7th SLanguages

             Annual Symposium 2014

                  changedlogo2014-square.jpg                             

               Fri/Sat, 28 Feb - 1 March 2014

         Conference Program Overview

       Details: http://slanguages.org/program/ 

GMT = London

SLT = Second Life Time = PDT = San Francisco

Click link for world clock

Friday, 28 February 2014

Fri, 5pm GMT/ 9am SLT

Welcome and registration by the conference organisers and EduNation residents

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl

This welcome to the 7th SLanguages Annual Symposium is brought to you by a committee of SL enthusiasts and volunteers. This labour of love place on EduNation in fantastic venues created by Dr. Randall Sadler. conference organisation by Heike Philp and hosting by Carol Rainbow. We thank our presenters and panelists for volunteering their time to present to us the latest in language learning in virtual worlds.

Fri, 6pm GMT/ 10am SLT

CAMELOT Symposium

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

Panelists: Dr. Michael Thomas, University of Central Lancashire, UK, Tuncer Can, University of Istanbul, Turkey

David Biesemeier, ICC The Language Network, Germany

Sandra Gaspers, LinguaTV, Germany, Ton Koenraad,TellConsult, NL, Heike Philp, let’s talk online sprl, Belgium

EU funded CAMELOT is a 2-year project on how to use and how to create machinima for language teaching and learning. CAMELOT stands for" CreAting Machinima Empowers Live Online Language Teaching and Learning". CAMELOT is unique in that …. more

RECORDING coming soon

Fri, 7pm GMT/ 11am SLT

MachinEVO Symposium

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl

Panelists: Marisa Constantinides [Marisolde Orellana], Shelwyn Corrigan [Wynshel Heir/English Easily], Jens Kjaer Olsen [Jens Nerido], Helen Myers [Karelia Kondor] Dennis Newson [Osnacantab Nesterov], Edith Paillat [Cyber Placebo], Heike Philp [Gwen Gwasi], Christel Schneider [Letty Pienaar], Alfonso Garavito Olivar [Alfonso Perfferle], [Almut Brunswick], James Lloyd [Lloud Laffer]

MachinEVO is a 5-week workshop for language educators to learn how to create videos (machinima) in virtual worlds. It took place from 12th of January 2014 to 16th of February 2014. With 15 moderators at hand, 190 signed up participants  were instructed on how to use screen capturing software in Second Life, how to edit and upload their production and the ins and outs of ‘video production’, from story boarding to adding credits.

All of the sessions were recorded and available at http://machinevo.pbworks.com   …. more 

RECORDING (1h14min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p97hbwbmzug/

Fri, 8pm GMT/ 12pm SLT

Break and relocate to the MachinEVO film festival venue also put on some festive attire

Fri, 9pm GMT/ 1pm SLT

MACHINEVO FILM FESTIVAL 

MachinEVO 2014

Venue: ….surprise, surprise…

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl

Master of Ceremony: Helen Myers [Karelia Kondor], Barbara McQueen [Barbara Novelli] and Alfonso Garavito Olivar [Alfonso Perfferle]

Red Carpet Event

We look forward to this award ceremony to showcase the best machinima for language learning. These machinima have been created by language educators during the 5-week MachinEVO workshop. For many of these, creating machinima is their first-time experience.

This is a red carpet event and elegant attire is required.

12 MachinEVO Awards and for the first time also 3 CAMELOT awards on the following categories…… more

RECORDING (2h13min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3ckkocab6p/

Fri, 11pm GMT/ 3pm SLT

Surprise concert with an international star!

Venue: …. surprise, surprise….

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl

RECORDlNG (25min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3qr0f7tpqn/

GMT = UTC = London time

SLT = Second Life Time = PDT = San Francisco

Click link for world clock

Saturday, 1 March 2014

Sat, 7am GMT/ 11pm SLT

monash.jpg

KEYNOTE Virtual Prato by Scott Grant aka Xilin Yifu of Monash University

Presentation and a tour

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

This talk is about the first stage of a project that a couple of other colleagues and myself completed at the end of last year called Virtual Prato (VP). The core focus of the project is to provide a 3D virtual orientation experience for students … more

RECORDING (59min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p1yy1kh1x2o/

Sat, 8:30am GMT/ 12:30am SLT

vmasq.jpg

Pawel.jpg

Venue Casablanca

Research

Venue Chateau Renoir

Affordances for learning in virtual worlds

Scott Grant, Monash University

Ever since the early days of people writing about VWs for language learning there has been an emphasis on the “affordances” that VWs inherently provide for language learning and task-based learning. I take an historical look at a couple of different variations of concepts of affordances ….. .more

RECORDING (1h4min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p1izsur70hr/

last 5min is Pawel

The internet as a site of fantasy

Elliot Hughes

This presentation reflects on the extent to which the Internet can be considered a site of fantasy by investigating the prevalence of sexism in online gaming communities… more

RECORDING (41): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3y6zp4myzj/

Juan Jose aka Jo Cucuz

Virtual Cultural Research

Students of the Free University of Berlin

Researching educational functionality of Second Life

Dr. Pawel Topol [Pawlus Twine]

This presentation will be a report from a research project which measured educational functionality of Second Life. It involved 70 students of humanities from the University of Poznan, Poland. The project lasted the whole semester…. more 

RECORDING (45min): http://youtu.be/LtypiX0WMgs 

Second Life Calling: Language learners communicating virtually across the globe

CyberAmber Pixelmaid ‘KiwiBelma’

Language learners are motivated to learn when they understand a given context and are able to relate to the authenticity of situation. Many of these activities are traditionally achieved through role-playing. In Second Life (SL), ….more

RECORDING (40min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p8xk0w0ew9x/

Sat, 10am GMT/ 3am SLT

1h Break

Sat, 11am GMT/ 3am SLT

Euroversity Symposium

Panelists: Ton Koenrad, Gary Motteram, Gerhilde Meissl-Egghart, David Richardson, Christel Schneider and Stella Hadjistassou

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

EUROVERSITY is a network of educational institutions in Europe. EUROVERSITY wants to:

  • provide an European and global perspective for universities by offering a shared space for shared learning and research activities,
  • promote the conducting of joint courses among network partners and sharing of ressources,
  • It wants to become a truly European university rooted not in one location but in many …. more

RECORDING (1h29min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3uamdfv0ph/

Sat, 12:30pm/ 4:30am SLT

30min Break

Sat, 1pm GMT/ 5am SLT

LizFalconerpic.jpg

KEYNOTE Dr. Liz Falconer

Immersion and play in virtual environments

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

Presentation and Tour

The presentation will discuss examples of how virtual worlds can enable immersion and a sense of presence through game play and role play. Both these forms of activity are established methods of physical world language learning, but virtual environments can add a further dimension of immersion in environments that are difficult, dangerous or impractical to access in the physical world.  The tour which follows the presentation … more

RECORDING (1h10min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p8w4zboi516/

Sat, 2pm GMT/ 6am SLT

Break

Sat, 3pm GMT/ 7am SLT

Holodeck-mosaic-EduNation.jpg

Holodeck presentation

Dr. Randall Sadler

Presentation and Tour

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

Holodecks on EduNation is a free of charge service for our community of language educators and each year there are new editions to the majestic number of some 100 holodecks available. Come tour with Dr. Randall Sadler the latest developments… more

RECORDING (1h3min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p4eur7qa1fe/

Sat, 4pm GMT/ 8am SLT

Firesidechat.jpg

Fire side chat and Open Discussion

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

This ‘unconference’ in a relaxed surrounding is set in place to get people talking and networking. Bring your ideas and topics, the fun and not so fun stuff, questions, suggestions and come open minded to share and experience the spirit of collaboration and personal learning networks….more

RECORDING (23min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3mhvq09t6y/

Sat, 5pm GMT/ 9am SLT

Break

Sat, 6pm GMT/ 10am SLT

UIST.jpg

celt.gif

cibola.jpgFG.jpg

Venue Casablanca

Venue Chateau Renoir

Comparative Education: Training English Language Teachers on 3D VLE

Dr. Tuncer Can

Presentation + Tour

The presentation will report a research Project on Second Life aiming at introducing pre-service language teachers with 3D Virtual Learning Environments and …. more

RECORDING (1h6min) http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p24m7w2obz6/

CIBOLA: Pedagogical Uses of Virtual Worlds for the Teaching of Language & Culture 

Malcolm Alan Compitello, Juliana Luna Freire

This presentation focuses on Cibola, a virtual “living” region replicating important buildings of Latin America and Spain. … more

RECORDING (58min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p7zvqiduhrj/

Presentation and Tour in family Gómez house

Ines Diglione

Familia Gomez is a series of machinima which have been produced over a period of 2 years with the 15th serial just having been published. This telenovela is designed for learning Spanish and involves a family and their exchange student Bettina….more

RECORDING (58min)

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3dmuw1u61h/

Machinima for Language Learning

Marisa Constantinides

Creating machinima for learning languages provides teachers with a great opportunity to embed language in a context of use rather than present it to the learners only through audio - without the benefit of the images and the features of the context surrounding the language….more

RECORDING (57min):

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p8ymb3dsv9i/

Sat, 8pm GMT/ 12pm SLT

Break

Sat, 9pm GMT/ 1pm SLT

KEYNOTE Gord Holden

Adopting the Baby Giant - Unity 3D

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

It seems that in every jurisdiction governing language learning, the oral component of the process has become preeminent. This is understandable, and has encouraged the development of various 3D immersive environments for providing authentic and contextual spaces for social interactions in various languages. Unfortunately, the platforms commonly used…. more

RECORDING (1h7m): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p9j6fxd0q49/

Sat, 10pm GMT/ 2pm SLT

Learn It Town Symposium

Why Blended Educational Programing using Immersive Environments works with all Cultures

Venue: Temple Seating

Livestream: https://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/sl/

Laura Jeffcoat [Lowri Mills], Shelwyn Corrigan [Wynshel Heir] and others

Presentation and Tour

Seven  years of research teaching and managing a Language Learning Community and 60,000 students from over 121 countries have shown Laura Jeffcoat (Lowri Mills) what works best with a global community for Education. There is a difference between “Online Learning” and “Virtual Immersive Learning”....more

RECORDING (1h 15min): http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p4os28w7gmi/

Sat, 12am GMT/ 4pm SLT

Tour to Learn IT Town