Table of Contents

Florida Financial Responsibility Law Penalties

Florida Financial Responsibility Law Penalties

Under the No-Fault Law, Florida vehicle owners are required to carry the minimum amounts of $10,000 for property damage liability (PDL) and $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP). In case you are ever involved in an accident that causes any degree of bodily harm to others, your required coverage will also include Bodily Injury (BI) coverage of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. You must have coverage in place before you obtain your registration and license plates, and you must continue to carry it throughout the registration period. If you intend to drop your insurance, for any reason, you are required to surrender your plates before the insurance expires. Otherwise, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) can suspend your driver's license, your registration and your vehicle tags for up to three years or until you take out a policy, whichever is shorter. You can also be fined anywhere from $150 to $500 for driving uninsured. Here is a table summarizing the fines and penalties for first and subsequent offenses:

Fines

Driving Privilege

First Offense

$150 reinstatement fee.

License and registration suspension up to 3 years, unless proof of insurance is provided in time.

Second Offense

$250 reinstatement fee if lapse occurs within three years of the first offense.

License and registration suspension up to 3 years, unless proof of insurance is provided in time.

Subsequent Offenses

$500 reinstatement fee if lapse occurs within three years of the first offense.

License and registration suspension up to 3 years, unless proof of insurance is provided in time.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Whenever your Florida auto insurance policy does experience a lapse, your insurance carrier is required by law to immediately notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). The Florida DHSMV sends a notice of suspension by mail. You’re then given the opportunity to provide proof of new coverage before the date of suspension, which must prove that you had new insurance in place before the old policy expired. Even if the period of the lapse was just one day, if you fail to provide the new valid proof of insurance that meets the Florida requirements when requested by law enforcement, such as at traffic stops or at the scene of an accident, your license, plates, and registration will be suspended for up to three years for your first offense.