This is a working compendium of frequently-asked questions and frequently-missed rules for Marvel Champions: The Card Game. The relevant section(s) of the online Rules Reference are given for each answer, as well as the BGG user who helped provide the question or answer (if applicable). If one of the references is “FFG”, it means this ruling comes directly from Fantasy Flight Games. You can find the online Rules Reference here, and you can find the FAQ discussion thread here if you have any unanswered questions.

NOTE: While most of these questions have a definitive answer, some are still ambiguous; answers to these questions are in red, and have a note after the given answer describing the ambiguity. In these situations, the answer is decided according to the Grim Rule.

        You can use the links below to jump to a specific question, or click here to jump to a list of frequently-missed rules for your first few playthroughs.

Frequently Missed Rules

Setup

Q: When setting up the game, which phases of the villain do I use?

Q: During setup, when do I create and shuffle the encounter deck?

Players/Player Phase

Q: If I use my character's special action, or if I use a card's action, do I have to exhaust my character/that card?

Q: Can I use my character’s special action when they’re exhausted? (Thanks to SlikkRikk)

Q: Does my identity’s hand limit apply during the player phase? (Thanks to SaisonLife)

Q: Can I play upgrades or supports into other players’ play areas?

Q: Is there a limit to the total number of Upgrades or Supports I can have in play?

Q: Is it possible to heal past your maximum health points?

Q: If my player deck empties and I deal myself an extra encounter card, when is that encounter card revealed?

Q: When can a wild resource be used as another type of resource?

Q: If I ask another player to trigger an Action, and that action requires a cost, do I pay that cost, or does the other player?

Q: Do I have to pay for cards with specific resources?

Attacking/Defeating Enemies

Q: Do I exhaust my hero whenever I play or use a card with an "attack” action?

Q: When I defeat a villain stage, does any excess damage transfer to the next villain stage? Similarly, when a main scheme completes, does any excess threat transfer to the next stage of the scheme?

Q: If I defeat a nemesis minion, does that nemesis's side scheme get discarded as well? What about if I defeat that nemesis's side scheme; does the nemesis minion get discarded?

Q: If you defeat the first stage of a villain, does that count as "defeating an enemy"?

Q: After I defeat a villain and it advances to the next stage, do attachments stay attached to it?

Thwarting

Q: Do I exhaust my hero whenever I play or use a card with a “thwart” action?

Q: Can I spread the effects of a thwart action across multiple schemes?

Defending

Q: If my hero defends against the villain's attack, do they also defend against the minions?

Q: If I exhaust my hero to defend an attack, when does that hero ready again?

Q: If I use an ally to defend against a villain’s attack, but a boost card’s effect defeats that ally before the villain’s attack actually deals damage (like Concussive Blast against an ally with 1 health), is that attack still considered defended?

Q: Can I use a “(defense)” ability when another player is being attacked?

Allies

Q: If an ally is Confused or Stunned, and I use them to thwart/attack, do they still take consequential damage?

Q: Can I use allies to attack if my character is in alter-ego form?

Villain Phase

Q: Can an enemy attack me when my character is in alter-ego form?

Q: Does the villain draw a boost card every time it attacks/schemes?

Q: If a boost card has a star icon, do I resolve its "When Revealed" effects?

Q: Can I use Resource abilities during the villain phase?

Minions

Q: Do minions draw a boost card when they attack/scheme?

Q: If a minion engages with me during the villain’s activation, or during a minion’s activation, will it activate against me?

Q: In what order do minions activate against you?

Encounter Cards

Q: If I draw another player's obligation as an encounter card, and that card gains surge, do I resolve the following encounter card, or does the other player?

Q: If I reveal an encounter card, and it's a side scheme with a Hazard icon, do I get an additional encounter card this round?

Q: If I am unable to resolve either action on my obligation, what do I do?

Q: If an encounter card tells me to discard an upgrade or support I control, and I have an upgrade or support in my hand, can I discard that card?

Q: If an encounter card tells me to discard cards from the encounter deck until I find a certain card, and the encounter deck runs out before I find that card, do I keep discarding from the newly-shuffled encounter deck?

Q: If an encounter card requires me to search for a side scheme and put it into play, but that side scheme is already in play, do I place any additional scheme on it?

Q: If an encounter card tells me to shuffle the encounter deck, do I shuffle the discard pile into the encounter deck?

Q: If an encounter card affects each character I control, does that include my hero? (Thanks to Sasquatch101)

Q: If my hero is exhausted and I draw my obligation, can I re-exhaust them?

Q: If an encounter card causes a player to be dealt an extra encounter card, but that player has already resolved all their encounter cards dealt to them, is the new encounter card resolved in the same round?

Side Schemes

Q: Does threat on side schemes contribute to the advancement of the main scheme?

Q: When a side scheme or other event adds an acceleration icon/token to the main scheme, does that token add one additional threat, or one additional threat per player?

Q: If a side scheme with a Crisis icon is in play, can I remove threat from a different side scheme without a Crisis icon on it?

Q: If a side scheme with a Hazard icon is in play, does each player get an extra encounter card during step three of the villain phase?

Keywords/Status Cards

Q: If a minion engaged with me has the "Guard" keyword, can my allies still attack the villain?

Q: If I have a stunned or confused status card, will cards that read "Hero Action (attack)" or "Hero Action (thwart)" still trigger?

Q: If I use an ally to defend an attack against another player, and that attack has overkill, does the overkill damage apply to me, or to the original target of the attack?

Q: What happens to a character with more than one status card of a certain type? (i.e., more than one stun status card)

Q: If I use an ally to defend an attack against another player, and that attack has overkill, BUT I'm in alter-ego form, do I still take the overkill damage?

Q: If an ally defends against an attack that has overkill, but that ally has a tough status card, do I take any overkill damage?

Q: If a character is dealt overkill damage from an attack on a minion/ally, and that character has Retaliate, does the Retaliate trigger?

Q: When I am dealt indirect damage, can I split it among multiple characters?

Q: When I am dealt indirect damage, and a character has Tough, can I assign all the damage to that character, even if the damage is greater than their remaining hit points?

Peter Parker/Spider-Man

Q: How many attacks does Webbed Up prevent?

Q: If an enemy has a stun status card, and I play Webbed Up to that enemy, which card triggers first?

Q: If I defend for another player as Spider-Man, does Spider-Sense trigger?

Q: Does Spider-Sense trigger if a stun or Webbed Up prevents the villain from attacking?

Q: If Spider-Man is exhausted, can I still play Backflip?

Q: Can I use Peter Parker's ability to generate a resource, then flip to hero form and use that resource to pay for a Hero Action?

Q: Can I play Counter-Punch after I play Backflip?

Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel

Q: Can I use Carol Danvers’ and Captain Marvel’s special ability in the same round, even though they’re both listed as once per round?

Jennifer Walters/She-Hulk

Q: When I return Hellcat to my hand, then play her again later, do any previously-taken damage or status effects remain?

Q: If a side scheme comes into play, can I use Jennifer Walter's ability to reduce the amount of threat on it by one?

Q: Can I use Legal Practice to remove threat on multiple schemes?

Q: Can I use Jennifer Walters’ ability to reduce threat placed on schemes during setup?

Tony Stark/Iron Man

Q: If I have Pepper Potts in play, and I want to pay for a 4-cost card, can I spend an Energy card, then use Pepper to generate the two resources I just discarded?

Q: If I use Pepper Potts to generate the resources on "The Power of Leadership" to pay for a Leadership card, does that card provide double resources?

Q: If Iron Man has the Aerial trait, and I use Mark V Helmet, can I remove threat from the main scheme if a side scheme is in play with a Crisis icon?

Q: If War Machine only has 1 health left, can I still use his action?

T’Challa/Black Panther

Q: If I use Vibranium Suit to move damage onto an enemy with a Tough status card, does that discard the status card?

Q: Can I use Ancestral Knowledge to shuffle 3 copies of Wakanda Forever! into my deck?

Q: If I am in hero form as Black Panther, and I use an ally to defend an attack, does Retaliate trigger?

Q: If I draw the Affairs of State obligation, can I choose the second option if I have no Black Panther upgrades in play?

Steve Rogers/Captain America

Q: If I’m in Captain America form, and an ally gets played, and I then flip over to Steve Rogers, will Living Legend still apply to the next ally played?

Q: If Captain America’s Shield is put into play as a Drone minion during setup for Ultron, can I retrieve it for Steve Rogers’ Setup ability?

Kamala Khan/Ms. Marvel

Q: If I exhaust Embiggen when playing Melee, how much damage is done?

Q: Can I exhaust Shrink when playing Emergency to remove 2 threat from a scheme?

Odinson/Thor

Q: If Thor is stunned, can I still play Lightning Strike?

Q: If I play Defender of the Nine Realms and the encounter deck runs out without discarding a minion, do I still remove 3 threat from a scheme?

Q: Can I choose to ignore Loki’s ability?

Q: If I play a Hammer Throw to attack Loki, but his Forced Response causes him to be revived, does the overkill damage still get dealt to the villain?

Aggression

Q: If I play Inspired on Hulk, can I use him to thwart?

Q: If Combat Training is attached to my hero, do all of my attacks get +1, including cards with "Hero Action (attack)"?

Q: If Tigra attacks and defeats an enemy, does she heal damage before or after receiving consequential damage?

Q: If Hulk defeats a villain with his attack, does his Forced Response occur before or after the villain advances to the next stage?

Q: Does defeating a villain stage qualify as “defeating an enemy” for the purposes of Chase Them Down?

Q: If I defeat a villain stage, and their next stage causes a side scheme to be revealed, can I use Chase Them Down on that side scheme?

Justice

Q: What actions cause Interrogation Room to be triggered?

Leadership

Q: If I use Make the Call to pay for a non-Leadership ally, would The Power of Leadership count as one resource or two?

Q: If I play Inspired on Hulk, can I use him to thwart for one scheme?

Q: If a minion enters play and I have Hawkeye in play, does the minion's "When Revealed" text occur before Hawkeye's response?

Q: Can I play Inspired on any ally, or just an ally under my control?

Q: If a Weapons Runner is revealed from the encounter deck, and I use Hawkeye’s response to immediately defeat it, does Surge still trigger?

Protection

Q: Can I play multiple copies of Counter-Punch in response to defending an attack?

Basic

Q: Can I use Emergency when a minion schemes?

Q: Can I use Emergency after the villain has already schemed?

Rhino

Q: If Rhino has two Charge cards attached to him and he attacks, do both cards boost his attack?

Q: If Rhino is stunned, and has a Charge card attached to him, and he attacks, does the Charge card get discarded along with the stun status card? (Thanks to BKThomson)

Klaw

Q: If Sonic Boom is revealed as a boost card while I am defending an attack with an ally, do I exhaust my hero?

Q: If The Immortal Klaw is defeated, does Klaw immediately lose that health?

Q: If I reveal Sonic Boom, and all my characters are already exhausted, can I still choose the option to exhaust all characters I control?

Ultron

Q: If Ultron I attacks a player, and another player defends, does the resulting Drone minion engage with the original target or the defending player?

Q: If Ultron II attacks a player, and another player defends, does the Drone minion engage with the original target or the defending player?

Q: If threat is prevented from being placed on the main scheme Assault on Norad (2B) in step one of the villain phase, does the Forced Response still trigger?

Q: If Ultron is in stage III, and there are drone minions in play, will actions that deal damage to all enemies (like Energy Daggers or Ground Stomp) do damage to Ultron?

Risky Business

Q: If Green Goblin attacks me, and a “Boost” ability causes him to flip to Norman mid-attack, what happens?

Running Interference

Q: If I have Media Coverage attached to me, and a new villain stage is revealed, do the “When Revealed” effects trigger a second time?

Frequently Missed Rules

  • If a player’s deck runs out of cards, that player is immediately dealt an encounter card, and they shuffle their discard pile to make a new deck. This card is not revealed until step three of the villain phase. If that player was drawing cards before the deck ran out, they continue drawing cards; however, if they were discarding cards before the deck ran out, they do not continue to discard cards.
  • If the encounter deck runs out of cards, place an acceleration token on the main scheme, then shuffle the encounter discard pile to make a new encounter deck.
  • When a villain stage advances, any excess damage does not carry over. Status cards, attachments, and other tokens do carry over.
  • When a main scheme advances, any excess threat or attachments do not carry over.
  • A player must decide whether or not to defend against an attack BEFORE boost cards are revealed.
  • You do not have to exhaust your hero to use any card’s action, unless the card states otherwise.
  • Cards that state “Hero Action”, or some other bold “Hero” term, can only be used when that player is in hero form. Similarly, Cards with a bold “Alter-Ego” term can only be used when in alter-ego form.
  • Cards with an Action ability cannot be used during the villain phase.
  • Each player can have at most three allies in play at any given time.
  • After an ally is used to attack/thwart, that ally takes consequential damage based on the symbols beneath the relevant statistic.
  • Players are allowed to trigger action abilities on other players’ turns. This includes any card in play or in the player’s hand with the bold word “Action” on it.
  • You are not allowed to  use your character’s basic ATK, THW, or REC on other players’ turns. Additionally, you are not allowed to change forms, use your allies, or play cards without “Action” text on other players’ turns.
  • Any “per player” icon on cards refers to the number of players who started the scenario, not the number of players still in the scenario.
  • Only players’ obligations are shuffled into the encounter deck during setup. Players’ nemesis cards are set aside, to possibly be shuffled in later.
  • Each identity has a different hand size for their alter-ego and hero forms. Generally speaking, the hero form of an identity has a lower hand size than its alter-ego form.
  • When you reveal a boost card for a villain’s activation, you never resolve it as an encounter card. You only check the boost icons in the bottom-right corner, and the “Boost” section of the card if there is one.

Setup

Q: When setting up the game, which phases of the villain do I use?

A: Side 1A of the villain's main scheme will give you explicit instructions, but generally, you use villain stages I and II for Standard mode, and stages II and III for Expert mode.

Q: During setup, when do I create and shuffle the encounter deck?

A: You should combine and shuffle the villain’s encounter cards, the Standard/Expert encounter cards, and the modular cards together before setup. The players’ obligations do not get shuffled in until step 11, after resolving any “When Revealed” abilities on the villain or main scheme.

Players/Player Phase

Q: If I use my character's special action, or if I use a card's action, do I have to exhaust my character/that card?

A: No. You only have to exhaust your hero if you use their basic ATK, THW, DEF, or REC, or if an ability requires you to exhaust. You only need to exhaust a card if the action on that card requires you to exhaust it.

Reference: p.9, "Initiating Abilities, Playing Cards"

Q: Can I use my character’s special action when they’re exhausted? (Thanks to SlikkRikk)

A: Generally speaking, yes. Any action that doesn’t specifically require you to exhaust can still be used when you’re exhausted. However, if your character’s action requires you to exhaust your character (like Ms. Marvel’s), you would not be able to use that ability if exhausted.

Reference: p.7, “Exhausted”, p.9, “Initiating Abilities, Playing Cards”

Q: Does my identity’s hand limit apply during the player phase? (Thanks to SaisonLife)

A: No. Your hand limit is only checked at the end of the player phase. During the player phase, you may have as many cards in your hand as possible.

Reference: p.8, “Hand Size”

Q: Can I play upgrades or supports into other players’ play areas?

A: Generally speaking, no. Unless otherwise specified, cards must be played into your play area.

Reference: p.12, “Ownership and Control”, p.12, “Play, Put into Play”

Q: Is there a limit to the total number of Upgrades or Supports I can have in play?

A: No. Except for cards with specific limitations (like Avengers' Mansion), there is no limit to the number of Upgrades or Supports you can have in play.

Reference: p.16, "Support", p.18, "Upgrade"

Q: Is it possible to heal past your maximum health points?

A: No. Each character has a maximum hit points, which is their printed hit points, plus or minus any "gets" modifiers on cards, and you cannot heal past that value.

Reference: p.11, "Maximum Hit Points"

Q: If my player deck empties and I deal myself an extra encounter card, when is that encounter card revealed?

A: All encounter cards are revealed in step four of the villain phase, one at a time.

Reference: p.19, "Villain Phase"

Q: When can a wild resource be used as another type of resource?

A: Wild resources can be used as any other type of resource, unless a resource requirement has the modifier "printed". For example, Repulsor Blast tells you to flip the top 5 cards of your deck, and deal 2 damage for each printed energy resource. In this instance, wild resources would not count for this purpose.

Reference: p.13, "Printed", p.19, "Wild Resource"

Q: If I ask another player to trigger an Action, and that action requires a cost, do I pay that cost, or does the other player?

A: The other player pays the cost. They are still the one taking the action, so any costs/consequences would affect them.

Reference: p.9, "Initiating Abilities, Playing Cards", p.13, "Player Turn"

Q: Do I have to pay for cards with specific resources?

A: Generally speaking, no. Unless otherwise specified, costs can be paid for with any resource. However, some cards, like Photonic Blast, provide a benefit if you spend a specific type of resource to pay for that card.

Reference: p.14, "Resource"

Attacking/Defeating Enemies

Q: Do I exhaust my hero whenever I play or use a card with an "attack” action?

A: No. When attacking, you only exhaust your hero when you use your basic ATK power, unless otherwise specified.

Reference: p.4, “Attack”

Q: When I defeat a villain stage, does any excess damage transfer to the next villain stage? Similarly, when a main scheme completes, does any excess threat transfer to the next stage of the scheme?

A: No. Excess damage/threat does not transfer between stages.

Reference: p.10-11, "Main Scheme", p.18, "Villain Defeat"

Q: If I defeat a nemesis minion, does that nemesis's side scheme get discarded as well? What about if I defeat that nemesis's side scheme; does the nemesis minion get discarded?

A: No. The side scheme and minion are independent of each other, and stay in play until they are defeated.

Q: If you defeat the first stage of a villain, does that count as "defeating an enemy"?

A: Yes. Each stage of a villain is considered an enemy, so when you defeat a villain's stage, you are defeating an enemy.

Reference: This thread, p.6, "Enemy", p.18, "Villain Defeat"

Q: After I defeat a villain and it advances to the next stage, do attachments stay attached to it?

A: Yes. All attachments and status effects remain on a villain when it advances.

Reference: p.18, "Villain Defeat"

Thwarting

Q: Do I exhaust my hero whenever I play or use a card with a “thwart” action?

A: No. When thwarting, you only exhaust your hero when you use your basic THW power, unless otherwise specified.

Reference: p.17, “Thwart”

Q: Can I spread the effects of a thwart action across multiple schemes?

A: No. Unless specified by the action (Crisis Interdiction, for example), you can only remove threat from a single scheme whenever you thwart.

Reference: p.17, “Thwart”

Defending

Q: If my hero defends against the villain's attack, do they also defend against the minions?

A: No. Because defending using your DEF requires you to exhaust your hero, defending only applies to a single attack.

Reference: p.5, "Defend, Defense", p.7, "Exhausted"

Q: If I exhaust my hero to defend an attack, when does that hero ready again?

A: You ready your hero at the end of the player phase.

Reference: p.13, "Player Phase"

Q: If I use an ally to defend against a villain’s attack, but a boost card’s effect defeats that ally before the villain’s attack actually deals damage (like Concussive Blast against an ally with 1 health), is that attack still considered defended?

A: No. As soon as an ally is defeated, you discard it; since the boost effect defeats the ally before the attack’s damage is resolved, you would not have a defender at that point, so the damage from the attack would be dealt to you. (Thanks to LemonyFresh)

Reference: p.6, “Enemy Attacks”, FFG, This thread

Q: Can I use a “(defense)” ability when another player is being attacked?

A: No. Defense abilities can only be played when you are the target of the attack.

Reference: “Defend, Defense”

Allies

Q: If an ally is Confused or Stunned, and I use them to thwart/attack, do they still take consequential damage?

A: No. Consequential Damage occurs after an ally thwarts/attacks; because the attack/thwart never occurs, the consequential damage never occurs either.

Reference: p.3, "Ally", p.5, "Consequential Damage", FFG

Q: Can I use allies to attack if my character is in alter-ego form?

A: Yes. Your allies can attack and thwart independently of your character's form.

Reference: p.3, "Ally”

Villain Phase

Q: Can an enemy attack me when my character is in alter-ego form?

A: Yes. Technically, an attack can resolve against you, even if you are in alter-ego form. However, any card that specifically refers to your hero would not resolve if you are in alter-ego form.

Reference: p.8. "Form, Change Form"

Q: Does the villain draw a boost card every time it attacks/schemes?

A: Yes. Whether a villain activates during step 2 of the villain phase, or through an encounter card (like Assault), it always draws a boost card, unless specified otherwise.

Reference: p.3, "Activation"

Q: If a boost card has a star icon, do I resolve its "When Revealed" effects?

A: No. When a boost card is revealed during a villain's activation, you only look at the text in the "Boost" section of the card (i.e., the text beneath the dividing line).

Reference: p.4, "Boost", p.15-16, "Star Icon"

Q: Can I use Resource abilities during the villain phase?

A: Yes. Resource abilities can be used whenever you’re paying a cost.

Reference: p.14, “Resource Ability”

Minions

Q: Do minions draw a boost card when they attack/scheme?

A: No. Minions never draw a boost card for their activation.

Reference: p.6, "Enemy Attacks", p.7, "Enemy Schemes"

Q: If a minion engages with me during the villain’s activation, or during a minion’s activation, will it activate against me?

A: If that minion engages with you before the end of your minions’ activation step, it will also activate. If the minion engages with you after the end of your minions’ activation step, it will not activate.

Reference: p.19, “Villain Phase”, FFG

Q: In what order do minions activate against you?

A: Minions activate in the order of your choice. However, all minions activate after the villain activates. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.15, “Simultaneous Resolution”, p.19, “Villain Phase”, FFG

Encounter Cards

Q: If I draw another player's obligation as an encounter card, and that card gains surge, do I resolve the following encounter card, or does the other player?

A: The other player would resolve the following encounter card. Surge affects the player resolving the current encounter card; since the other player has to resolve their obligation, surge would affect them.

Reference: p.10, "Keywords"

Q: If I reveal an encounter card, and it's a side scheme with a Hazard icon, do I get an additional encounter card this round?

A: No. The Hazard icon would take effect in step 3 of the villain phase.

Reference: p.15, "Side Scheme", p.19, "Villain Phase"

Q: If I am unable to resolve either action on my obligation, what do I do?

A: You would simply choose the second action. Although the first action has a required cost (denoted by an arrow), the second action does not have a required cost, so you could resolve the rest of the action even if you cannot perform the first part of the action. (Thanks to Nitewolf)

Reference: p.4, “Choose”, p.5, “Cost”

Q: If an encounter card tells me to discard an upgrade or support I control, and I have an upgrade or support in my hand, can I discard that card?

A: No. Although you control the cards in your hand, those cards are considered out of play; card abilities only affect cards that are in play, unless otherwise specified.

Reference: p.9, “In Play and Out of Play”, p.12, “Ownership and Control”

Q: If an encounter card tells me to discard cards from the encounter deck until I find a certain card, and the encounter deck runs out before I find that card, do I keep discarding from the newly-shuffled encounter deck?

A: No. If you’re discarding cards from either your player deck or the encounter deck, and the deck runs out, you do not continue to discard once you have re-shuffled that deck.

Reference: p.6, “Empty Encounter Deck”, p.6, “Empty Player Deck”

Q: If an encounter card requires me to search for a side scheme and put it into play, but that side scheme is already in play, do I place any additional scheme on it?

A: No. In this case, the search just wouldn't be successful, and nothing would happen.

Reference: p.15, "Search”

Q: If an encounter card tells me to shuffle the encounter deck, do I shuffle the discard pile into the encounter deck?

A: No. You would just shuffle the encounter deck.

Q: If an encounter card affects each character I control, does that include my hero? (Thanks to Sasquatch101)

A: Yes. You control all cards in your play area, and your hero/alter-ego is a character, which means it is a character that you control.

Reference: p.4, “Character”, p.12, “Ownership and Control”

Q: If my hero is exhausted and I draw my obligation, can I re-exhaust them?

A: No. You can only exhaust a card if it is in a ready state. If you drew your obligation while you were exhausted, you would not be allowed to exhaust your character to remove the obligation. However, you may still flip to your alter-ego form.

Reference: p.7, "Exhausted"

Q: If an encounter card causes a player to be dealt an extra encounter card, but that player has already resolved all their encounter cards dealt to them, is the new encounter card resolved in the same round?

A: Yes. Players resolve their cards until none are left; so, once all players have resolved their original encounter cards, players who were given new encounter cards would resolve those, again in player order, until no encounter cards remain.

Reference: p.19, “Villain Phase”

Side Schemes

Q: Does threat on side schemes contribute to the advancement of the main scheme?

A: No. The main scheme only advances based on how much threat is on the main scheme; it does not depend on how much threat is on any side schemes.

Reference: p.10-11, “Main Scheme”

Q: When a side scheme or other event adds an acceleration icon/token to the main scheme, does that token add one additional threat, or one additional threat per player?

A: Acceleration tokens only ever add one additional threat, regardless of player count.

Reference: p. 3, "Acceleration Token", p.10-11, "Main Scheme", p.15, "Side Scheme", p.19, "Villain Phase"

Q: If a side scheme with a Crisis icon is in play, can I remove threat from a different side scheme without a Crisis icon on it?

A: Yes. The Crisis icon prevents you from removing threat from the main scheme, but not from other side schemes. (Thanks to Lag0s)

Reference: p.15, “Side Scheme”

Q: If a side scheme with a Hazard icon is in play, does each player get an extra encounter card during step three of the villain phase?

A: No. Only one extra encounter card is dealt for each Hazard icon.

Reference: p.15, "Side Scheme"

Keywords/Status Cards

Q: If a minion engaged with me has the "Guard" keyword, can my allies still attack the villain?

A: No. Whenever a card says "you", it refers to you as a player whenever possible. Thus, you are prevented from making any attack against the villain, until the minion with Guard is defeated. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.10, "Keywords", p.19, "You"

Q: If I have a stunned or confused status card, will cards that read "Hero Action (attack)" or "Hero Action (thwart)" still trigger?

A: No. If you play an attack or a thwart event, and you are stunned/confused, that attack/thwart attempt would be replaced by removing the relevant status card.

Reference: p.4, "Attack", p.14, "Replacement Effects" p.17, "Thwart"

Q: If I use an ally to defend an attack against another player, and that attack has overkill, does the overkill damage apply to me, or to the original target of the attack?

A: The damage would apply to you. Whenever you defend using an ally, excess damage from the attack is dealt to you, since you are controlling the defending ally.

Reference: p.5, "Defend, Defense", p.10, "Keywords"

Q: What happens to a character with more than one status card of a certain type? (i.e., more than one stun status card)

A: Characters cannot have more than one status card of each type. If an ability would add a second status card of a certain type, that status card is discarded instead. (Thanks to Nitewolf)

Reference: p.16, “Status Cards”

Q: If I use an ally to defend an attack against another player, and that attack has overkill, BUT I'm in alter-ego form, do I still take the overkill damage?

A: Yes. Overkill damage is dealt to the identity controlling the defending ally, so the damage is dealt regardless of what form you’re in.

Reference: p.8, “Form”, p.10, "Keywords", FFG

Q: If an ally defends against an attack that has overkill, but that ally has a tough status card, do I take any overkill damage?

A: No. The tough status is a replacement effect; it replaces all damage dealt with the discarding of the status card. Since all damage was replaced by this effect, there is no excess damage to be dealt.

Reference: p.14, “Replacement Effects”, p.16, “Status Cards”

Q: If a character is dealt overkill damage from an attack on a minion/ally, and that character has Retaliate, does the Retaliate trigger?

A: No. Retaliate only triggers if the character in question is attacked; since the minion/ally is the target of the attack, and not the character themselves, the Retaliate ability wouldn't trigger.

Reference: p.10, "Keywords"

Q: When I am dealt indirect damage, can I split it among multiple characters?

A: Yes. Indirect damage can be assigned among any characters you control.

Reference: “Indirect Damage”

Q: When I am dealt indirect damage, and a character has Tough, can I assign all the damage to that character, even if the damage is greater than their remaining hit points?

A: No. You can only assign as much damage as their remaining hit points, without accounting for interaction with other abilities.

Reference: “Indirect Damage”

Peter Parker/Spider-Man

Q: How many attacks does Webbed Up prevent?

A: Two. Webbed Up prevents the first attack, and then adds a stun status card, which prevents a second attack.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: If an enemy has a stun status card, and I play Webbed Up to that enemy, which card triggers first?

A: The stun card would trigger first. In this scenario, if you attached Webbed Up to an already stunned enemy, that enemy would be prevented from attacking for three attacks.

Reference: p.16, “Status Cards”

Q: If I defend for another player as Spider-Man, does Spider-Sense trigger?

A: No. Spider-Sense triggers before any of the steps for attacking, so he must be the initial target of the attack for Spider-Sense to trigger. Note that this means Spider-Sense still triggers if another player/ally defends for Spider-Man.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: Does Spider-Sense trigger if a stun or Webbed Up prevents the villain from attacking?

A: No. Spider-Sense only triggers when an enemy initiates an attack; however, stun and Webbed Up are replacement effects, which means they replace the attack entirely. Since the attack never initiates, Spider-Sense never triggers.

Reference: p.14, "Replacement Effects", p.21, "FAQ"

Q: If Spider-Man is exhausted, can I still play Backflip?

A: Yes. Backflip does not require you to exhaust your hero, which means your hero does not have to be ready in order to play Backflip.

Reference: p.9, "Initiating Abilities, Playing Cards"

Q: Can I use Peter Parker's ability to generate a resource, then flip to hero form and use that resource to pay for a Hero Action?

A: No. Resources must be generated simultaneously to pay for a card.

Reference: p.5, "Cost", p.14, "Resource", p.14, "Resource Ability"

Q: Can I play Counter-Punch after I play Backflip?

A: No. You must exhaust your hero or an ally to defend against an attack; using a defense ability does not count as defending against an attack.

Reference: p.5, “Defend, Defense”

Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel

Q: Can I use Carol Danvers’ and Captain Marvel’s special ability in the same round, even though they’re both listed as once per round?

A: Yes. The abilities are independent from each other; although each ability is limited to once per round, you can use both abilities.

Reference: p.10, “Limit”

Jennifer Walters/She-Hulk

Q: When I return Hellcat to my hand, then play her again later, do any previously-taken damage or status effects remain?

A: No. All of Hellcat's damage or statuses clear when you return her to your hand.

Q: If a side scheme comes into play, can I use Jennifer Walter's ability to reduce the amount of threat on it by one?

A: No. Side schemes come into play with threat already on them, which means the threat is not placed on it. However, it is unclear whether you could reduce the threat placed due to any "When Revealed" text on the side scheme.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: Can I use Legal Practice to remove threat on multiple schemes?

A: No. Legal Practice must be used to remove threat from a single scheme.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: Can I use Jennifer Walters’ ability to reduce threat placed on schemes during setup?

A: No. Abilities without the “Setup” trigger cannot trigger during setup.

Reference: “FAQ”

Tony Stark/Iron Man

Q: If I have Pepper Potts in play, and I want to pay for a 4-cost card, can I spend an Energy card, then use Pepper to generate the two resources I just discarded?

A: No. All resources must be paid simultaneously, and then discarded.

References: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: If I use Pepper Potts to generate the resources on "The Power of Leadership" to pay for a Leadership card, does that card provide double resources?

A: No. Pepper Potts is the card generating the resources, not "The Power of Leadership," so the text wouldn't apply.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: If Iron Man has the Aerial trait, and I use Mark V Helmet, can I remove threat from the main scheme if a side scheme is in play with a Crisis icon?

A: No. All side schemes with a Crisis icon must be discarded before you can remove threat from the main scheme.

Reference: p.15, “Side Scheme”, p.15, “Simultaneous Resolution”

Q: If War Machine only has 1 health left, can I still use his action?

A: Yes. You can exhaust and deal two damage to War Machine, then deal one damage to each enemy, as long as War Machine is ready. If that two damage would cause him to have zero or less health, you would then discard him. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.2, “Ability, Card Ability”, p.5, “Cost”, FFG

T’Challa/Black Panther

Q: If I use Vibranium Suit to move damage onto an enemy with a Tough status card, does that discard the status card?

A: Yes. If damage is moved to a character, it is considered to be dealt to that character.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ", p.11, "Move"

Q: Can I use Ancestral Knowledge to shuffle 3 copies of Wakanda Forever! into my deck?

A: No. You must shuffle in three different cards by title.

Reference: p.21, "FAQ"

Q: If I am in hero form as Black Panther, and I use an ally to defend an attack, does Retaliate trigger?

A: No. Retaliate only triggers if you receive the attack. If you defend as Black Panther, Retaliate still triggers, but not if an ally defends for you.

Reference: p.21, “FAQ”

Q: If I draw the Affairs of State obligation, can I choose the second option if I have no Black Panther upgrades in play?

A: No. You cannot choose an option that would have no effect on the game, unless you have no other viable options. If you are in alter-ego form and ready, and you have no Black Panther upgrades in play, you must exhaust T’Challa.

Reference: p.4, “Choose”, FFG

Steve Rogers/Captain America

Q: If I’m in Captain America form, and an ally gets played, and I then flip over to Steve Rogers, will Living Legend still apply to the next ally played?

A: No. Living Legend only applies to the first ally played each round; if an ally has already been played by the time you flip to Steve Rogers, Living Legend cannot be used.

Reference: FFG

Q: If Captain America’s Shield is put into play as a Drone minion during setup for Ultron, can I retrieve it for Steve Rogers’ Setup ability?

A: No. Steve’s setup ability tells you to search your deck and discard pile for his shield and add it to your hand; if his shield is a Drone minion, it is in neither of those two locations, so you would not be able to add it to your hand.

Reference: p.15, “Search”

Kamala Khan/Ms. Marvel

Q: If I exhaust Embiggen when playing Melee, how much damage is done?

A: Melee would deal 5 damage to 2 enemies. Embiggen increases each instance of damage done by an attack event, so it would increase both instances of damage dealt by Melee.

Reference: FFG

Q: Can I exhaust Shrink when playing Emergency to remove 2 threat from a scheme?

A: No. As with Embiggen, Shrink increases each instance of threat removal by a thwart event. Since Emergency only prevents threat, there are no instances of threat removal, so Shrink would have no effect.

Reference: FFG

Odinson/Thor

Q: If Thor is stunned, can I still play Lightning Strike?

A: Yes. Lightning Strike is not an attack, so it is not affected by the stun keyword.

Reference: “Attack”, “Keywords”

Q: If I play Defender of the Nine Realms and the encounter deck runs out without discarding a minion, do I still remove 3 threat from a scheme?

A: No. Discarding a minion and putting it into play is a required cost, so you would not be able to remove threat from a scheme. The ability would fizzle out, an acceleration counter would be added to the main scheme, and no threat would be removed.

Reference: “Cost”

Q: Can I choose to ignore Loki’s ability?

A: No. Early printings listed Loki’s ability as a “Response,” which would imply it could be ignored, but his ability should be a “Forced Response”.

Reference: FFG

Q: If I play a Hammer Throw to attack Loki, but his Forced Response causes him to be revived, does the overkill damage still get dealt to the villain?

A: Yes. Overkill still applies even if the attack does not actually defeat Loki.

Reference: FFG

Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow

Q: Does Black Widow’s “Widowmaker” ability trigger before you activate a Preparation card or after?

A: Widowmaker triggers after you resolve the Preparation. Widowmaker is listed as a Response, and notes that it happens “After” you trigger the Preparation; so, you would resolve the Preparation text, then resolve the Widowmaker ability.

Reference: “Response”

Q: If a minion with Guard is engaged with Black Widow, can she use Attacrobatics to cancel the villain’s boost card?

A: No. Attacrobatics is listed as an “attack” and targets the villain, so you would not be able to trigger it if a Guard minion is engaged with you.

Reference: “Attack”, “Keywords”

Q: Can Black Widow use Attacrobatics to cancel a star icon that is revealed on a boost card?

A: No. Star icons do not count as boost icons, and Attacrobatics only cancel boost icons.

Reference: “Boost”, “Star Icon”

Q: Can Black Widow trigger two copies of Widow’s Bite on the same minion?

A: Yes. The second stun would not apply to the minion (since a character can only have one status card of each type), but you can trigger multiple different Responses to the same event.

Reference: “Response”

Q: Can Black Widow trigger two copies of Attacrobatics on the same boost card?

A: No. Unlike Widow’s Bite, one copy of Attacrobatics cancels the boost icons on the boost card, so the second copy of Attacrobatics has no more boost icons to cancel, and so would have no effect.

Reference: “Initiating Abilities, Playing Cards”

Q: Can Black Widow trigger Grappling Hook when another player reveals a treachery?

A: No. Grappling Hook specifically references when “you” reveal a treachery, so the player controlling Black Widow can only use Grappling Hook on a treachery they reveal.

Q: Can Dance of Death be used to deal 6 damage to a single enemy?

A: Yes. Unlike something like Melee, Dance of Death does not refer to “different” enemies, so each attack could be done against the same enemy.

Q: If I use Dance of Death to deal 6 damage to an enemy with Retaliate 1, how much retaliate damage will Black Widow take?

A: Black Widow would take three points of retaliate damage. Each instance of damage from Dance of Death is a separate attack, and there are three attacks, so attacking an enemy with retaliate three times would trigger retaliate all three times.

Bruce Banner/Hulk

Q: Can I play two copies of Hulk Smash at the same time, adding +20 to Hulk’s ATK?

A: Yes. Multiple different Interrupts can be triggered off the same triggering condition.

Reference: “Interrupt”

Q: If a minion with the Guard keyword is engaged with Hulk, can Thunderclap still target the villain?

A: Yes. Thunderclap is not listed as an “attack”, so it is not affected by the Guard keyword.

Reference: “Keywords”

Q: Can Unstoppable Force be played during the villain phase?

A: No. Unstoppable Force is an Action, so it can only be played during the player phase.

Reference: “Action”

Aggression

Q: If I play Inspired on Hulk, can I use him to thwart?

A: No. Hulk's THW is a "-", which means he cannot be exhausted to thwart.

Reference: p.5, "Dash"

Q: If Combat Training is attached to my hero, do all of my attacks get +1, including cards with "Hero Action (attack)"?

A: No. Combat Training boosts your hero's ATK, which only affects their basic attack.

Reference: p.4, "Attack"

Q: If Tigra attacks and defeats an enemy, does she heal damage before or after receiving consequential damage?

A: Tigra heals before receiving consequential damage. All responses to an attack resolve before you apply consequential damage, so the healing effect would occur before consequential damage is dealt.

Reference: FFG, This thread

Q: If Hulk defeats a villain with his attack, does his Forced Response occur before or after the villain advances to the next stage?

A: The Forced Response would occur after the villain advances. The villain's defeat occurs before the end of the attack, and advancing to the next stage is an immediate response to the villain being defeated. So, the villain would be defeated, then advance to the next stage, and then Hulk's Forced Response would trigger. The timing would be similar to the Tigra question above.

Q: Does defeating a villain stage qualify as “defeating an enemy” for the purposes of Chase Them Down?

A: Yes. You can use Chase Them Down after defeating a villain stage.

Reference: p.6, “Enemy”, FFG

Q: If I defeat a villain stage, and their next stage causes a side scheme to be revealed, can I use Chase Them Down on that side scheme?

A: Yes. The side scheme is revealed simultaneously when the villain’s new stage is revealed, which occurs simultaneously with the villain’s first stage being defeated. The timing of Chase Them Down is after you defeat an enemy, so the side scheme would be in play by the time this timing window triggers.

Reference: p.3, “After”, p.18, “Villain Defeat”

Justice

Q: What actions cause Interrogation Room to be triggered?

A: Interrogation Room triggers whenever you perform an activity that results in a minion being defeated (including attacking with an ally, removing an attachment, or dealing damage with a non-attack action). (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.14, "Response", p.19, "You"

Leadership

Q: If I use Make the Call to pay for a non-Leadership ally, would The Power of Leadership count as one resource or two?

A: The Power of Leadership would only count as one resource. You are still paying for a non-Leadership card, so the text of Power of Leadership wouldn’t apply. That said, Power of Leadership would still count as two resources if you used it to pay for a Leadership ally using Make the Call.

Reference: This thread

Q: If I play Inspired on Hulk, can I use him to thwart for one scheme?

A: No. Hulk's THW is a "-", which means he cannot be exhausted to thwart.

Reference: p.5, "Dash"

Q: If a minion enters play and I have Hawkeye in play, does the minion's "When Revealed" text occur before Hawkeye's response?

A: Yes. The "When Revealed" text is resolved when the minion enters play, but Hawkeye's response doesn't occur until after the minion enters play.

Reference: p.14, "Response"

Q: Can I play Inspired on any ally, or just an ally under my control?

A: Inspired can be attached to any ally in play. However, if it is attached to an ally under another player’s control, that player would gain control of Inspired. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.3, “Attach To”, p.18, “Upgrade”, FFG

Q: If a Weapons Runner is revealed from the encounter deck, and I use Hawkeye’s response to immediately defeat it, does Surge still trigger?

A: Yes. The Weapons Runner was still revealed, so any Surge or When Revealed effects would still occur. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.10, “Keywords”, FFG

Protection

Q: Can I play multiple copies of Counter-Punch in response to defending an attack?

A: Yes. Multiple responses can have the same timing trigger, so you could play as many Counter-Punches as you have in your hand, assuming you defended against an attack.

Reference: p.14, “Response”

Basic

Q: Can I use Emergency when a minion schemes?

A: No. Emergency reads "When the villain schemes, reduce the amount of threat placed on the scheme by 1." Since the card specifies "villain," it does not apply to minions.

Q: Can I use Emergency after the villain has already schemed?

A: No. Emergency must be played “When the villain schemes”, which means you must play it before boost cards are revealed and threat is placed.

Rhino

Q: If Rhino has two Charge cards attached to him and he attacks, do both cards boost his attack?

A: Yes. You would apply the +3 ATK twice, resulting in an attack with +6 ATK and overkill. Once that attack has been resolved, you would then discard both copies of Charge.

Reference: p.3, “Attach To”

Q: If Rhino is stunned, and has a Charge card attached to him, and he attacks, does the Charge card get discarded along with the stun status card? (Thanks to BKThomson)

A: No. The stun would replace the attack; since the attack never triggers, you would not discard the Charge card.

Reference: p.14, “Replacement Effects”, p.16, “Status Cards”

Klaw

Q: If Sonic Boom is revealed as a boost card while I am defending an attack with an ally, do I exhaust my hero?

A: No. The "you" referenced in the boost action on this card is referencing your hero card, so if an ally blocks the attack and sustains damage, your hero will not exhaust from this effect. (Thanks to Lag0s)

References: p.19, "You"

Q: If The Immortal Klaw is defeated, does Klaw immediately lose that health?

A: Yes. When a card that gives a character additional HP is discarded, that character immediately loses that much health. This can cause that character to be defeated.

Reference: p.8, "Gets"

Q: If I reveal Sonic Boom, and all my characters are already exhausted, can I still choose the option to exhaust all characters I control?

A: No. If possible, you would have to spend the resources, if all the characters you control are already exhausted.

Reference: p.4, “Choose”, FFG

Ultron

Q: If Ultron I attacks a player, and another player defends, does the resulting Drone minion engage with the original target or the defending player?

A: The Drone minion will engage with the defending player. When a player defends against an attack, they become the target of the attack, which means any responses after the attack will apply to that player. Note that the Drone minion would still engage with the defending player, even if that player used an ally to defend. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.5, "Defend, Defense”

Q: If Ultron II attacks a player, and another player defends, does the Drone minion engage with the original target or the defending player?

A: The Drone minion would engage with the original target. Ultron II’s response timing is “When Ultron attacks”, which refers to step 1 of the “Enemy Attacks” sequence. This step occurs before defenders are declared, which means the resulting Drone would engage with the original target, before anyone has the chance to defend. This is different from Ultron I’s response, which triggers after the attack has resolved.

Reference: p.6, “Enemy Attacks”

Q: If threat is prevented from being placed on the main scheme Assault on Norad (2B) in step one of the villain phase, does the Forced Response still trigger?

A: No. Because the triggering condition did not occur, any responses to that triggering condition also would not occur. (thanks to Theorel)

Reference: p.8, “Forced”, p.14, “Response”, p.17-18, “Triggered Ability”, FFG

Q: If Ultron is in stage III, and there are drone minions in play, will actions that deal damage to all enemies (like Energy Daggers or Ground Stomp) do damage to Ultron?

A: No. Ultron’s invulnerability is absolute, which means any damage that would be dealt to him would be cancelled while drone minions are in play. Note that this holds even if that action would remove all drone minions from play; since all damage is dealt simultaneously, and the drone minions are in play when the damage is dealt, the damage would not be dealt to Ultron. (Thanks to Theorel)

Reference: FFG

Risky Business

Q: If Green Goblin attacks me, and a “Boost” ability causes him to flip to Norman mid-attack, what happens?

A: Norman would attack you with a base ATK of 0, plus the value of the boost cards flipped. A star icon is treated as a 0, and his “Forced Interrupt” wouldn’t trigger because the timing window has already passed.

Reference: “Star Icon”, “FAQ”

Running Interference

Q: If I have Media Coverage attached to me, and a new villain stage is revealed, do the “When Revealed” effects trigger a second time?

A: No. A villain stage is not revealed by a specific player, so Media Coverage does not apply. It only applies to encounter cards that you specifically reveal.

Reference: FFG

Wrecking Crew