Gluten-Free Cheatsheet - Emmanuel Contreras

Grains

  • Barley
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • KAMUT® khorasan wheat
  • Kamut Matzo
  • Malt
  • Mir
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat
  • Wheat Starch
  • Wheat germ
  • durum
  • einkorn wheat
  • emmer
  • farina
  • farro
  • graham
  • malt extract
  • malt flavoring
  • malt syrup
  • malt vinegar
  • malted barley flour
  • malted milk
  • milkshakes
  • semolina
  • spelt
  • wheatberries

Common Foods

  • French fries (often dusted with flour before freezing)
  • beer
  • breaded foods
  • canned baked beans
  • cereals
  • cold cuts
  • commercial bullion and broths
  • commercially prepared chocolate milk
  • egg substitute
  • energy bars
  • flavored coffees
  • teas
  • blue cheeses
  • fried vegetables / tempura
  • fruit fillings and puddings
  • gravy
  • hot dogs
  • ice cream
  • imitation crab meat, bacon, etc
  • instant hot drinks
  • ketchup
  • malt vinegar
  • malt/malt flavoring
  • marinades
  • mayonnaise
  • Meatballs
  • Meatloaf
  • communion wafers
  • non-dairy creamer
  • oat bran(unless GF)
  • oats (unless GF)
  • processed cheese (e.g., Velveeta)
  • roasted nuts
  • root beer
  • salad dressings
  • sausage
  • seitan
  • soups
  • soy sauce and teriyaki sauces
  • syrups
  • tabbouleh
  • trail mix
  • veggie burgers
  • vodka
  • wheatgrass
  • wine coolers

Foods Without Gluten

  • beans
  • chicken
  • corn
  • dairy products
  • eggs
  • fish
  • fruits
  • vegetables
  • lean beef
  • legumes
  • nuts
  • oils and vinegars
  • potatoes
  • rice
  • seafood
  • seeds

Foods Without Gluten

  • amaranth
  • arrowroot
  • buckwheat
  • cassava
  • Millet
  • quinoa
  • rice
  • Sorghum
  • soy
  • tapioca

Common Foods That Contain Gluten

  • Pastas: raviolis, dumplings, couscous, and gnocchi
  • Noodles: ramen, udon, soba (those made with only a percentage of buckwheat flour) chow mein, and egg noodles. (Note: rice noodles and mung bean noodles are gluten free)
  • Breads and Pastries: croissants, pita, naan, bagels, flatbreads, cornbread, potato bread, muffins, donuts, rolls
  • Crackers: pretzels, goldfish, graham crackers
  • Baked Goods: cakes, cookies, pie crusts, brownies
  • Cereal & Granola: corn flakes and rice puffs often contain malt extract/flavoring, granola often made with regular oats, not gluten-free oats
  • Breakfast Foods: pancakes, waffles, french toast, crepes, and biscuits.
  • Breading & Coating Mixes: panko breadcrumbs
  • Croutons: stuffings, dressings
  • Sauces & Gravies (many use wheat flour as a thickener) traditional soy sauce, cream sauces made with a roux
  • Flour tortillas
  • Beer (unless explicitly gluten-free) and any malt beverages (see “Distilled Beverages and Vinegars” below for more information on alcoholic beverages)
  • Brewer’s Yeast

Foods That May Contain Gluten

  • Energy bars/granola bars – some bars may contain wheat as an ingredient, and most use oats that are not gluten-free
  • French fries – be careful of batter containing wheat flour or cross-contact from fryers
  • Potato chips – some potato chip seasonings may contain malt vinegar or wheat starch
  • Processed lunch meats
  • Candy and candy bars
  • Soup – pay special attention to cream-based soups, which have flour as a thickener. Many soups also contain barley
  • Multi-grain or “artisan” tortilla chips or tortillas that are not entirely corn-based may contain a wheat-based ingredient
  • Salad dressings and marinades – may contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour
  • Starch or dextrin if found on a meat or poultry product could be from any grain, including wheat
  • Brown rice syrup – may be made with barley enzymes
    Meat substitutes made with seitan (wheat gluten) such as vegetarian burgers, vegetarian sausage, imitation bacon, imitation seafood (Note: tofu is gluten-free, but be cautious of soy sauce marinades and cross-contact when eating out, especially when the tofu is fried)
    Soy sauce (though tamari made without wheat is gluten-free)
    Self-basting poultry
  • Pre-seasoned meats
  • Cheesecake filling – some recipes include wheat flour
  • Eggs served at restaurants – some restaurants put pancake batter in their scrambled eggs and omelets, but on their own, eggs are naturally gluten-free

Sources: