

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST AND VICE PRESIDENT

FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855-5301
906-227-2920 | Fax - 906-227-2928
www.nmu.edu

MEMORANDUM

April 11, 2024

TO: Dr. Jaime Crabb, Chair

Academic Senate

FROM: Dr. Anne Dahlman, Provost & Vice President

Academic Affairs

RE: Senate Actions of 9 April 2024

Pursuant to the memorandum of April 11, 2024, I am pleased to approve the following recommendations from the Academic Senate's April 9, 2024 meeting:

A. Memorandum Renumbering BI207 and BI208 from Registrar

B. May Graduation List

C. Graduate Programs Committee GPC Report 3-29-24 AN, SW recommending: (Please note: rules were suspended to bring this forward to a second reading.)

1. Department of Sociology and Anthropology

New courses

- 1. AN 565 Graduate Forensic Anthropology (4 credits)
- 2. AN 568 Seminar: Topics in Forensic Anthropology (2 credits)
- 3. AN 573 Graduate Human Osteology (4 credits)

2. Department of Biology

Masters in Biology

New courses

1. BI 507 Developmental Biology (4 credits)

3. Department of Social Work

Masters in Social Work

New courses

- 1. SW 532 Clinical Methods with Children and Adolescents (3 credits)
- 2. SW 614 Clinical Assessment and Intervention with Individuals (3 credits)

Program Changes

1. Change Admissions Requirements:

- a. Reduce Letters of recommendation
- b. Eliminate biology and research prerequisites

2. Curriculum Change:

The new course SW 614 will replace SW 611 as a requirement for the Advanced Generalist concentration.

AD/cm

Enclosures

Dr. Brock Tessman, President

Ms. Marcia Parkonnen, Executive Administrative Asst. for the Academic Senate

Dr. Dale Kapla, Associate Provost

Mr. Josh Santiago, Registrar

Ms. Kathryn Dawe, Associate Registrar

Ms. Angela Maki, Assistant Registrar

Ms. Kimber Olli, Executive Administrative Assistant, Registrar

Ms. Kari Garcia, Director of Admissions

Ms. Tanya Savage, Assistant Director of Transfer Pathways and Partnerships

Mr. Neil Baumgartner, Director of Student Success

Dr. Daniel Cullen, Director of Institutional Accreditation

Dr. Christine Greer, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs & Success

Ms. Rhea Dever, Vice President, People, Culture and Wellbeing

Ms. Pamela Johnson, Manager, Financial Services

Mr. Mike Rotundo, Director, Financial Aid

Prof. Carol Johnson, Dean, College of Business

Dr. Rob Winn, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Joe Lubig, Interim Dean, College of Health Sciences & Professional Studies/Director of

Education, Leadership, & Public Service

Dr. Leslie Warren, Dean, Library and Instructional Support

Dr. Steven VandenAvond, Dean, Technology and Occupational Sciences

Dr. Lisa Eckert, Dean, College of Graduate Studies and Research

Ms. Kelli L' Huillier, Assistant Director of Graduate Records/Programming

Ms. Janelle Taylor, Director of Graduate Enrollment Management

Dr. Ruth Watry, Secretary, Academic Senate

Dr. Marguerite Moore, GPC Chair

Dr. LaMart Hightower, Head, Social Work

Dr. Jill Leonard, Head, Biology

Dr. Alexander Stoner, Head, Sociology and Anthropology