Collaborate: Moderator Basics Collaborate


Introduction

Collaborate is web conferencing or a virtual classroom with whiteboard, chat, audio, video, application sharing, polling, and other tools to engage students in a live synchronous online environment.

This guide will help you to:

Adding a Collaborate Session to Your Moodle Course

  1. For information on adding a collaborate session please see the video Adding a Collaborate Session to Moodle.

Check Your System

  1. Go to www.isu.edu/itrc/collaborate.shtml
  2. In the Moderator or Participant Resources section, Click the First Time System Check link.

Hot Tip: You can copy the links in the participant resources section into your Moodle course for your students to access before your first Collaborate session.

Accessing Your Collaborate Session

Before accessing your Collaborate session you will need to check your system.

  1. In the Week/Topic of your Moodle course, Click on the Collaborate Link.

  1. Click on the large Join Session Link.

  1. In the pop-up window, Select Open the file with Java (TM) Web Start Launcher.

  1. Click the OK button.

Note: If you do not see the pop-up window, your browser may be set to automatically download the file.

  1. It may take a while before the session starts, please be patient and do not close the Collaborate tab/window in your browser.

Note: The first time you join a session, you will be asked about the connection speed of your computer. Select the appropriate option in the dropdown menu.

Setting Participant Permissions

As a teacher you have full permissions when joining the session in your Moodle ISU course. By default all your students will join the session with minimal permissions.  There are two ways to set permissions, globally for the entire class, or individually.

Global Permissions

There are two ways to set the Global Permissions.

  1. At the top of the Participant block, Click the Options Menu button.

  1. Click the icons for the permissions you would like to turn on for everyone in the room.

Note: If there is a square around the icon, that permission is turned on.

OR

  1. In the Participant block, next to the title Main Room, Click icons for the permission you would like everyone in the room to have.

Note: If there is a red x on the icon, that permission is turned off.

Hot Tip: Chat and Audio are the most common global permissions.  You can give other permissions to individuals who need to present.

Individual Permissions

  1. In the Participant block, Scroll to the individual student.
  2. Next to the student’s name, Click the Options Menu button.

  1. Click the icons for the permissions you would like to turn on for the student.

Note: You may also take away permissions from specific individuals.

Note: If there is a square around the icon, that permission is turned on.

Using the Video and Audio Block

Participants must have video and audio permissions before they can use this block. There are only 6 live video feeds and 6 live microphones that may be used simultaneously.  For an efficient session participants should turn off their video feed and microphone when they are not actively using them.

Using Audio

You must have a microphone on your computer to use the audio option.

  1. In the Audio & Video block, Click the Talk button to activate your microphone.

Note: A microphone icon will appear on the button to let you know your microphone is on.

Note: Your computer may ask for your permission to access the microphone.  Click the allow button to use the audio.

  1. To turn off your microphone, Click the Talk button again.

Using Video

You must have a webcam on your computer to use the video option.

  1. In the Audio & Video block, Click the Video button to activate your webcam.

Note: A webcam icon will appear on the button to let you know your video is on.

Note: Your computer may ask for your permission to access the webcam.  Click the allow button to use the video.

Hot Tip: You can click the preview button to make sure your camera is positioned correctly before you click the video button to activate a live video feed. The preview button is on the right side of the video button and has a magnifying glass on it.

  1. To turn off your live video feed, Click the Video button again.

NOTE: Video requires a large amount of bandwidth, if participants do not have high quality internet connections, or slow computers you may encounter technical difficulties when using the live video feed.

Loading Content to the Whiteboard

You may load powerpoint, jpeg and collaborate whiteboard files onto the whiteboard.

  1. At the top-right of the Whiteboard, Click the Load Content button.

  1. Browse to the file.

  1. Click the Open button.

Note: The first time you load a powerpoint file you will need to indicate if you would like the upload utility to use PowerPoint or OpenOffice.  Select the appropriate option.

Note: The file must be closed in other applications before it can be loaded.  It may appear that the process is deleting your file, but do not worry, your original file is safely saved on your computer.

There are many other tools within Collaborate - breakout rooms, timer, polling, application sharing, web tour, etc. for information on using these functions register for a workshop at http://www2.isu.edu/itrc/calendar/calendar.php or contact the ITRC for an appointment.

For more information please visit http://www.isu.edu/itrc/collaborate.shtml


This work was done by Instructional Technology Resource Center at Idaho State University and is licensed under the Creative Commons Unported License. To view a copy of this license, visit Attribution Noncommercial 3.0 United States or send a letter to Creative Commons, 444 Castro Street, Suite 900, Mountain View, California, 94041, USA.