ZEELAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES ZWHS Cafeteria 3390 100th Avenue

January 15, 2024 6:00PM

PRESENT: Board of Education Members: Chad Creevy, Rick Dernberger, Tom DenHerder,

April DeWitt, Heidi Geerlings, Tami Mannes

Administrators: Autumn Dawdy, Brandi-Lyn Mendham, Julie Paterick, Matt Stolz,

Lynn VanKampen, Jon Voss

Board of Education Members: Betsy Kikstra ABSENT:

GUESTS:

I. CALL TO ORDER: 6:00PM April DeWitt

> Dr. Brandi-Lyn Mendham PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

II. TERMS OF OFFICE, BOARD OFFICERS, COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS, BOARD CODE OF CONDUCT

REVIEWED TERMS OF OFFICE

The Board of Education is comprised of seven (7) members, who are elected for terms of six (6) years:

<u>Name</u>	Term Expires December 31
Chad Creevy	2026
Rick Dernberger	2028
Tom DenHerder	2026
April DeWitt	2028
Heidi Geerlings	2024
Betsy Kikstra	2024
Tami Mannes	2024

B. ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS - Current slate of officers was reviewed.

Chad Creevy moved and Tom DenHerder supported to approve the current slate of officers.

VOTE: All yes

- C. CURRENT COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS The elected President has the authority to make committee appointments. Committees were reviewed and remain the same.
 - Agenda Planning Tom DenHerder, Rick Dernberger, April DeWitt (chair)

- Policy & Goals Committee Rick Dernberger (chair), Betsy Kikstra, Tami
 Mannes
- Finance Committee Tom DenHerder (chair), Chad Creevy, Heidi Geerlings

D. REVIEWED BOARD <u>CODE OF CONDUCT</u>. All members agreed to and signed this document.

III. RECESS:

The organizational meeting of January 15, 2024 recessed at 6:03PM to reconvene in regular session.

Chad Creevy, Secretary of the BOE