Sketchnoting resources by @sylviaduckworth

Sylviaduckworth.com

NOTE: This list was prepared for my book “How to Sketchnote: A step-by-step Manual for Teachers and Students”. Click here for more information and click here to order it.

Articles

  1. Making Learning Visual Helps Memories Stick (bit.ly/MindShiftDoodling)
  2. The Power of Visual Notetaking (bit.ly/PowerVisuals)
  3. In Defense of Doodling (bit.ly/DoodlingDefense)
  4. 10 Creative Ways to Use Sketchnotes in the Classroom (bit.ly/10CreativeWaysSketch)
  5. Memorisation Method Matters (bit.ly/MemorisationMethods)
  6. The Benefits of Using Doodling and Sketchnotes in the Classroom (bit.ly/DoodlingBenefits)
  7. Visual Note-taking: Keep focus and Improve Retention (bit.ly/VisualKeepFocus)
  8. Dual Coding Theory and Visual Note-taking (bit.ly/DualCodingVisual)
  9. The Powerful Science Behind Visual Note-taking (bit.ly/PowerfulVisuals
  10. Sketchnoting the Path to Better Note-taking (bit.ly/SketchnotingPath)
  11. Dual Coding and Common Coding Theories of Memory (bit.ly/DualCoding)
  12. How Visual Notes Helped a Student With a Learning Disability Thrive (bit.ly/VisualNotesDis)
  13. Drawing Is the Fastest, Most Effective Way to Learn (bit.ly/Drawing2Learn)
  14. The Power of Visual Notetaking (bit.ly/Scriberia)
  15. The Science of Drawing and Memory (bit.ly/DrawingScience)
  16. Dual Coding Theory for Educators (bit.ly/DualCodingEdu)
  17. The “thinking” benefits of doodling

Studies

  1. What Does Doodling Do? By Jackie Andrade, in Applied Cognitive Psychology (bit.ly/WhatDoesDoodling)
  2. Memorisation Methods in Science Education: Tactics to Improve the Teaching and Learning Practice (bit.ly/MemorisationMethods)
  3. The Pen is Mightier than the Keyboard (bit.ly/MightyPen)
  4. The Drawing Effect: Evidence for Reliable and Robust Memory Benefits in Free Recall (bit.ly/DrawingEffect)
  5. The Surprisingly Powerful Influence of Drawing on Memory (bit.ly/DrawingMemory)

Books

  1. Tangle Art and Drawing Games for Kids: A Silly Book for Creative and Visual Thinking by Jeanette Nyberg
  2. Visual Vocab by Donna McGeorge
  3. The Sketchnote Handbook by Mike Rohde
  4. The Doodle Revolution by Sunni Brown
  5. Any of Ed Emberley’s How-to-Draw books 
  6. Visual Note-Taking for Educators Wendi Pillars
  7. Sketchnoting in School by Karin Perry, Holly Weimar, and Mary Ann Bell
  8. 21 Doodle Days by Diane Bleck
  9. Discovery Doodles by Alicia Diane Durand (Diane Bleck)
  10. Ink and Ideas: Sketchnotes for Engagement, Comprehension, and Thinking by Tanny McGregor
  11. Sketchnoting in the Classroom: A Practical Guide to Deepen Student Learning by Nichole Carter.

Online Resources

  1. Sketch50.org
  2. bit.ly/doodleadaychallenge
  3. Artfulparent.com
  4. SketchnoteArmy.com
  5. ArtForKidsHub.com/how-to-draw
  6. schrockguide.net/sketchnoting (Kathy Schrock)
  7. #sketchnotefever

YouTube Playlists

  1. Carrie Baughcum (bit.ly/CarrieYTsketchnotes)
  2. Sylvia Duckworth (bit.ly/SylYTsketchnotes)
  3. How to Draw (bit.ly/YTHowToDraw)
  4. Doodle Word Art (bit.ly/YTDoodleWordArt)
  5. Karen Bosch (bit.ly/YTKarenBosch)
  6. Doug Neill (bit.ly/SketchnoteSchool)
  7. Diane Bleck (bit.ly/YTDianeBleck)
  8. The Revision Guide (bit.ly/YTRevisionGuide)
  9. Doodles by Sarah (bit.ly/SarahDoodles)
  10. Graham Shaw Draw

EduSketchnoters + Resources

  1. Karen Bosch (@karlyb, bit.ly/KarenResources)
  2. Silvia Tolisano (@langwitches, langwitches.org)
  3. Carrie Baughcum (@heckawesome, carriebaughcum.com)
  4. Royan Lee (@royanlee, bit.ly/RoyanLeeSketchnotes)
  5. Jen Giffen (@virtualgiff, virtualgiff.com)
  6. Wanda Terral (@wterral, ignitionedu.com)
  7. Cate Tolnai (@catetolnai, catetolnai.com)
  8. Marie-Andrée Ouimet (@maotechno, maotechno.com/sketchnotes)
  9. Beth Matusciwitz (@MrsM_NL)
  10. Carol Ann McGuire (@rockourworld, rockourworld.org)
  11. Misty Kluesner (@MistyKluesner, bit.ly/MistyKluesner)
  12. Larissa Aradj (@MrsGeekChic, MrsGeekChic.com)
  13. Amanda Taylor (@TeacherAndGeek)
  14. Ann Kozma (@AnnKozma723, techtravelteach.com)
  15. Matt Miller (@jmattmiller, DitchThatTextbook.com)
  16. Michele Osinski (@CheleOh, Techfairies.com)
  17. Rabbi Michael Cohen (@TheTechRabbi, TheTechRabbi.com)
  18. Nichole Carter (@MrsCarterHLA, bsdfutureready.com)
  19. Stacy Duval (@staceyduval5, bit.ly/StaceyDuval)
  20. Valeria Rodriguez (@valeriasketches, valeriasketches.com)
  21. Rachel Swanson (@racheldswanson, SketchnoteWithRachel.blogspot.com)
  22. Dana Ladenburger (@dladenburger)
  23. Tanny McGregor (@tannyMcG, tannymcgregor.com)
  24. Manuel S. Herrera (@manuelherrera33, instagram.com/manuelherrera33)
  25. Giulia Forsythe (@giuliaforsythe, edudoodle.com)
  26. Lorraine Kasyan (@lorrainekasyan, lorrainekasyan.com
  27. Karin Perry (@kperry, karinlibrarian.booklikes.com
  28. Holly Weimar (@drweimar)
  29. Paola (@paola_edu, enseigneravecdesapps.com)
  30. Rayna Freedman (@rlfreedm, msfreedmanagent24.blogspot.com)
  31. Adam Juarez (@techcoachjuarez, sites.google.com/cojusd.org/ohssketchnotesgallery/home)
  32. Debby Penny (@DebbyPenny)

Other Notable Sketchnoters

  1. Mike Rohde (@rohdesign, RohDesign.com)
  2. Sunni Brown (@sunnibrown, SunniBrown.com)
  3. Diane Bleck (@dianebleck, DoodleInstitute.mykajabi.com)
  4. Doug Neil (@douglaspneill, VerbaltoVisual.com)

Twitter Hashtags

  1. #sketch50
  2. #doodleaday
  3. #todaysdoodle
  4. #doodle2learn
  5. #IdeaFlood
  6. #SketchCue
  7. #SNHangout
  8. #SketchnoteArmy
  9. #SKETCHNOTEFEVER
  10. #everyonecansketch

Instagram

  1. @TheDoodleGuide
  2. @sketch_50
  3. @sninschool
  4. @taraleighjohnston
  5. @nataliaoro
  6. @marijketekent
  7. @bydawnnicole
  8. @positivelypresent
  9. @doodlesbyniki

Instagram hashtags

  1. #sketchnotefever
  2. #sketchnoting
  3. #sketch50
  4. #sketchnotes
  5. #sketchnotearmy
  6. #doodles
  7. #visualthinking
  8. #education
  9. #edudoodles
  10. #infodoodles
  11. #sketch2learn
  12. #doodle2learn