Mount Hutt College/Lauriston School Board of Trustees

Charter 2016


The Board has the responsibility to develop strategic educational direction from Year 1-13 across two schools; Mount Hutt College and Lauriston School which places it in a unique position.  We acknowledge the Board of Trustees governs two individual schools and that the management reflects each school’s requirements. The legal responsibility of Boards of Trustees around governance and management is determined by Section 75 and 76 of the Education Act 1989.



The Board emphasises strategic leadership rather than administrative detail, has a clear distinction of Board and staff roles, concentrates on the future rather than the past or present, and is pro-active rather than reactive.



The Board delegates all authority and accountability for the day-to-day operational organisation of the respective schools to the Principal, or Acting Principal.


Combined Board Composition

Mount Hutt College and Lauriston School combined their boards in March 2004. Initially to ensure both schools thrived, which has happened. It took a lot of consultation with both school communities and required Ministry of Education approval.

  • Mount Hutt College is the lead school.
  • Five elected parent trustees; nominations open across both schools.
  • If either school’s community is not represented by at least one trustee after the election, then the Board will co-opt at least one trustee from that community.
  • One elected student from Mount Hutt College (year 9 and up).
  • One Staff trustee; nominations open across both schools; it is the Principal’s role to make sure the staff are up to date with board matters. We cannot have two staff trustees as it is law that each board can only have one trustee.
  • Co-option is at the discretion of the Board.


Recognising New Zealand’s Cultural Diversity                                                  NAG 1(e)                                                                                                                                                  

Both schools, as appropriate to their communities, will develop procedures and practices that reflect New Zealand’s Cultural diversity and the unique position of Maori Culture. In recognition of this we will take reasonable steps to provide instruction in tikanga (Maori culture) and te reo (Maori language).

To achieve this, the schools will:

  • Incorporate elements of tikanga and te reo into units of work across all areas of the curriculum.
  • Offer opportunities for individual student and staff development in te reo as required.
  • Use everyday greetings from the Maori language.
  • Encourage the establishment of signs around the school in both English and Maori.
  • Ensure there are adequate resources to support tikanga and te reo programmes.


Commitment to Maori                                                                                                                               NAG1(e)

Both schools recognise that Maori students face barriers to achievement additional to those faced by other students.  The reasons for this are complex, and are both historical and current. We believe that the additional barriers faced by Maori students can only be addressed effectively in partnership between the school and its Maori community.  That partnership must work to make the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi a reality at both schools and give Maori students the same benefits of participation in education as other students. The schools also recognise that Maori language and culture has an intrinsic importance to New Zealand society, which is over and above the contribution made by other cultures.  The schools are determined to reflect that importance. The Board is committed to building, and playing an active part in, the partnership with our Maori community, and to resourcing decisions made in partnership.

National Education Goals and Priorities

Mount Hutt College and Lauriston School endorse the National Education Goals and the National Education Priorities and recognise the legislative requirements of the National Standards for achievement