Published using Google Docs
STOC 2019 call for papers
Updated automatically every 5 minutes

Call for Papers

STOC 2019


June 23-26, 2019 in Phoenix, AZ

Papers presenting new and original research on the theory of computation are sought. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include foundations areas such as algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, parallel and distributed algorithms, quantum computing, continuous and discrete optimization, randomness in computing, approximation algorithms,  combinatorics and algorithmic graph theory, cryptography, computational geometry, algebraic computation, computational applications of logic, and algorithmic coding theory.  Typical topics also include computation and foundational aspects of areas such as machine learning, economics, fairness, privacy, networks, data management, and biology. Papers that broaden the reach of the theory of computing, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged.

Submission format:

Submissions should start with a title page consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation, and email address; and an abstract of 1-2 paragraphs summarizing the paper's contributions. There is no page limit and the authors are encouraged to use a "full version" of their paper as the submission. The submission must contain within its first ten pages (after title page) a clear presentation of the contributions of the paper, including a discussion of prior work  and an outline of the key technical ideas and methods used to achieve the main claims. This part of the submission should be addressed to a broad spectrum of theoretical computer scientists, not solely to experts in the subarea.

Submissions will be judged solely on the basis of the paper submitted by the deadline. The submission as a whole should include all of the ideas necessary for an expert to verify fully the central claims in the paper. Although there is no bound on the length of a submission, material other than the title page, references, and the first ten pages will be read at the committee's discretion. Authors are encouraged to put the references at the very end of the submission.

The submission should be typeset using 11-point or larger fonts, in a single-column, single-space (between lines) format with ample spacing throughout and 1-inch margins all around. Submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees. In addition, the program committee may consult with journal editors and program chairs of other conferences about controversial issues such as parallel submissions.

Submission instructions:

Authors are required to submit their papers electronically, in PDF (without security restrictions on copying or printing).  The submission server will be available by early October at                                                    


Prior and Simultaneous Submissions: 

The conference will follow SIGACT's policy on prior publication and simultaneous submissions. Work that has been previously published in another conference proceedings or journal, or which is scheduled for publication prior to July 2019, will not be considered for acceptance at STOC 2019. The only exceptions to this policy are prior or simultaneous publications appearing in the journals Science and Nature. SIGACT policy does not allow simultaneous submissions of the same (or essentially the same) material to another conference with published proceedings. The program committee may consult with program chairs of other (past or future) conferences to find out about closely related submissions.

Addendum (November 24, 2018) for COLT 2019 (also held at FCRC 2019):

The COLT submission deadline (February 1) precedes the STOC notification (Febraury 12). In coordination with the COLT 2019 chairs, we allow simultaneous submissions to COLT  provided that the authors (1) state that the submission is under consideration for STOC (2) immediately withdraw the COLT submission if the STOC submission is accepted, and (3) agree to allow the (anonymized) STOC reviews to be provided to the COLT reviewers once they are available. The authors will be allowed to submit a rebuttal to the STOC reviews a few days after the STOC reviews are available (details are provided in the COLT 2019 call for papers).                

Online posting:

Authors are encouraged to post full versions of their submissions in a freely accessible online repository such as the arxiv, the ECCC, or the Cryptology ePrint archive.  (Papers that are not written well enough for public dissemination are probably also not ready for submission to STOC.) We expect that authors of accepted papers will make full versions of their papers  available by the camera ready deadline.

Poster Sessions:

In addition to talks, all accepted STOC papers will be presented in poster sessions where there will be an opportunity to talk with authors about their papers.

Formatting of final versions (accepted papers):

Final versions of accepted papers must adhere to the “sigconf” template, which is available (for both LaTeX and Word) here (LaTeX users, please use: \documentclass[sigconf,screen]{acmart}).


Important dates:                                


Program Committee:

Amir Abboud (IBM)

Shiri Chechik (Tel Aviv University, Israel)

Flavio Chierichetti (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)

Ken Clarkson (IBM)

Edith Cohen (chair)  (Google & Tel Aviv University)

Amit Daniely (Google & Hebrew University, Israel)

Michal Feldman (Tel Aviv University, Israel)

Rong Ge (Duke University)

Mohsen Ghaffari (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Vipul Goyal (Carnegie Mellon University)

Subhash Khot (New York University)

Gillat Kol (Princeton University)

Tomer Koren (Google)

Ravi Kumar (Google)

Xin Li (Johns Hopkins University)

Dana Moshkovitz (University of Texas, Austin)

Ashwin Nayak (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Seth Pettie (University of Michigan)

Prasad Raghavendra (University of California, Berkeley)

Ilya Razenshteyn (Microsoft Research)

Aaron Roth (University of Pennsylvania)

Aviad Rubinstein (Stanford University)

Alexander Russell (University of Connecticut)

Sushant Sachdeva (University of Toronto, Canada)

Barna Saha (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

Yaron Singer (Harvard University)

Nikhil Srivastava (University of California, Berkeley)

David Steurer (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Inbal Talgam-Cohen (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)

Eva Tardos (Cornell University)

Justin Thaler (Georgetown University)

Mary Wootters (Stanford University)