Backup iPad, Reset to Factory Settings

If a teacher wishes to recover their iPad data on another iPad in the future, they need to ensure that they have an iCloud or iTunes backup and that it is up to date.  If they do not wish to recover their iPad data in the future, they may simply erase all content and settings before turning in their iPad.

How to back up to iCloud

 

Tap Settings > iCloud > Storage & Backup

Tap Back Up Now

 

Step-by-step information on how to back up iPad is found here:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766

How to back up to iTunes

Connect your iPad to your computer.

In iTunes, choose File > Devices > Back up.

or

Right click (control click) iPad in device list and choose Back Up.

Step-by-step information on how to back up iPad is found here:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766

How to erase all content and settings

To remove all settings and information from the iPad, go to Settings > General > Reset> Erase All Content and Settings

You will be prompted to enter your Apple ID password.

To ensure your iPad has been erased, turn it on.  The screen should look like one of the images to the right—>.

 

Once the iPad has been erased, it is ready to turn in.