LPG Members on the Move

Do you have a newsworthy event or accomplishment such as new job, promotion, award, or community service?  Why not share it with your LPG classmates and other LPG members.  Please email wanda.arrington@leadershipprincegeorges.com.

November 2013        Prince George’s County Council Former Chair Andrea Harrison (Class of 2005); Prince George’s Community College President Charlene Dukes (Class of 2010); and Rosie Allen-Herring (Class of 2008), President of the United Way of the National Capital Area, were recognized in the Washingtonian’s “Most Powerful Women in Washington” list.

October 2013        Demitri Kornegay (Class of 2010), Lieutenant and Deputy Commander of the 1st District Station of the Montgomery County Police Department, received a community service award for developing and running Men Under Construction. This is a free rites-of-passage program that teaches principles of leadership, responsibility, self-initiative, and self-respect.


October 2013        Ronnie Gathers (Class of 2009), Director of M-NCPPC Parks and Recreation, was recently elected to the Board of Directors for the American Academy for Park and Recreation Administration. Ronnie has served as Director of Parks and Recreation in Prince George’s County since 2007. He also serves as a member of the National Park Trust Board of Trustees and a former LPG board member.

September 2013        Thomas H. Graham (Class 2004), Pepco Holdings, Inc. vice president of people strategy and human resources, has been named a recipient of the Distinguished Partners Award by the Baltimore-Washington chapter of the National Association of Securities Professionals.  

September 2013        Raymond Lambert (Class of 2008) and Wanda Ramos (Class of 2009) were re-elected as the top officers to the Board of Directors of the United Communities Against Poverty (UCAP).

August 2013                Rose Greene Colby (Class of 2008) recently moved to the National Center for Healthy Housing to become the Director of Development. Rose served for 12 years as Resource Development Manager for the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC).

August 2013                Larry Spriggs (Class of 2013), President and CEO, SoftCon Enterprises, Inc.  SoftCon was recognized by Inc. Magazine’s “Inc. 5000 list” of the fastest growing companies in the United States.  SoftCon was one of 14 Prince George’s County businesses with the largest percentages of growth over the past three years.

August 2013                Sharon Moore Jackson (Class of 2012) was recognized by Minority Enterprise Advocate (MEA) Magazine as one of the 25 Influential Women in Business-Making a Difference.

July 2013                  Thomas H. Graham (Class of 2004), President of the Pepco Region, was promoted to Vice President, People Strategy and Human Resources of Pepco Holdings, Inc.  In addition, he was named by the MEA Magazine as one of the 50 Powerful U.S./International Business Executives for 2013.  He also serves as Chairman, Maryland Chamber of Commerce.

June 2013                Deborrah Banks (Class of 2013) was appointed to Joe’s Movement Emporium’s Board of Directors.

June 2013                  Marva Jo Camp (Class of 1997), LPG Chairman, was reappointed to the Arts in Public Places Panel for Prince George’s County as a County Council Representative.  Marva Jo also serves as a Trustee of the Maryland Citizens for the Arts and Co-Chair of Maryland Arts Day.

June 2013                  Rosie Allen-Herring (Class of 2008) was named President and Chief Executive Officer of the United Way of the National Capital Area.  Formerly, Rosie was Fannie Mae’s managing director of the Community Investment and Engagement Division.

June 2013                 Roslyn Johnson (Class of 2013) was appointed to the National Recreation and Parks Association’s Board of Directors.  Roslyn begins her term in October 2013 as the first African American woman appointed to the board.

May 2013                 Wanda Arrington (Class of 2013) was appointed to the Prince George’s County Memorial Library System’s Board of Trustees for a five-year term.