World Health Organisation (WHO)

The World Health Organisation is a specialised agency of the United Nations (UN) that is concerned with international public health. Headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, the WHO was established on 7 April 1948 – a date now celebrated every year as World Health Day. WHO is now made up of more than 7000 people from more than 150 countries working in 150 country offices, in 6 regional offices.

Constitution of the World Health Organisation:

WHO's Member States have endorsed global targets for improving maternal, infant and young child nutrition and are committed to monitoring its progress. These targets are vital in identifying priority areas for action and catalysing global change.

Global nutrition targets 2025:

  1. Stunting

TARGET: 40% reduction in the number of children under-5 who are stunted

  1. Anaemia

TARGET: 50% reduction of anaemia in women of reproductive age

  1. Low birth weight

TARGET: 30% reduction in low birth weight

  1. Childhood overweight

TARGET: No increase in childhood overweight

  1. Breastfeeding

TARGET: up to at least 50% increase in the rate of exclusive breastfeeding in the first 6 months of life

  1. Wasting

TARGET: Reduce and maintain childhood wasting to less than 5%