August 2021 Changes in Area Leadership

Presidency of the Seventy:

Robert C. Gay and Terence M. Vinson are released; Paul V. Johnson and S. Mark Palmer are called to replace them in that Presidency. As a result of these changes, Johnson is released as Commissioner of Church Education, and Palmer is released as President of the Africa South Area.

General Authority Seventies:

Marcos A. Aidukaitis is released as Second Counselor and will serve as First Counselor in the North America Southeast Area.

Ruben V. Alliaud is released as Second Counselor in the North America Southwest Area and will serve as Second Counselor in the Europe Area.

Jose L. Alonso is released as President of the Caribbean Area and will serve as Second Counselor in the North America Southwest Area.

Jorge M. Alvarado is released as Second Counselor and will serve as First Counselor in the Caribbean Area.

Ian S. Ardern continues as President of the Pacific Area.

Steven R. Bangerter continues as First Counselor in the Philippines Area.

W. Mark Bassett continues as First Counselor in the North America Northeast Area.

Jorge T. Becerra continues as Second Counselor in the South America Northwest Area.

Randall K. Bennett continues as President of the North America Northeast Area.

Hans T. Boom is released as First Counselor and called as President of the Europe East Area.

Mark A. Bragg is released as Second Counselor and will serve as President of the North America West Area.

Matthew L. Carpenter continues as First Counselor in the Africa Central Area.

Yoon Hwan Choi continues as Second Counselor in the Philippines Area.

Craig C. Christensen is released as President of the Utah Area and will serve as President of the South America South Area.

Valeri V. Cordon will be released as President of the California Los Angeles Mission and will serve as Second Counselor in the North America West Area.

Joaquin E. Costa is released as First Counselor in the Brazil Area and called as Second Counselor in the South America South Area.

Massimo De Feo is released as First Counselor and will serve as President of the Europe Area.

Benjamin De Hoyos is released as President of the South America South Area.

Edward Dube continues as First Counselor in the Africa South Area.

David F. Evans is released as President of the Asia Area.

Randy D. Funk continues as First Counselor in the Middle East/Africa North Area.

Eduardo Gavarret is released as First Counselor and will serve as President of the Caribbean Area.

Taylor G. Godoy continues as First Counselor in the Central America Area.

Christoffel Golden Jr. is released as the President of the Europe East Area and will serve as President of the Africa South Area.

Walter F. Gonzalez continues as Second Counselor in the Utah Area.

Allen D. Haynie continues as First Counselor in the South America South Area.

Mathias Held continues as First Counselor in the South America Northwest Area.

Matthew S. Holland will serve as Second Counselor in the North America Southeast Area.

David P. Homer is released as Second Counselor and called as President of the Asia Area.

Kelly R. Johnson continues as Second Counselor in the North America Northeast Area.

Larry S. Kacher continues as First Counselor in the Africa West Area.

Jörg Klebingat continues as Second Counselor in the Africa West Area.

Joni L. Koch is released as Second Counselor and will serve as First Counselor in the Brazil Area.

Erich W. Kopischke is released as Second Counselor and will serve as First Counselor in the Europe Area.

Hugo E. Martinez continues as President of the Africa West Area.

James B. Martino is released as President of the North America Southeast Area.

John A. McCune continues as Second Counselor in the Asia North Area.

Kyle S. McKay continues as First Counselor in the North America Southwest Area.

Peter F. Meurs continues as First Counselor in the Asia Area.

Hugo Montoya is released as Second Counselor and will serve as First Counselor in the Mexico Area.

Thierry K. Mutombo continues as Second Counselor in the Africa Central Area.

K. Brett Nattress continues as First Counselor in the Pacific Area.

S. Gifford Nielsen continues as President of the North America Central Area.

Adrian Ochoa will serve as Second Counselor in the Mexico Area.

Adilson de Paula Parrella continues as President of the Brazil Area.

Kevin W. Pearson is released as President of the North America West Area and will serve as President of the Utah Area.

Anthony D. Perkins continues as President of the Middle East/Africa North Area.

Paul B. Pieper continues as President of the North America Southwest Area.

John C. Pingree Jr. is released as First Counselor in the Mexico Area and will serve as First Counselor in the North America West Area.

Rafael E. Pino continues as President of the Mexico Area.

James R. Rasband continues as First Counselor in the Asia North Area.

Gary B. Sabin is released as President of the Europe Area.

Ciro Schmiel continues as Second Counselor in the Africa South Area.

Evan A. Schmutz continues as First Counselor in the Utah Area.

Joseph W. Sitati continues as President of the Africa Central Area.

Vern P. Stanfill is released as First Counselor and will serve as President of the North America Southeast Area.

Benjamin M. Z. Tai will serve as Second Counselor in the Asia Area.

Brian K. Taylor continues as President of the Central America Area.

Juan A. Uceda will serve as Second Counselor in the Brazil Area.

Arnulfo Valenzuela continues as Second Counselor in the North America Central Area.

Moises Villanueva will serve as Second Counselor in the Caribbean Area.

Juan Pablo Villar is released as Second Counselor in the South America South Area and will serve as President of the Spain Barcelona Mission.

Takashi Wada continues as President of the Asia North Area.

Taniela B. Wakolo continues as President of the Philippines Area.

Alan R. Walker continues as Second Counselor in the Central America Area.

Scott D. Whiting is released as First Counselor in the North America West Area and will serve as First Counselor in the Europe East Area.

Chi Hong (Sam) Wong continues as First Counselor in the North America Central Area.

Kazuhiko Yamashita continues as Second Counselor in the Pacific Area.

Jorge F. Zeballos continues as President of the South America Northwest Area.

Area Seventies:

Kyrylo Pokhylko continues as Second Counselor in the Europe East Area. Jeffrey H. Singer continues as Second Counselor in the Middle East/Africa North Area.