In light of the latest government medical advice, the directors have had to make the decision to close the club with immediate effect. We will endeavour to keep you all informed as to the evolving situation. In the meantime, stay safe everybody.

On behalf of the AVIBC Directors


Avon Valley are very sad to inform you all our Immediate Past President, Mary Rickells, passed away peacefully yesterday.

Mary & her dear deceased husband Percy have contributed immensely to the world of bowls locally over a great number of years. They were active members of Wellesboune,Stratford Police & of course Avon Valley.

Mary an ex nurse was a staunch supporter of Avon Valley, contributing both in time & monetarily terms & in fact as I used to tease her became the ‘Grand old Lady of Bowls’. Her answer to that, in true Mary Fashion, was to say “if I could catch you I would clip you around the ear.”

As I said earlier she was our President for a substantial time, always a font of knowledge, had a wide vision & could always be relied upon to offer measured & valuable contributions.

Mary you have tied your last bandage & cast your last jack. Rest In Peace old friend.


Avon Valley has been informed by his daughter that Ted POOLE has passed away. He was found collapsed at home & it is uncertain whether he suffered a stroke & then fell or the other way around.

We understand from Ted's daughter that Ted's funeral will be impacted by the current Lock-Down situation and, therefore, that the number of attendees will need to be very restricted, however, it is her intention, once current restraints have been lifted, to organise a celebration of Ted's life and she would be happy if members of the bowling community could attend.  As soon as we have information on this we will let you know the arrangements.

Ted started playing bowls over 30 years when he started at Wellesbourne & soon after at Avon Valley.

An ex police officer & one of life’s gentlemen who has been a stalwart of our club & of the local world of bowls. Devoted husband to his deceased wife Beryl who he looked after, when she fell sick, for a number of years.

He has been President of both Warwickshire Indoor Bowls Association & South Warwickshire.

A determined individual who in the latter years was an inspiration to us all, particularly in the way he dealt with his increased mobility problems. Always cheerful & having a good word for everyone.

The local bowling fraternity will miss him greatly

RIP Ted you have cast your last Jack.


Congratulations to Dave Gibbons, Gary Newton and Andy Sparkes who clinched victory in the Warwickshire CIBA Champion of Champion Triples! Well done lads!