The Rt Hon Theresa May MP

Prime Minister

10 Downing St



CC. The Rt Hon James Brokenshire - Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government

CC. The Rt Hon Greg Clark - Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

CC. The Rt Hon Michael Gove - Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

CC. The Rt Hon Philip Hammond - Chancellor of the Exchequer

CC. The RT Hon Matt Hancock - Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

CC. The Rt Hon Claire Perry - Minister of State for Energy and Clean Growth

Dear Prime Minister and Cabinet Members

We call for an immediate halt to all unconventional oil and gas exploration and production in the UK. This shall include all activities related to high pressure hydraulic fracturing (known as ‘fracking’), coal bed methane (CBM) and acidisation.

Developing an unconventional oil and gas industry in the UK will result in unacceptable negative impacts on the environment, local communities, public health and the economy.

The greenhouse gas emissions resulting from this new fossil fuel industry will also increase climate change at a time when the UK needs to be investing heavily in clean renewable energy and moving rapidly towards a low-carbon economy.

Yours sincerely

Tom Brake MP

Norman Lamb MP

Tim Farron MP

Wera Hobhouse MP

Rachael Maskell MP

Matt Western MP

Justin Madders MP

Mike Amesbury MP

Matthew Pennycook MP

Caroline Lucas MP

Rosie Cooper MP

Martyn Day MP

John McNally MP

John Grogan MP

Clive Lewis MP

Alex NorrisMP

Angela Rayner MP

Jonathan Bartley co-leader Green Party

Keith Taylor MEP

David Drew MP

Yvonne Fovargue MP

Daniel Zeichner MP

Gill Preet MP

Roger Godsiff MP

Darren Jones MP

Ruth George MP

Cat Smith MP

Kerry McCarthy MP

Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Louise Haigh MP

Sandy Martin MP

Barry Gardiner MP

Alex Sobel MP

Emily Thornberry MP

Margaret beckett MP

Gloria De Piero MP

Baroness Jenny Jones

Baroness Lynne Featherstone

Sian Berry co-leader Green Party


Dr Ian Bailey Department of Physics, Lancaster University

Emeritus Professor Keith Barnham Distinguished Research Fellow, Physics Department, Imperial College London, London.

Professor Simon Batterbury Lancaster University

Emeritus Professor Nick Bosanquet Health Policy Imperial College

Professor Nick Cowern Director, NC Tech Insight Ltd. and Emeritus Professor, Newcastle University

Dr Paul Dorfman Honorary Senior Research Fellow, The Energy Institute University College London

Professor Robert W. Howarth, Ph.D. The David R. Atkinson Professor of Ecology & Environmental Biology; Faculty Fellow, the Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future; and Vice Chair for Operations, University Assembly; Cornell University, Ithaca, NY USA

Professor David McCoy B.Med, Dip Anaesth, Dip. Obs, M.Phil, DrPH, FFPHM Professor of Global Public Health, Centre for Primary Care and Public Health Barts and London Medical and Dental School Queen Mary University London

Professor John Middleton FFPH, FRCP Hon Professor of Public Health University of Wolverhampton, President UK Faculty of Public Health

Emeritus Professor David Morrison Leeds University

Dr Christine Parkinson Retired Biologist and Author

Member of Scientists for Global Responsibility

Dr Stuart Parkinson BEng PhD Executive Director Scientists for Global Responsibility

Dr Simon Pickering Principal Ecologist, Ecotricity

Professor Andrew Price Warwick University and International Environmental Consultant

Dr Dorian Speakman Marginal Lands Project

Professor Peter Strachan Professor of Energy Policy, Robert Gordon University Aberdeen Business School: Aberdeen

Dr Philip Weber Low-Emissions Solutions


Frack Free United

Friends of the Earth

The Campaign to Protect Rural England

Campaign against Climate Change



Food and water Watch Europe

People & Planet

Concerned Health professional UK

Food and Water Watch

Talk Fracking

Campaign for National Parks

Scientists for Global Responsibility

Oil Change International

UK Youth Climate Coalition


Environmental Justice Foundation

New Economy Law

Transition Edinburgh

Health Professionals Against Fracking

UK Community Groups

Frack Free Ryedale

Frack Free Lancashire

Frack Free East Yorkshire

Frack Free Sherwood

Frack Free Scarborough

Defend Lytham

Frack Free Sussex

Frack Free Surrey

Frack Off London

Weald Action Group

Coal Aston and Dronfield Against Fracking

Frack Free Somerset

Preston New Road Action Group

Frack Free Notts

Brockham Oil Watch

Frack Free Yeovil

Markwells Wood Watch

Weald Action Group

Broadford Bridge Action Group

Eckington against Fracking

The Moss Alliance

Frack Free Southport

Frack Free Burscough

Halsall Against Fracking

Frack Free Tinker Lane

Woodsetts against Fracking

Our Forth Against Unconventional Gas

Roseacre Awareness Group

Frack Free Upton

Frack Free Harrogate

Frack Free Totnes

Frack Off West Lothian

Concerned Communities of Falkirk

East kent Against Fracking

Keep East Lancashire Frack Free


Frack Free Exmoor Quantocks Sedgemoor

Frack Free Bridlington

Frack Free Isle of Wight

Frack Free Wigan, Leigh and Makerfield


No Fracking in Balcombe Society

Frack Free York and Villages

Frack Free Yeovil

Scottish Community Councils Signatories:

Avonbridge & Standburn Community Council, Falkirk - Convener Gordon Addison

Bishopbriggs Community Council, East Dunbartonshire - Convener Dominic Notarangelo

Blackness Community Council, Falkirk  - Convener Martin Watt

Bonnybridge Community Council, Falkirk - Convener John McGregor

Brightons Community Council, Falkirk - Convener Moira Heeps

Charlestown, Limekilns and Pattiesmuir Community Council, Fife - Convener Martin Mulube

Kirkintilloch Community Council, East Dunbartonshire - Convener Gordon Carmichael

Polmont Community Council, Falkirk - Convener Rosemary Taylor

Reddingmuirhead & Wallacestone Community Council, Falkirk - Convener Danny Callaghan

Shieldhill & California Community Council, Falkirk -   Convener Jit Singh  

Southside Community Council,  Edinburgh - Convener Tim Pogson

Torrance Community Council, East Dunbartonshire - Secretary Marion Main

Waterside Community Council, East Ayrshire - Convener Janice Herriot


Coalition to Protect New York

Berks Gas Truth


Responsible Drilling Alliance, Pennsylvania  USA

Berliner Wassertisch (Berlin Water Table)

People for a Healthy Environment of New York State, USA

Collectif Causse Méjean – Gaz de Schiste NON /

Collectif Florac Stop Gaz de Schiste  (Lozère-France)

Collectif Arcois pour la Planète

Better Path Coalition PA

Earth Ethics Inc.

Bürgerinitiative gegen CO2-Endlager e.V.

Alianza Mexican Cpntra El Fracking

Keep Ireland Fracking Free


Corporate Europe Observatory

l'Espace de Solidarité et de Coopération de l'Oriental

People's Climate Durban

350 NYC

Earthlife Africa - Durban

George Monbiot

Chris Packham

Vivienne Westwood

Julia Bradbury

Joe Corre

Harry Barnes (Retired MP)

Natalie Bennett (ex Green Party Leader)

James Eaden President of Chesterfield and District Trades Union Council

Richard Howarth Hull & East Riding Green Party

7,922 Signatures collected by affected communities by door to door, agricultural shows, meetings, fracking sites etc. to be included in the hard copy to be delivered.