Meeting Location - District Administration Office 1445 Route 31, Annandale, NJ 08801

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 - 7:00 p.m.


At 7:00 p.m., Board Secretary, S. Press called the meeting to order and led the opening activities.

  1. Call to Order
  2. Open Public Meeting Act Statement
  3. Fire Code Announcement
  4. Flag Salute
  1. Official Election Results
  2. Oath of Office
  1. Board Secretary, S. Press administered the oath of office to elected board members:

Name                        Representing                                        Term

John V. Melick                Califon Borough / Tewksbury Township        3 year term

Rachel McLaughlin        Clinton Township / Lebanon Borough                3 year term

Tara Marie Hintz        High Bridge Borough / Lebanon Township           3 year term

Lisa Diederich                Union Township                                 3 year term

  1. Roll Call

Cheryl Allen-Munley - absent

Califon Borough / Tewksbury Township

Shelley Crisologo - present

Town of Clinton / Franklin Township / Glen Gardner Borough

Lisa Diederich - present

Union Township

Francis Goger - present

Bethlehem Township / Hampton Borough

Tara Marie Hintz - present

High Bridge Borough / Lebanon Township

Robert Kirchberger - present

Clinton Township / Lebanon Borough

Rachel McLaughlin - present

Clinton Township / Lebanon Borough

John Melick - present

Califon Borough / Tewksbury Township

Heather Richards - present

Clinton Township / Lebanon Borough

Thomas Roll - present

High Bridge Borough / Lebanon Township

Roger Straight - present

Clinton Township / Lebanon Borough

Jessica Viotto - present

Town of Clinton / Franklin Township / Glen Gardner Borough

Also present: J. Bender, Superintendent of Schools, R. Bergacs, Assistant Superintendent,

S. Press, Business Administrator / Board Secretary, G. Vargas-DellaCasa, Technology Coordinator, M. Smagala, Communications Coordinator, and B. Liss Board Attorney, Riker Danzig, Scherer, Hyland, Perretti, and three members of the public.

  1. Election of Board Officers of President
  1. Board Secretary, S. Press called for the report of the nominating committee chairperson.  T. Roll, Nominating Committee Chairperson recommended R. Kirchberger for the office of President.
  2. Board Secretary, S. Press called for nominations from the floor; there were none.  Motion by J. Melick, second by R. Straight to unanimously appoint R. Kirchberger to the office of President and J. Viotto to the office of Vice President.  The motion carried unanimously. 
  1. Board Secretary, S. Press turned the meeting over to the newly elected President, R. Kirchberger and Vice President, J. Viotto.
  2. Motion by R. Straight, second by T. Roll to approve action items 10.1 - 10.9.  A brief discussion ensued and the motion carried unanimously.
  1. Appointment of Board Secretary - Susan Press
  2. Appointment of Treasurer of School Moneys - Raymond Krov
  3. Appointment of Public Agency Compliance Officer - Susan Press
  4. Authorization to sign checks by accounts
  5. Re-adoption of policies, bylaws and curriculum
  6. Adopt Code of Ethics for School Board Members
  7. Adopt 2019 Board meeting calendar
  8. Adopt resolution BR1219-1 designation of official newspapers
  9. Adopt organizational chart
  1. Committee Interest Survey - President, R. Kirchberger called for Board members to complete and submit the committee interest survey.
  2. Discussion - B. Liss of Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti led an overview of the - School Ethics Act and Code of Ethics for School Board Members
  3. Public Comment  - No comment from members of the public.
  4. Motion by R. Straight, second by H. Richards to adjourn.  The motion carried unanimously and the Board adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Susan Press

Susan Press

School Business Administrator and Board Secretary