University of California, San Diego

Graduate Student Association

Council Meeting #14

Monday, May 20, 2013

6:00pm, Price Center Forum

I.        Call to Order [6:02pm]

II.        Approval of Agenda [6:02pm]

        Add “Presentation of Financial By-laws” as item VI.

III.        Public Comment and Announcement [6:03pm]

        -President: The Graduate Student Bill of Rights has passed through the Academic Senate

and will be distributed at next year’s graduate orientation.

        -VP Internal: Tuesday, May 28th, will be the Community Awards Ceremony at the Loft

from 5-7pm. Refreshments will be provided.

-Cory Stevenson: ARCHAC is hosting a series of townhalls. See email and GSA website

calendar for dates & times.

-VP Campus: Roaming social hour with IR/PS and Political Science for LASO this Friday at 3:30pm and next Friday with engineering at the Bear Quad.

-National Legislative Liaison: Will be sending out an online poll regarding the National Science Foundation, please forward to your department and respond.

IV.        Special Visit: Career Services [6:06pm]

-Tony Mahoney, Graduate Student Career Advisor

-Please contact if you have any suggestions or feedback, or want to collaborate.

V.        Finance Bills [6:09pm]

        -APRF 21: motion to approve. Passed.

        -APRF 22: motion to approve. Passed.

        -FFF 04: motion to amend the amount to $940. Seconded.  

VI.         Presentation of Financial By-Laws

        -Change VP Finace to Financial Affairs

        -Will be circulated throughout the email listserv.

VII.        Transportation Presentation

        -Tabled to the next council meeting.

VIII.        Appointments


IX.        Call for Agenda Items

X.        Adjourn [6:16pm]

Members in attendance: Dan Jacobsen, Cory Stevenson, Shigeki Miyake-Stoner, Fiona Nohilly, Chris Abdullah, Jackie Ward, Timia Crisp, Holly Dembinski, Nathanial Wood-Cohan, Joaquin Contreras, Roshni Chandrashekar, Russell Reas, Rakesh Varna, Sayanan Sivaraman, Patrick Hennigan, Simeng Zeng, Alexandra Tracy, Haydee Smith, Daniel Hoff, Rahul Kapadia, Darcy Barron, Alex Mendez, Michael Rivera, Nicole Henniger, Brandon Stephens, Lynn Waterhouse, Danielle Ishihara, Harrison Carter, Mat Jarvis, Emily Elizabeth Goodman, Jordan Gosselin, Jonathan Monk, Don Johnson, Shannon Muir, Scott Guenther

Finance Bills



Funds Remaining

Funds under Request

Funds remaining if requests approved

General Request Fund

$ 2,525


$ 2,525

Academic and Professional Request Fund

$ 1,987

$  600

$ 1,387

Diversity Request Fund

$ 107


$ 107

Family Friendly Fund

$ 940

$ 550 940

$ 390 0


APRF 21:

Appropriate $300 from Academic and Professional Request Fund to Brie Iatarola for Rhythms of Brazil cultural event. The event will be a presentation and discourse on Brazilian culture through the medium of contemporary music. Organizers expect at least 50 guests to attend the event.

APRF 22:

Appropriate $300 from Academic and Professional Request Fund to Maeve Whelan-Wuest and Shannon Morrison for IR/PS Women Going Global Launch Reception. The club seeks to increase awareness and the development of IR/PS women in future leadership roles within international professional and academic realms. Organizers expect at least 75 guests to attend the event. 

FFF 04:


Appropriate $550 940 from Family Friendly Fund to Jennifer Nations and Brie Iatarola for Summer is Fun Pool Party for Students with Children. The event is meant to bring families with children together for a fun event to mark the passing of another school year. Organizers expect 120 guests to attend the event.