Published using Google Docs
Environmental Award Nominees 2019
Updated automatically every 5 minutes

Student - Lynn Lorio (nominee Dorothy Jolly)

Lynn Lorio,, 760-576-8956

After a successful career in athletic event management, she decided to go back to school for horticulture a few years ago at Cincinnati State. She’s been collecting degrees and certificates in landscape horticulture, sustainable horticulture, and urban agriculture. She has interned and now works at the Zoo and Botanical Gardens, installing green roofs with Green City Resources, and also works part-time assisting a local landscape designer. At Cincinnati State, she constantly encourages and mentors younger students, promoting a lot of residual environmentally-friendly practices and careers in the area. She has also served as president of the horticulture club in the past and is representing our area in 5 competitions this year, trying for the coveted Superstar prize of the National Collegiate Landscape Competition our here in Colorado. She’s active in many national professional organization including the Perennial Plant Association and the National Association of Landscape Professionals. On top of this, she has started a company called Crazy Plant Lady to teach corporate and private groups about sustainable and creative indoor plant practices through fun plant crafting events. Placing 5th student overall in the country at the National Collegiate Landscape Competition

Business - Contemporary Arts Center, (nominee Chuck Lohre)

Raphaela Platow, Alice and Harris Weston Director,, 513-345-8412

Accepting for Raphaela Aly Laughlin, 

Lois & Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art - For being one of the first organizations to join the 2030 Group to reduce carbon emissions in Cincinnati. And their commitment to improving the Zaha Hadid Building by implementing the USGBC ARC environmental impact measurement program

Government - Hamilton County Soil and Water Conservation District, (nominee Chuck Lohre)

John Nelson,, 513-772-7645

Volunteer - Heather Sturgill, (nominee Chuck Lohre)

Heather Sturgill,, 513-885-8666

Heather has been very involved with the planning and organization for the Apple Street Market in Northside as the Community-Owner Board Representative. Heather is also active volunteering with Housing Opportunities Made Equal and University of Cincinnati-University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disability as Board Member. And volunteering with the American Planning Association as a delegate drafting a Sustainability Policy Guide, and Aging in Community and Hazard Mitigation Policy Guide.

Teacher - Colleen McSwiggin, Sustainability Committee Co-chair, Mount St. Joseph University (nominee Chuck Lohre)

Colleen McSwiggin,, 513-484-0112

For producing a sustainable job fair at Mount. St. Joseph.

Alos, one of her other accomplishments from the Sustainability Committee at Mount St. Joe is the electronics recycling days they hold once or twice a year.  Since 2012, the've collected over 250 tons, with the help of volunteers from the Mount, Oak Hills School District, Great Parks, and area high schools.  They work in partnership with RecycleForce, from Indianapolis.  The money they receive from the electronics they recycle goes to provide funding for job training programs for formerly incarcerated individuals who are trying to get their lives back on track. RecycleForce received a large grant from the Sisters of Charity to buy their shredder, which is how they found out about them.

She also instituted a monthly "Beyond the Bin" recycling, which provides outlets for hard to recycling items, such as #1-#7 plastics, batteries, prescription eyeglasses, etc., as well as other initiatives on campus.

Coleen was also awarded the Elizabeth Seton Award by the Sisters of Charity (who sponsor Mount St. Joseph University).  Which is being presented at 3:30 in Delhi, today!