Mayor Muriel Bowser

Council Chair Phil Mendelson

Councilmember Trayon White, Chair, Committee on Recreation, Libraries and Youth Affairs

Councilmember Charles Allen, Chair, Committee on Transportation and the Environment

CC: Councilmembers Brianne Nadeau, Brooke Pinto, Matthew Frumin, Janeese Lewis-George, Zachary Parker, Vincent Gray, Anita Bonds, Christina Henderson, Robert White, Kenyan McDuffie

John A. Wilson Building 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004

Subject: Extensive land transfers from the National Park Service to the District government must be prioritized

We, the undersigned Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners, who have on-the-ground, day-to-day knowledge and experience in dealing with the National Park Service's decades of underfunding and acute mismanagement of our neighborhood parks, are writing to advocate that the District of Columbia develop and quickly execute an inventory and plan for transferring ownership and management of NPS-owned parklands to DC.

A report from George Washington University's Redstone Center titled "Neighborhood Park Service: Strategies to Create an Equitable and Activated Park System for the District of Columbia" published May 8, 2023, lays out the extensive problems in having a federal government agency that is best known for managing expansive tracts of wilderness and nature preserves also managing the small neighborhood parks of the nation's capital. Among the issues specifically called out in the report: Confusion around jurisdictional boundaries, funding gaps driving inequities and hindering maintenance and park use, lack of a long-term vision, poor coordination with the District government, and a complete lack of responsiveness to District residents' concerns, among many others.

These issues have accumulated into decades of neglect and mismanagement of the neighborhood parks of the nation's capital, leading to acute and chronic problems across the District's NPS-controlled parklands. These problems are well known to

community leaders who regularly field complaints about litter accumulation, lack of basic maintenance, downed or dangerous tree limbs, failure to maintain sports and recreation facilities under its jurisdiction, half-finished trails long-abandoned by NPS, or even buried toxic waste being left in the ground. These problems often go unaddressed by NPS, with no adequate recourse for local officials or citizens to ensure these critical problems get fixed. On top of these issues, public roadways that are managed by NPS are often plagued by traffic safety problems that only NPS can address — and yet doesn't.

In light of this new report, whose recommendations we fully endorse, and our direct knowledge and experience of these problems in our roles as ANCs, we urge that the District government prioritize the acquisition of all NPS-owned neighborhood parklands. This can be achieved through near-term solutions such as administrative transfers of jurisdiction directly through the National Park Service as well as the long-term solution of Congressional authorization of land transfers. Outside of the National Mall and perhaps Rock Creek Park proper, the vast majority of DC's neighborhood parks would be better managed by the District government than a federal agency unaccountable to DC residents.

We additionally note that the vision of activating and operating NPS-managed parks already fits into the draft Department of Parks and Recreation strategic plan "Ready2Play"; we ask that the DC government make land transfers from NPS to the District in order to accomplish that goal a priority, in addition to handling the numerous issues of mismanagement outlined above.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you at your earliest convenience. Please contact Commissioner Zachary Ammerman to organize a meeting on our behalf.

Sincerely,

Current ANCs

Max Ewart, ANC 1A01
Dieter Lehmann Morales, ANC 1A02
Stephen Kenny, ANC 1A05
David Segall, ANC 1A08
Santiago Lakatos, ANC 1B04
Tucker Jones, ANC 1B09
Daniel Michelson-Horowitz, ANC 1C01
Lee Dixon, ANC 1C02

Lynda Loughlin, ANC 1C06 Bradley Gallagher, ANC 1E01 Josh Jacobson, ANC 1E06

Yannik Omictin, ANC 2A01 Jim Malec, ANC 2A02 Trupti Patel, ANC 2A03 Kim Courtney, ANC 2A05 Jordan Nasser, ANC 2A08 China Dickerson, ANC 2B04 Zach Adams, ANC 2B08 Becky Strauss, ANC 2B02 Joe Massaua, ANC 2E04

Thaddeus Bradley-Lewis, ANC 3A01
Kevin Lavezzo, ANC 3B01
Hayden Gise, ANC 3C01
Adam Prinzo, ANC 3C02
Janell Pagats, ANC 3C03
Roric McCorristin, ANC 3C04
Sauleh Siddiqui, ANC 3C05
Quentin Colón Roosevelt, ANC 3D03
Matthew Cohen, ANC 3E01
James Tandaric, ANC 3F05
Lisa Gore, ANC 3/4G01
James Nash, ANC 3/4G03

Tiffani Nicole Johnson, ANC 4B06 Casey Carter Swegman, ANC 4C01 Brittany Kademian, ANC 4C05 Carson Lucarelli, ANC 4D03 Chrysanthe "CC" Courniotes, ANC 4D04 Stephen Marencic, ANC 4D05 Maria Barry, ANC 4E03

Duvalier Malone, ANC 5A01 Keith Hardy, ANC 5A07 Zachary Ammerman, ANC 5A09 Edward Borrego, ANC 5B01 Nandini Sen, ANC 5B02 Colleen Costello, ANC 5B05 Prita Piekara, ANC 5B06 VJ Kapur, ANC 5C07
Sebrena Rhodes, ANC 5D02
Stephen Cobb, ANC 5D04
Reid May, ANC 5D08
Bernice Blacknell, ANC 5D09
Frederick Carver, ANC 5E03
Huma Imtiaz, ANC 5E04
Anthony Hurst, ANC 5F01
Aru Sahni, ANC 5F02
Joe Bishop-Henchman, ANC 5F06

Amber Gove, ANC 6A04
Robb Dooling, ANC 6A06
Edward Ryder, ANC 6B08
Matt Lafortune, ANC 6B09
Jay Adelstein, ANC 6C03
Mark Eckenwiler, ANC 6C04
Christy Kwan, ANC 6C06
Ashton Rohmer, ANC 6D05
Ahmad Abu-Khalaf, ANC 6E05

Travis R. Swanson, ANC 7B03 Kelly Taylor, ANC 7B08 Anthony Lorenzo Green, ANC 7C04 Patricia Stamper, ANC 7C06

Rev. Wendy Hamilton, ANC 8D06 Lakiah Williams, ANC 8D08 Edward Daniels, ANC 8F04

Former ANCs and other representatives

Zachary Israel, Former ANC 4D04
Monika Nemeth, Former ANC 3F06; President, Capital Stonewall Democrats
Eric Behna, Former ANC 1B08
Corey Holman, Former ANC 6B06
Alison Horn, Former ANC 6B09
Jonah Goodman, Former ANC 4B10
Eric Smith, Former ANC 4D05
Alan Wehler, Former ANC 4C09