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Please check the GAPPS rules on robotics at the website. It has details and rules not mentioned
in the game specific rules. It provides more details on teams, robot requirements, and a general

overview of the competition.

1.

shelf.

Q: When the robots place the blocks on the shelf, I see that they receive 200 points if all
three blocks are stuck together, and 50 points for each block if they are not all attached.
Do they receive any points for 2 blocks being attached to each other? Or do two separate
blocks on the shelf earn the same amount as two attached blocks on the shelf?

A: Two separate blocks will give the same points as two connected blocks when on the

Q: Is the Spike Prime also allowed in the robot competition?

A: Spike Prime is allowed in this year’s competition.

Q: Are there any special points for scoring by putting components not mentioned in the
game rules?, (putting blocks in chest, dice pit, etc)

A: No, points will only be awarded for scoring based on the scoring sheet.

Q: What counts as “In team possession” for scoring elements such as the blocks or the
sword?

A: In team possession includes: in the start gate or held by a team member. The robot is
in control of the element on the field, and having the element on the robot in the start
gate. If the elements are on the field, the robot does not have control, and they are not in
their scoring zones or conditions, they will not be considered in team possession. If the
robot is in the process of, for example, placing blocks on the shelf as the round ends, that
will be judgement call on the referee’s end to determine the end state of the blocks.



5. Q:How many points is this?

A: This would be 80 points (4 odd dice). The ones are pointing upwards, and it is not
balanced on top of the pit walls.

6. Can the dice be collected or pushed off of the game board, then after changing the robot
attachment be placed in control of the robot while in the start gate?

A: Yes, Attachments can be added or removed in the start gate and collected scoring
elements can be placed in the robot in the start gate.

7. Can the blocks be connected and then placed in possession of the robot by the students
while in the start gate?

A: Yes, see question 6 answer.

8. Can the marker be brought off of the playing board and then placed in possession of the
robot by the students?

A: Yes, see question 6 answer.
9. Can the robot protrude in front of the starting gate?

A: No, the robot must be within 1x1x1 feet in size.
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How much time is there between the two rounds in a match? How do the students know
how much time is left in each round?

A: There is no set time in between rounds, the next round starts as soon as the teams are
ready to go. There will be a projector with a countdown and buzzer at the end of a round.

What is the score for 3 detached blocks on the shelf?

A: 3 detached blocks on the shelf counts as "Apart" on the scoring sheet, so with 3 on the
shelf, its 50 + 50 + 50 = 150 points.

Does the coach interact with the students during the match?

A: I do not believe there are any rules regarding coach student interactions during a
match. However, the coach cannot "play the game" for the students (picking up or
modifying the robot, or otherwise interacting with the game board during a match). They
can coach verbally and be with the team when they are playing.

Can the students use a jig in the starting area to position the robot at the exact
angle/distance/position where they want it to start?

A: Yes, as long as it is made of lego pieces and does not violate the size requirements.

If the robot completes a quest, can you use a rescue token to grab the robot immediately
and still get the trophy for that quest?

A: Yes, you will receive the pedestal piece if you complete the quest and use a token to
retrieve the robot.

Using a claw to grab the pen, the robot has a firm grip. If a rescue token is used, will the
pen be also collected?

A: Yes, using a token will retrieve the robot and anything in its control

There is a program that hits all 3 switches the first time it is run it doesn't hit the first
switch. When they rerun the program the first switch gets hit, can they use a rescue token
to save the time and since all 3 switches are hit they get the pedestal piece?

A: Yes, the board state is preserved throughout the game, if a switch is pressed it will not
be "unpressed" unless the robot does so.



