MGA 18 Board of Directors

The Board: The Board of Director (“Board”) consists of nine (9) members in good standing.  In order that members of all playing abilities are fairly represented, the desired makeup of the Board shall be, at the time of their election or appointment, a minimum of one representative, if possible, from each MGA handicap group.

In order for a member to be elected to the Board, it is desired that he has first served  as an MGA Tournament Director (TD) or had similar experience at another golf club in the past.

Term of Office:  A member of the Board (“Director”) shall serve three (3) years.  In order to maintain continuity of Director experience, these terms shall be staggered so that only three (3) of the nine (9) Directors will be replaced through election in any one year.

Board Director Duties:  Directors shall attend all regular monthly and special meetings of the Board.  As per the MGA By-Laws, the Board shall conduct, manage and control the affairs and business of the MGA and make such rules and regulations, consistent with the MGA By-Laws, as it may deem proper and necessary.

Officers: The Officers shall consist of President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer, and be chosen from and by the Board.

President:  The President shall call and preside at all meetings of the members and meetings of the Directors and shall have the deciding vote, when necessary. He shall also: appoint the chairman for all committees and assign committee responsibilities; keep, or cause to be kept, all membership records; and cooperate with the HSV golf professional(s) and assistants in the promotion of mutually beneficial programs.

Vice-President:  The Vice-president shall act in place and stead of the President when the President is unable to perform the duties of his office or is absent from meetings.

Secretary:  The Secretary shall keep a record (minutes) of all MGA membership and Board meetings, and serve all notices as required by the MGA By-Laws.

Treasurer:  The Treasurer shall receive all MGA funds (giving receipts as appropriate) and deposit such funds in the depositories as may be approved by the Board.  He shall also: disburse funds upon approval by the President and one other member of the Board; maintain records of all receipts and disbursements; submit such reports to local, state, and federal agencies as may be required by law; and submit monthly reports to the Board and reports to the membership at the semi-annual meetings.

Meetings: The Board shall schedule dates and times of its regular meetings. Semi-annual MGA membership meetings shall be held during the Spring and Fall of each year. Special meetings of the Board may be called by the President, or in his absence, the Vice-President. Special MGA membership meetings may be in accordance with the MGA By-Laws.

Committees: There shall be four (4) standing committees within the Board:  a Tournament Committee, a Handicap & Rules Committee, a Membership Committee, and a Publicity Committee.  All committees shall be chaired by a Director. The President shall assign the duties and responsibilities of the Chairman of each committee. Special committees shall be established as required.

Election:  Election of members to the Board shall be held at the Fall semi-annual MGA membership meeting.  A Nominating Committee of three (3) members in good standing not on the Board shall be appointed by the Board at least sixty (60) days before the Fall semi-annual meeting.  The slate selected by the Nominating Committee shall be posted at least thirty (30) days before the Fall semi-annual meeting and be consistent with the eligibility requirements set forth in the MGA By-Laws.