Human-Robot Interaction (HRI 2015) Program Committee Symposium

Paul G. Allen Center For Computer Science & Engineering (CSE), Gates Commons, CSE 691
University of Washington, Seattle, WA

Friday, November 21, 2014, 3–6 pm

OVERVIEW.  The Program Chairs of the Human-Robot Interaction (HRI) 2015 Conference are pleased to announce a symposium made up of a series of “lightning talks” by some of the leading researchers in the HRI community. The goals of the symposium are to strengthen the HRI community and to interact with the University of Washington community who are generously hosting the Program Committee meeting. The symposium program includes two sessions with a total of 25 three-minute talks with time for one question for the speaker. The event is open to the University of Washington community and to the public.


3:00 PM – 3:10 PM

        OPENING by Program Chairs

3:10 PM – 4:00 PM

        SESSION 1 (Chair: Bilge Mutlu, University of Wisconsin–Madison)

        Leila Takayama, Google[x]

        Min Kyung Lee, Carnegie Mellon University

        Brenna Argall, Northwestern University

        Sonya Kwak, Ewha Womans University

        Cindy Bethel, Mississippi State University

        Kerstin Fischer, South Denmark University

        Malte Jung, Cornell University

        Takayuki Kanda, ATR

        Maya Cakmak, University of Washington

        Julie Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

        Aaron Steinfeld, Carnegie Mellon University

        Adriana Tapus, ENSTA-ParisTech

        Dylan Glas, ATR

        Stefanie Tellex, Brown University

4:00 PM – 4:10 PM


4:10 PM – 5:00 PM

        SESSION 1 (Chair: Leila Takayama, Google[x])

        Bilge Mutlu, University of Wisconsin–Madison

        Brian Scassellati, Yale University

        Tony Belpaeme, Plymouth University

        Guy Hoffman, IDC Herzliya

        Ana Paiva, Technical University of Lisbon

        Wendy Ju, Stanford University

        Mark Neerincx, TNO & Delft University of Technology

        Laurel Riek, University of Notre Dame

        Astrid Weiss, Vienna University of Technology

        Rachid Alami, LAAS/CNRS

        Jodi Forlizzi, Carnegie Mellon University

        Holly Yanco, University of Massachusetts Lowell

        James Young, University of Manitoba

        Selma Sabanovic, Indiana University

5:00 PM – 6:00 PM