2019 TABC Hall of Fame Inductees


          The selection committee for the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame met during the TABC clinic in San Antonio and has announced their selections for the class of 2019:

Vicki Barrett-Castleberry, Player, Neches HS, played in 3 state tournaments, 1973, 75, 76, winning titles in 1973 and 1976. Scored nearly 3,000 points in her career.  She was selected All-State and All-State Tournament in 1975 and 1976.  She is still listed in the state tournament record book in six different categories. Career  won-loss record  was 139-11.

Reggie Davis, Coach, Waco-Midway. Won 910 games. He coached boys for 17 years and girls for 23. He won 27 District championships or Co-Championships.  He led the boys to the State Tournament in 1974 and the girls to the State Tournament in 1990, 1992, 1994 (State Championship), and 1997.

Jill Sutton-Dodd, Player, Gunter. Played in three State Tournaments. Selected All-State and All-State Tournament in 1995, 96, 97. Tied State Tournament record for most 3 pointers made in a game. Made 342 3 pointers In her career. Career record 131-9. Led state in 3 pointers made.

Robert Hale, Coach, Seymore, Crowley, Azle, Weatherford, Pampa, Burleson, Lewisville. Won 863 games in 41 years including a State Championship at Pampa in 1996 with a 33-3 record. Twenty playoff appearances including 4 State tournament berths, nine Regional tournaments, and 13 District titles.

Robert Loper, Coach,  Frankston, Gary, New Summerfield, Bullard, Neches. Won 917 games in 41 years, 38 as a boy’s head coach and 3 as a girl’s head coach. Twenty-two play-off appearances which included 15 District championships, 6 Regional tournaments, and one trip to the State Championship game where his team lost by one point.

J.D. Mayo, Coach, Dallas Skyline, Nocona, Joshua. 808 wins in 41 seasons as a head coach. He spent 38 years in Dallas ISD. Led his teams to 22 play-off appearances including 12 District Championships and one Reginal Semi-Finals. Coach Mayo coached two NBA players, Larry Johnson and C. J. Miles. He has the most wins in DISD history. He is a Past President of TABC.

Amy Sutton-Porter, Player, Gunter. Played in three State Tournaments. And was selected All-State 3 times, All-State Tournament 3 times. Selected 2A Player of the Year in 1997. A four year starter. her career record was 131-9. She made 241 3-pointers in her career. and was a 3 time District MVP.

Dennis Tealer, Player, Gonzales. Led team to the 1974 State Championship. A three year starter and 3 time All-State player, he averaged 17 ppg. as a Sophomore, 24 ppg. as a Junior, and 29.4 ppg. and 18 rebounds per games. as a Senior. A unanimous All-State tournament pick, he is still listed in the State Tournament record books in two scoring categories.

         This deserving group of Texas legends will be inducted during the 2019 TABC clinic in San Antonio on Saturday, May 18 at 6:00 pm. To nominate coaches, players and contributors to be considered for the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame, send information to the TABC office by email (tabchoops@aol.com) or by mail (TABC, PO Box 2886, Sugar Land, TX, 77487). The committee will meet again in May to select the class of 2020 so you have plenty of time. The more information, the better. Congratulations class of 2019.