2023 NFHS Softball Certification Exam

Most Missed Questions

31) As F1 starts the pitch, B1 requests time by stepping out of the box. The pitcher
legally delivers the ball. What is the correct ruling?

1. (2, 2.70%) The umpire declares no pitch.

2. (2, 2.70%) The batter is granted time and awaits the next pitch.

3. (23, 31.08%) The pitch is called either a ball or strike depending upon the
location of the pitch.

4. (47, 63.51%) The umpire shall call a strike on the batter regardless of the
location of the pitch.

Rule ref: 7-3-1 penalty, effect 2

6) All of the following are true regarding gloves/mitts, EXCEPT:

1. (56, 76.71%) Gloves shall be a maximum of two colors, excluding lacing
and manufacturer's logo.

2. (1, 1.37%) Glove lacing shall not be the color of the ball.

3. (2, 2.74%) Gloves shall not be entirely optic in color.

4. (3, 4.11%) Gloves may have one American flag not exceeding 2 by 3 inches.

5. (11, 15.07%) Gloves may not have markings that give the appearance of the ball.

Rule ref: 1-4-1

26) At the pregame conference, the home team coach informs the umpires that the
fence in left field is only 180 feet and all balls hit over the fence will be a two-base
award.

1. (13, 17.81%) This must be agreed to by the opposing coach.

2. (1, 1.37%) This shall be a ground rule for the game since the home team coach
provides the ground rules for the field.

3. (59, 80.82%) The umpires shall not permit a ground rule to supersede a rules
book rule; any ball hit over the fence is a home run.

Rule ref: 4-1-3, 8-4-3f

43) B1 bunts the ball in front of home plate. As B1 is running to first base, B1 is hit with
the throw from F2. Which of the following is used in determining if the runner is out for
interference?
1. (59, 81.94%) If either foot last contacted the ground completely outside of
the 3-foot lane.



2. (2,2.78%) If the batter-runner's left foot is outside the 3-foot lane but is in the air
at the moment the batter-runner is hit with the throw.
3. (11, 15.28%) If the batter-runner was hit in fair territory.

Rule ref: 8-2-6

19) R1 is on third base and R2 is on first base with one out. B4 hits a fly ball in foul

territory near the first-base line. R2 interferes with F3 attempting to catch the fly ball.
The correct call is:

. (9, 12.33%) If the fly ball is caught by F3, both R2 and B4 are out.
. (3,4.11%) B4 is out and R2 is returned to first base.

. (60, 82.19%) The ball is dead immediately, R2 is out and B4 is charged with
a foul ball.

4. (1,1.37%) If the fly ball is caught, B4 is out and the interference by R2 is ignored.
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Rule ref: 8-6-10



