
 

FIBA Rules Refresher Level 1 – 2022/2023 – answers 
 
 

For the sake of consistency, ‘Team A’ is the (initial) offensive team, ‘Team B’ is the defensive team. A1 – A5 and B1 – 

B5 are players; A6 – A12 and B6 – B12 are substitutes. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please answer the exam questions according to the 2020 FIBA Rulebook and Interpretations – 

i.e. do not apply any provincial/conference/league modifications should they exist in your province. 

 

1. Y   

Dribbler A1 is charged with a technical foul. B6 requests to become a player to attempt the free 

throw. Shall the referees grant this request? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 19.2  36.3​ | FIBA Interpretations Article: 18/19-13 

2.  

With 21 seconds remaining on the shot clock  A1 dribbles in his backcourt when B1 is charged 

with a technical foul. Select the correct ruling: 

A) Shot Clock = 24 / Backcourt Count = New 8 seconds / Team Foul = Yes 

B) Shot Clock = 21 / Backcourt Count = 5 seconds / Team Foul = Yes  

C) Shot Clock = 14 / Backcourt Count = New 8 seconds / Team Foul = Yes 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 29.2.1  28.1.3  36.3.1 

3. N 

After a violation by team B  a backcourt throw-in by A3 is deflected by B3. The ball bounces 

freely in the backcourt for 2 seconds before it is controlled by A4. Is the referee correct in 

starting an 8-second count when A4 takes control of the ball in the backcourt? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 28.1.1 

4. N 

With 45 seconds on the game clock in the fourth quarter  thrower-in A1 has the ball in her hands 

when A3 contacts B3 on the playing court. A foul is called on A3. Shall A3&rsquo;s foul be ruled 

an unsportsmanlike foul? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 37.1.1 | FIBA Interpretations Article: 37-3 

5. N 

A1 in her backcourt passes the ball to A2 in her frontcourt. A2 touches  but does not control  the 

ball which then returns to A1 still in her backcourt. Has team A caused the ball to be illegally 

returned to its backcourt? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 30.1.1  30.1.2 | FIBA Interpretations Article: 30-13 

6. Y  

A2 comes off a screen set by A1 on B3 and attempts a three-point shot. After the release of the 

ball on the shot  A1 commits a foul on B3 and then the ball enters the basket. This is Team A’s 

5th foul of the quarter. Is the referee correct in counting the 3 points for team A and then 

awarding two free throws to B3? 
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FIBA Rule Book Article: 41.2.1  14.1.3 

7. N 

A1 is injured and the game is stopped. A1 is not able to continue to play immediately and the 

referee beckons in a substitute for A1. Team B then requests a timeout. At the end of the 

timeout  A1 is recovered and requests to re-enter the game. Shall A1’s request be granted at this 

time? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 5.7 | FIBA Interpretations Article: 5-14  5-15 

8.   N 

During a free throw  does the ball become live when the free-throw shooter releases the ball on 

his shot? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 10.2 

9. Y   

A1 is in the act of shooting when A2 fouls B1. A1 finishes his shot with a continuous motion. 

When the foul is called shall the ball become dead immediately? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 10.3  10.4 | FIBA Interpretations Article: 10-1  10 

10

. 
 N 

A1 and B1 commit technical fouls against each other at approximately the same time. By rule  is 

this considered a double foul? 

FIBA Rule Book Article: 35.1  34.1.1 | FIBA Interpretations Article: 35-1  35-2 
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