Unofficial X-Wing 2.0 Supplemental Rules & Regulations

Updated May 4, 2021

Until AMG has their rules forums rollin’...

This document has been compiled based on input from a group of tournament organizers and judges from around the world who have performed those roles at numerous premier X-Wing events.

This document is NOT official! It is simply a labor of love by those involved to support the X-Wing community between official rules/FAQ updates. While we do encourage its use for the sake of consistency across events, no one is officially compelled to use any of the rulings contained within when officiating X-Wing 2.0 events.

The purpose of this document is to provide a reference for tournament organizers and judges managing X-Wing 2.0 events. We hope you find it helpful in your efforts.

Important things to understand about this document:

  • New rules updates from Atomic Mass Games supercede any guidance in this document
  • It is subject to change as new information becomes available
  • As this is an unofficial document, the rulings within it should be treated as self-contained and not be used as precedent

Summary of changes since last update:

  • Changed: Hera Syndulla (RZ-1 A-Wing)

RULES

GOLDEN X-WING TOURNAMENT RULE:
When in doubt, call a judge.

OBSTACLE EFFECTS DURING PLACE FORCES STEP

You do not suffer the effects of obstacles if you are placed at Range 0 during the Place Forces step.

RANGE 0

If a ship capable of attacking at range 0 (such as Arvel Crynyd via his pilot ability) is attacking another ship at range 0, and there is an obstacle where range 0 is measured, the attack is considered obstructed.

GAINING MULTIPLE TOKENS

When a ship gains more than 1 type of token (from effects such as Panicked Pilot critical damage card, Chopper’s pilot ability, or Admiral Sloane’s pilot ability), it gains the tokens within the same timing window. An ability that references a singular token of that type may be resolved, but only for one of the tokens gained (i.e. Static Discharge Vanes, Nien Nunb) when more than one is gained simultaneously.

AFTERMATH

Aftermath (step 6 of Attack) is after the attack. Any abilities that reference the timing window “while you perform an attack” do not apply to the Aftermath step.

Example 1: The stipulation in Fire-Control System (if you [reroll 1 attack die], you cannot spend your lock during this attack) does not prevent a B-Wing from spending its lock to trigger a Stabilized S-foils bonus attack.

Example 2: Ember’s “while you perform an attack” pilot ability does not prevent the defender from being able to spend a focus token to flip Proud Tradition.

CLARIFICATION OF TERMS

Certain game terms could use clarification to avoid confusion.

Assign: a broad term that applies to tokens, dials, conditions, etc., linking them to a ship.

Transfer: moving a token or lock to another ship (remove from one, and assign to the other).

Gain: a term specific to tokens; describes any instance of getting a token.

Acquire: a term specific to locks; describes any instance of getting a lock.  Note that the RR describes a specific means (action) of “acquiring” locks, but this is not exclusionary of other means.

Example 1: Hera Syndulla locks Soontir Fel.  Hera acquires a lock.  Soontir gains a lock token, corresponding to Hera’s lock.

Example 2: Hera then transfers her lock to Derek Klivian.  Derek acquires the lock.  Note that the lock token on Soontir is replaced with Derek’s corresponding token to indicate this.

HERA SYNDULLA (RZ-1 A-Wing & B-Wing)

“While another friendly ship at range 1-2 defends or performs an attack, during a Modify Dice step, you may transfer 1 of your focus tokens, evade tokens, or locks to that ship.”

AMG has added errata (the clause in blue) to Hera’s text.  Please note that you may resolve this ability in step 2b Modify Attack Dice, or step 3b. Modify Defense Dice, but not both.

COUNTESS RYAD

“While you would execute a [STRAIGHT] maneuver, you may increase the difficulty of the maneuver. If you do, execute it as a [KOIOGRAN TURN] maneuver instead.”

Ryad’s ability is a replacement effect, which takes a straight maneuver, increases its difficulty, and replaces it with a Kiogran turn.  The replaced effect is treated as having not occurred and is no longer a straight maneuver, but a Kiogran turn.  If she has the TIE Defender Elite upgrade equipped, the difficulty of the maneuver is further increased to red.

DARTH VADER (TIE/D DEFENDER)

“You cannot spend [FORCE] charges while defending.“

As per the FAQ entry clarifying Padmé Amidala’s pilot ability, Emperor Palpatine’s ability cannot be used if the friendly ship in question cannot modify the result in a corresponding manner.  Likewise, Emperor Palpatine prevents himself from modifying Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender)’s green dice results.

Paying costs is Step 1d of Attack, so Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender) may use Foresight after an enemy ship executes a maneuver.

MAJOR RHYMER

“While you perform a [torpedo] or [missile] attack, you may increase or decrease the range requirement by 1, to a limit of 0-3.”

If Major Rhymer uses his pilot ability to reduce the range requirement of a torpedo or missile by 1 to a range of 0, he may attack with that torpedo or missile at range 0 (assuming all other requirements for attacking with that torpedo or missile are met).

AUTOPILOT DRONE

Rigged Energy Cells: During the System Phase, if you are not docked, lose 1 [CHARGE]. At the end of the Activation Phase, if you have 0 [CHARGES], you are destroyed. Before you are removed, each ship at range 0-1 suffers 1 [CRITICAL] damage.”

Docking/undocking and the Autopilot Drone ability resolve along with any other “During the System Phase” abilities, in sequence from the ship with the lowest initiative and continuing in ascending order.

Example 1: Autopilot Drone begins the System Phase docked.  At Initiative 1, the Autopilot Drone may undock.  Rigged Energy Cells does not enter the ability queue, as the Drone is in reserve, and no charge is lost even if it undocks.

Example 2: Autopilot Drone begins the System Phase undocked at range 0 of Lando’s Millennium Falcon.  At Initiative 1, both the docking ability and Rigged Energy Cells enter the ability queue.  If the Drone docks first, Rigged Energy Cells does not resolve as it is in reserve.  Alternatively, it may resolve Rigged Energy Cells first, then dock.

KRASSIS TRELIX

“You can perform [FRONT ARC] special attacks from your [REAR ARC].”

While Krassis can perform front arc special attacks from his rear arc, these attacks are still rear arc attacks; therefore, Outmaneuver does not trigger on these attacks.

SUNNY BOUNDER

“While you defend or perform an attack, after you roll or reroll your dice, if you have the same result on each of your dice, you may add 1 matching result.”

While “each” refers to 2 or more in standard English usage, mechanically, “each” can clearly refer to a singular subject based on numerous other X-Wing interactions.  If Sunny Bounder rolls only 1 die while attacking or defending, she may add a matching result with her ability.

ARLIZ HADRASSIAN

“While you defend, if you are damaged, you must change 1 of your [EYEBALL] results to a blank result.

Arliz may modify her eyeball result(s) prior to resolving this ability.  Yes, we know.

ZARI BANGEL

If Zari partially executes a maneuver, but also moves through or overlaps an asteroid or gas cloud, she does skip her Perform Action step.

NULL

“While you are not damaged, treat your initiative value as 7.”

If both players have ships attacking at initiative 7, player two is flying Null, and Null is damaged by an attack prior to engaging, Null engages at initiative 0 that round.

If Null (while at initiative 7) takes damage during activation before activating and drops to initiative 0, Null activates at the current initiative step, after all other ships at that step have activated.

LIEUTENANT TAVSON

“After you suffer damage, you may spend 1 [charge] to perform an action.”

Damage is suffered one at a time. When suffering more than one damage from a single attack, Lieutenant Tavson may use his pilot ability on each damage suffered (so long as charges remain and Tavson is able to take actions).

ETA-2 ACTIS

Eta-2 Actis ships may equip Synchronized Console.

YOU SHOULD THANK ME (CONDITION)

“After you defend, Zam Wesell recovers 1 [CHARGE]. Then, you may acquire a lock on the attacker. “

These abilities are sequential, and Zam Wesell may acquire a lock whether or not she recovered a charge.

PROTON TORPEDOES

“Attack ([LOCK]): Spend 1 [CHARGE]. Change 1 [HIT] result to a {CRIT] result.”

Changing a [HIT] result to a [CRIT] is mandatory, but may be resolved at any point during Step 2b: Modify Attack Dice.

ION WEAPONS VS. REINFORCE

“If this attack hits, spend 1 [HIT] or [CRIT] result to cause the defender to suffer 1  damage. All remaining [HIT/CRIT] results inflict ion tokens instead of damage.”

“During the Neutralize Results step, if the attack would hit and there is more than one [HIT]/[CRIT] result remaining, one [EVADE] result is added to cancel one result.”

Both of these abilities have the same timing window, and are resolved by player order, which could be pertinent for applying an ion token or not.

Example 1: The Ionizing player is the first player.  After pairs of [EVADE] and [HIT/CRIT] results are cancelled, they spend 1 [HIT] or [CRIT] result to cause the defender to suffer 1 damage.  Then, if there is more than one [HIT/CRIT] result remaining, the Reinforcing player adds one [EVADE] result to cancel one of the (impending ion token) results.  (If there is now only one remaining result, Reinforce cannot add the [EVADE].)

Example 2: The Reinforcing player is the first player.  After pairs of [EVADE] and [HIT/CRIT] results are cancelled, if there is more than one [HIT]/[CRIT] result remaining, one [EVADE] result is added to cancel one result.  Then the Ionizing player spends 1 of any remaining [HIT] or [CRIT] results to cause the defender to suffer 1 damage.

CLUSTER MISSILES

“Spend 1 [charge]. After this attack, you may perform this attack as a bonus attack against a different target at range 0-1 of the defender, ignoring the [lock] requirement.”

Only the lock requirement is ignored for the bonus attack. To perform the bonus attack, a different target must be at range 0-1 of the defender of the original attack, that target must be in arc at range 1-2 of the ship performing an attack, and a charge must be spent.

ENERGY SHELL CHARGES

The action granted by Energy Shell Charges follows all of the rules for reload except step 1: the card specifies that it must be chosen as the target of the reload. All other reload steps should be followed (step two: That card recovers one [charge], and step three: The ship gains one disarm token). If a ship is able to perform a reload action from another source, this action may be taken in the same round.

AMILYN HOLDO

“Before you engage, you may choose another friendly ship at range 1-2. You may transfer to that ship 1 token of a type that ship does not have. That ship may transfer 1 token to you of a type you do not have.”

Holdo’s ability resolves sequentially, so if she transfers a green token to a jammed ship, the jam resolves before the jam token can be transferred to Holdo.

CHOPPER (CREW)

Chopper crew does not grant additional actions; he simply permits you to perform your standard Perform Action step action, even while stressed.

FREELANCE SLICER & ROSE TICO (CREW)

Freelance Slicer takes place before step 2 of an attack. Rose Tico (crew) takes place during either step 2b or step 3b of an attack. Rose Tico’s ability never has access to spend the Freelance Slicer’s die result due to their distinct timing windows.

GENERAL GRIEVOUS (CREW)

General Grievous crew ability occurs after the Neutralize Results step, so there is no restriction as to whether [hit results] or [crit results] must be canceled first.

HONDO OHNAKA

If Hondo Ohnaka coordinates an enemy ship, the controller of the coordinated ship chooses the action granted by the coordinate. Furthermore, that ship may choose not to perform an action.

QI’RA

If a ship equipped with Qi'ra crew is overlapping an obstacle that it is locking, and that ship removes that lock (by locking another object, as a result of being jammed, etc.), the ship only suffers the effects of being at range 0 of the obstacle (example: it cannot perform attacks if the obstacle is an asteroid).

FALSE TRANSPONDER CODES

“After you acquire a lock on an object or an object acquires a lock on you, if you have 1 active [CHARGE], lose 1 [CHARGE] and jam that object, ignoring range restrictions.”

Obstacles cannot be assigned Jam tokens.  If one is locked, no Jam token is assigned and no charge is lost on False Transponder Codes.

VS. XX-23 S-THREAD TRACERS

“Attack: [FOCUS], [CALCULATE], or [LOCK]  Spend 1 [CHARGE]. If this attack hits, each friendly ship at range 1-3 of the defender may acquire a lock on the defender. Then cancel all dice results.”

If an XX-23 S-Thread Tracers attack is successful, locks are assigned one at a time by the attacking player.  Against a ship equipped with False Transponder Codes, the attacking player effectively chooses the ship to be jammed by assigning the corresponding lock first.

HYPERSPACE TRACKING DATA

Before placing forces, you may choose one of the following numbers: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6. Treat your initiative as the chosen value during Setup.

PATTERN ANALYZER

“While you fully execute a red maneuver, before the Check Difficulty step, you may perform 1 action.”

After performing one action (per the Pattern Analyzer text), before the Check Difficulty step, you may perform a linked action or use other abilities with the phrasing “after you perform an action” such as:

  • Poe Dameron’s pilot ability
  • Black One title (“after you perform a [SLAM] action”)
  • Refined Gyrostabilizers (RZ-2 A-Wing ship ability)
  • Autothrusters (TIE Silencer ship ability)

You cannot use Pattern Analyzer while conducting a maneuver that takes you partially or fully off the board edge at any time.

Example: Poe Dameron executes a speed three forward maneuver, then performs a SLAM action via the Black One title and executes a speed 3 Tallon Roll, which is a red maneuver. Poe has Pattern Analyzer equipped. Per Pattern Analyzer, Poe performs a Lock action. Then, Poe's ability ("After you perform an action, you may spend 1 [charge] to perform a white action, treating it as red.") allows him to perform a white focus, treating it as red. He gains a stress token from this, and then when moving to the Check Difficulty step he gains another stress token.

RULING NOTES:

The wording on Pattern Analyzer is perform 1 action. This is *exactly* the same wording used in the RR for the Perform Action step and for the coordinate action.

“Linked actions allow a ship to perform an action after performing another action. After a ship performs an action with an attached linked action, if the player wants to resolve the linked action, it is added to the ability queue.”

"The ability queue is used to resolve the timing of multiple abilities that trigger during the same timing window."

We have established that "perform one action" is not language unique to Pattern Analyzer, but in fact is consistent with the language of the perform action step and coordinate action. We have established that linked actions build an ability queue in the timing window of "after you perform an action" which all takes place prior to the Check Difficulty step (otherwise you've separated the timing window of "after you perform an action" from the action you are building the ability queue from). And, we have established that the same ability queue timing would be used for other effects that use the wording of "after you perform an action".

REPULSORLIFT STABILIZERS

“Active: After you reveal a bank (LEFT or RIGHT) or turn (LEFT or RIGHT), you must perform that maneuver as a slideslip, then flip this card.“

Sideslips are not turn maneuvers, and thus do not interact with Damaged Engine.

COORDINATE

You may coordinate a stressed ship.  It is simply unable to perform that action, barring an ability that permits it to do so.

ROTATE A SHIP

If rotating a ship would cause its base to no longer be at range 0 of another, due to guides no longer in contact, they are subsequently at range 1 of each other.

This is consistent with: “If rotating a ship would cause its base to overlap a non-ship object (such as an obstacle or device), it does not resolve the effects of overlapping that object. However, it is at range 0 of that object, and applies any effects that entails.”

REGULATIONS

DICE ETIQUETTE

Use of dice rolling aids such as dice trays, dice cups, or dice towers must be mutually agreed to.

Dice are considered 'dead' and should be rolled again if they are cocked (not level - see below for details), land outside of the play area (typically a 3’ x 3’ game mat), accidentally fall out of your hand or dice cup while shaking them, or roll outside of a dice tray/tower.

A die is considered “cocked” if a visible angle is created in relation to the points at which a die rests.

       

                        

Before rerolling a cocked die, ensure that both players agree it is cocked. If there is disagreement, call a judge.

Stacking/balancing dice should not be used as a method of determining if a die is cocked.

Players are encouraged to maintain a play area clear of components not currently in use, and make an effort to roll dice in a way that will not interfere with the game state.

Players should make an effort to ensure that the results of a roll will be clearly visible to both players.  Do not pick up or remove dice results, until they have been resolved to the satisfaction of both players.

Purposeful manipulation of the dice in an attempt to roll them in a way that creates a specific desired outcome is considered unsporting conduct.

If a player rolls too many dice, the player must pick up all of those dice and then roll the correct number. If the player rolls too few dice, the player must leave the roll intact and roll the required number of additional dice, adding the new results to the original roll.

When a player is instructed to reroll a number of dice, the player must choose all of the dice that will be rerolled before rerolling any.

USE OF COMPONENTS DURING PLACE FORCES STEP

No components may extend past range 1 during the Place Forces portion of setup. If a component is longer than range 1, it should be used in a way that excess extends off of the game mat’s edge. Exceptions are permitted when placing large base ships beyond range one per setup rules, and for card abilities which require extending components past range 1 (i.e. Lieutenant Dormitz).