USC Department of Physics and Astronomy Climate Committee

Contact:

You can send an anonymous message directly to the Climate committee using this form: <u>https://forms.gle/zvz8b9gdohdgVtsD7</u> or you can email individual members of the committee listed below.

Charge of the committee:

The committee will work to improve diversity, equity, and inclusion in the Department by assessing the climate, making recommendations for improvement, and tracking actions. The expected activities of the committee include:

- Host a Department Climate Townhall every year.
- Administer a Department climate survey every two years.
- Maintain a list of recommendations from the survey, or from other input, and keep a record of any actions taken.
- Work with department members to take on recommended actions, and/or propose them to the department chair. The committee is not responsible for enacting all recommendations.
- At the end of each academic year, report on recommendations and actions in a faculty meeting and to the individual cohorts.
- Keep the Department web content related to the Mission statement and Diversity resources and information up to date.
- Monitor and respond to, and pass to the relevant parties, any feedback received by the committee members.

Membership and meeting schedule:

The committee is made up of typically 1-2 members from each group in the Department: undergrads, grad students, research and teaching faculty and staff, administrative staff, and faculty. The department chair is an ex-officio member. The committee chair is a faculty member. Interest in committee membership is solicited with emails or slack messages to the relevant groups; expected membership is 2 years. The committee typically meets twice a year; notes are taken.

Current committee members:

TT/T faculty: Kris Pardo (chair), Vera Gluscevic (adviser), xx RTPC faculty: xx Grads: xx Undergrads: xx Staff and postdocs: xx

Past membership:

2021-2024: Faculty: Vera Gluscevic (chair), Eli Levenson-Falk (diversity liaison) RTPC faculty: Kenneth Phillips Grads: Ben Kamerin, Dimple Sarnaaik, Anna Haynie, Darian Hartsell Undergrads: Mo Natoli, Thuy Pham Staff and postdocs: Ethan Nadler

Useful references: https://wiseli.wisc.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/662/2018/10/ClimateBrochure.pdf