Data Citation Synthesis Working Group


Project Represented

Role in the Project


Amy Brand

Project co-chair

Digital Science

Amye Kenall

BioMed Central

Andreas Rauber

RDA WG on Data Citation Initiative; EU Projects TIMBUS, SCAPE and APARSEN

WG Co-Chair

Vienna University of Technology, Austria & SBA-Research

Anita deWaard


Bonnie Carroll

CODATA-ICSTI TG on Data Citation

Past Co-chair: liaison to CODATA Executive Comm

Information International Associates, Inc

Christine Borgman

 CODATA-ICSTI TG on Data Citation

Co-chair of CODATA-ICSTI TG on Data Citation


Dan Cohen

The National Academies(US)/ BRDI

Library of Congress

David Shotton


University of Oxford

Eefke Smit

Intn’l Assoc. of STM Publishers

Elizabeth Iorns

Science Exchange

Science Exchange

Hannelore Vanhaverbeke

Data Analysis Unit - Research Coordination Office

Repoitory manager, Open Access promotor, Head of the Data Analysis Unit

KU Leuven

Hylke Koers

Elsevier Article of the Future & ICSU-WDS/RDA Data Publishing Interest Group

Head of Content Innovation


Ivan Herman

Digital Publishing Activity 

Activity Lead

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

Jan Brase

CODATA-ICSTI TG on Data Citation


Jo McEntyre


Joan Starr



Chair of Metadata Working Group and member of Business Practices Working Group (DataCite)

EZID Service Manager

California Digital Library, University of California

Joe Hourclé

Solar Data Analysis Center; Virtual Solar Observatory

Wyle (as a contractor at NASA/GSFC)

Kathleen Cass

Kerstin Lehnert

ICSU-WDS WG on Data Publication

Chair of subWG on Bibliometrics

Columbia University

Mark Parsons

Research Data Alliance

(CODATA TG on Data Citation, ESIP Stewardship Committee)

Member of RDA Secretariat and Managing Director RDA/US

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Maryann Martone

FORCE11;  Neuroscience Information Framework

Executive Director;  Principal Investigator

University of California, San Diego

Mercè  Crosas

Amsterdam Manifesto on Data Citation Principles; Dataverse

Director of Data Science at IQSS; co-author of Data Citation Manifesto

IQSS, Harvard University

Micah Altman

CODATA TG on Data Citation;  Contributor Roles IWSCA;

MIT; Brookings

Michael Diepenbroek

ICSU World Data System


Institute for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen, Germany

Mustapha Mokrane

ICSU World Data System

Executive Director

International Council for Science / National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (Japan)

Natalia Manola


Project Manager

University of Athens, Greece

Paul Groth

VU University of Amsterdam

Paul Uhlir

Nat’l Academy of Sciences

Phil Archer


Puneet Kishor

Creative Commons

Ruth Duerr

NSIDC, ESIP Stewardship Committee

ESIP Stewardship Committee, vice-chair

National Snow and Ice Data Center, University of Colorado, Boulder

Sarah Callaghan

NERC Environmental Data Centres, CODATA-ICSTI TG on Data Citation

Co-chair of CODATA TG on Data Citation. Project manager for NERC SIS data citation and publication project

STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK

Simon Hodson


Executive Director, CODATA; coordination with CODATA TG on Data Citation and with CODATA Executive Committee


Stefan Proell

SBA Research

Stephanie Hagstrom


Project Manager


Tim Clark


MassGeneral Institute for Neurodegenerative Disease;

Massachusetts Alzheimer Disease Research Center

Exec Comm member; Director of Informatics; co-Director, Data & Statistics Core

Massachusetts General Hospital; Harvard Medical School

Tim Smith


OpenAIRE, Zenodo

Leader of Collaboration and Information Services


Todd Carpenter


Yannis Ioannidis


Project Coordinator

ATHENA Research Center