Privacy Settings in Google Drive
When sharing files and folders in Google Drive we need to be mindful of the audience we are sharing to so we protect the privacy of the information contained within those folder and files. Let’s look at folders first.
Folders contain files. The sharing permissions on a folder are automatically added to all files within that folder, unless the owner of that file changes the permissions of the individual file within that folder. Let’s look closer at the settings for sharing a folder first.
We have the option to give another person permission to edit a folder or to view a folder. A person with editing rights has the ability to edit/delete/add anything to that folder, while viewing allows access to see and perhaps download those files.
When we click on the advanced settings we see even more options for sharing the folder.
And if we go deeper into the sharing settings we can see even more sharing options.
As the owner of a folder you have great control over who has access to your folder and what they can do inside the folder. The current selection above (red) allows only people inside our NLESD Google Domain to access the folder and the only rights they have to the folder is to view what is inside that folder. Two very important things to keep in mind with the sharing settings
Once the settings are set, either the people who you specifically invite will have access via the shared with me option in Google Drive or you will need to copy and paste the shared link to give them access.
The sharing settings for a file inside a folder are very similar to that of a folder, with some added settings. Let’s look at a Google Document that is inside our shared folder.
Let’s go deeper into the sharing settings by clicking on the Advanced option
And if we go into more settings under “Change”:
As the owner of a file you have great control over who has access to your file and what they can do with that file. The current selection above (red) allows only people inside our NLESD Google Domain to add comments to the Google document and this commenting feature is only available for Google Docs,.
Two very important things to keep in mind with the sharing setting