CMA logo.jpg.pngab0f0.png

Awards of Excellence

Nominations Due: Monday, April 30, 2018

The Awards of Excellence Luncheon: Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Online Nomination Form: 

An ad-hoc committee made of individuals whose sites have not been nominated for an Award of Excellence will review nominations and select winners.

Awards of Excellence Guidelines

Awards of Excellence Categories of Nomination

Excellence in Education & Interpretation This category is for projects that provide interpretation and education about a story, topic, or theme. Acceptable project formats may include, but are not limited to, lectures, in-school presentations, living history performances, print publications, digital media, and film. Special attention will be given to projects that provide interpretation and education for previously unexplored topics or for projects that provided a fresh look at an old topic.

Examples of previous winners:

Excellence in Outreach & Collaboration This category is for collaborative projects that focus on reaching the community with high quality historical/cultural programming. At least one of the lead collaborative partners must be a CMA member in good standing.

Examples of Previous winners:

Excellence in Exhibition This category is for exhibits that show excellence in interpretation, design, and implementation. This category includes temporary, permanent, or traveling exhibits made available to the public during the calendar year. Previous exhibits that have undergone major updates and changes in the calendar year are also eligible.

Examples of previous winners:

Individuals of Excellence This category is for individuals at CMA member sites who have gone above and beyond their duties. Employees, volunteers, and interns working at CMA member sites are eligible for nomination.