
Unexcused absences and Loss of Credit
Number of Unexcused Absences
4 - 8
9 - 12
13 - 15
16 or more
Credit Appeals: Parents and students can appeal the loss of credit(s) in a class by completing the Credit Appeals Form in the office. The form must be completed within 10 days of receipt of the report card, at the end of the semester.
TO CLEAR A STUDENT ABSENCE:
(It is the parent/guardian’s responsibility to contact the school the morning of any absence of their student)
A student who has an uncleared absence from a class must obtain a readmit from the Attendance Office before they will be readmitted to that class.
Students should plan to arrive at school early on the day following an absence. This allows the time needed to obtain a readmit before morning classes begin.
Students may be assigned detention, Saturday School, suspension, and other school discipline, including School Probation. While on School Probation, a student’s extracurricular activities (such as athletics, drama, music, cheerleading, etc.) may be suspended. Additional unverified absences or cuts will result in loss of credit for each class cut.
TO LEAVE CAMPUS:
Due to liability reasons, if a student must leave campus at any time other than lunch, he/she must obtain an Off-Campus Pass from the Attendance Office.
SHORT TERM INDEPENDENT STUDY:
Short Term Independent Study is an optional educational alternative made available for “family emergencies” that require students to be absent from school between 5-15 days. An Independent Study Agreement must be completed by the student, parent/guardian and then be approved by the principal and teacher(s) to provide a minimum of 10 days notice for teachers to prepare materials/work assignments. As per the agreement, students may lose credit if all assigned work is not completed and submitted to the office by 8:00am the day the student returns to school. Otherwise, the absence will be considered unexcused.
Tardy: a student is considered tardy when he/she is not in the classroom prepared to work when the tardy bell rings.
· A full period absence will be recorded for a student who is 30 minutes (or more) late to class.
· Excused Tardy: Same justification reasons for excused absences as stated in the California Education Code (48205 (a).
· Unexcused Tardy: Arriving to school late due to oversleeping or not leaving home early enough to get to school on time; spending excess time “hanging out” with friends between classes; not prepared for class and must retrieve materials from locker; or student did not get readmit to enter class after being absent.
· The tardy policy is as follows
Number of Tardies
Teacher notifies student and gives warning
Trash pick-up per tardy + parent notification
Teacher completes referral. VP meets with student and assigns detention.
Trash pickup + after school detention per tardy + parent conference. Possible ISS.
Note: Parents notified via Blackboard
· Three unexcused tardies in a semester, in any one class, will result in the loss of one-third of the letter grade for each semester; each subsequent unexcused tardy results in an additional reduction of one-third of a student’s letter grade.
· Grade Tardies Adjusted Grade
· Jane Doe A 3 A-
· John Smith B+ 11 D-
· A student with excessive tardies in a class, depending on his/her grade and number of tardies, can have his/her grade lowered to a D-. A student will not earn a failing letter grade due to excessive tardies.
CLOVERDALE HIGH SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS
The following rules and regulations have been established to help students maintain high standards of learning and to sustain the most positive environment for learning. Students are expected to:
1. Obey all local, state and federal laws.
2. Respect the professional authority of all staff members and other students’ rights to learn and be safe.
3. Come to school dressed appropriately for an academic atmosphere. (Clothing should not present a distraction that would interfere with the educational process.)
4. Comply with classroom policies and rules.
5. Attend every class, every day, on time, with necessary school supplies.
6. Refrain from any form of cheating including plagiarizing, forging or lying.
7. Remain on campus during school hours. (Seniors/Juniors with off-campus privileges may leave at lunch.)
8. Keep school grounds free of trash and graffiti and respect school property.
9. Parking permits are required to park on campus in the student parking lot.
10. Keep skating equipment locked up during school hours and DO NOT SKATE ON CAMPUS.
CLOVERDALE HIGH SCHOOL IS A TOBACCO/ DRUG–FREE ZONE
Special State and Federal laws allow enhanced penalties for illegal possession, use, or sale of controlled substances at Cloverdale High School or within 1000 feet of the campus.
It is the duty of all staff members at Cloverdale High School to enforce the rules. Teachers may handle infractions or refer students to the appropriate Administrator.
The following consequences may occur depending on the nature and severity of the infraction:
· Verbal warning
· After school detention
· Conference with student, parent, teacher
· Suspension from class
· Assignment of school service
· Payment for restitution
· Placement on behavior contract/school probation
· Suspension from school for one to five days
Grounds for Suspension and/or Expulsion
A student may be suspended from school (and/or recommended for expulsion) if the School District Superintendent or Principal of the school has determined that the student has:
· Caused, attempted to cause, or threatened to cause physical injury to another person;
· Possessed, sold, or otherwise furnished any firearm or dangerous weapon;
· Unlawfully possessed, used, or otherwise furnished or been under the influence of a controlled substance;
· Unlawfully offered, arranged, and negotiated the sale of any controlled substance;
· Committed or attempted to commit robbery or extortion;
· Caused or attempted to cause damage to school property or private property;
· Stolen or attempted to steal school property or private property;
· Possessed or used tobacco;
· Committed an obscene act or engaged in habitual profanity or vulgarity;
· Unlawfully possessed or unlawfully offered, arranged, or negotiated to sell any drug paraphernalia;
· Willfully defied the valid authority of supervisors, teachers, or administrators, school officials, or other school personnel engaged in the performance of their duties;
· Knowingly received stolen school property or private property;
· Possessed an imitation firearm;
· Committed or attempted to commit a sexual assault;
· Harassed, threatened, or intimidated a pupil who is a complaining witness or witness in a school disciplinary hearing for the purpose of preventing that pupil from being a witness or retaliating against that pupil for being a witness, or both;
· Committed sexual harassment;
· Caused, attempted to cause, threatened to cause, or participated in an act of hate violence;
· Intentionally engaged in harassment, hazing, threats, or intimidation, directed against a pupil or groups of pupils;
· Made terrorist threats against school officials or school property.
· A pupil who aids or abets in the infliction or attempted infliction of physical injury to another person.
SUSPENSION AND EXPULSION:
According to Cloverdale Unified School District Board and California State Education and Penal Codes, a student will be suspended and face the CUSD Board for expulsion if:
· Student is in possession of knives, explosives, guns, or other dangerous objects of no reasonable use to the student.
· Student sells or provides alcohol or other drugs at school.
· Student is under the influence or in possession of a controlled substance for a second time.
Student will be suspended and may face the CUSD Board for expulsion if:
· Student causes serious physical injury to another person, except in self-defense.
· Student is in possession of any controlled substance.
· Student is under the influence of a controlled substance.
· Student commits robbery or extortion.
· Student commits an assault or battery.
Education Code 32051. HAZING; PROHIBITION; VIOLATION; MISDEMEANOR
No student, or other person in attendance at any public, private, parochial, or military school, community college, college, or other educational institution, shall conspire to engage in hazing, participate in hazing, or commit any act that causes or is likely to cause bodily danger, physical harm, or personal degradation or disgrace resulting in physical or mental harm to any fellow student or person attending the institution.
The violation of this section is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100), nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, or both.
Cloverdale Unified School District policies prohibit discrimination and/or harassment of students, employees, and job applicants on the basis of race, color, national origin, ancestry, ethnicity, medical condition, disability, gender, sex, age or affiliation. Please direct inquire regarding the District’s non-discrimination policies to any school or district administrator.
Cloverdale High School is committed to providing a safe and supportive environment for all of its students and school personnel.