Performers chosen for the PTC Honors Program Winners’ Recital 2017:

Pieces to be performed are selected by the judges.  

Rulings by judges cannot be contested.





First Prize – Hazal Ghazarian Skaggs Awards $200


Group 1:  Meagan Lee                      The Lark  - M. Balakirev

 Student of Tian Song

Group II:  Eliza Podvalny                Nocturne in Bb minor, Op. 9 No. 1- F. Chopin

 Student of Sheng-Hui Wu Chen

Group III: (tie) Blake Frank             Prelude & Fugue in C-sharp Major, BWV. 848 – J.S. Bach                                                                            Student of Snow Wilson

                       Grace Wang             Danzas Argentinas, Op. 2 – A. Ginastera

                                                                     Student of Ingrid Clarfield

Group IV: Not Awarded




Second Prize – Pauline Styler Awards $150


Group I:    Taksh Gupta                            Waltz in F Major, Op34. No. 2 – F. Chopin

Student of Ingrid Clarfield

Group II:   Linden Puccini  Runnels           Butterfly, Op. 43. No. 1 – E. Grieg

Student of Nathaniel LaNasa

Group III:  Ethan Jeon                              Sonata in C Major, Op. 53 “Waldstein” – L. van Beethoven

                                                                                 Allegro con brio

Student of Phillip Kawin                                                                                    

Group IV: (tie) Sharon Jin                         Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 28 – S. Prokofiev

Student of Ingrid Clarfield

                        Emily Ma                           Paraphrase on Verdi’s “Rigoletto” – F. Liszt

Student of Elena Belli



Third Prize: Past Presidents’ Awards $100

Group I:   Rosalia Malik                      Prelude and Fugue in C Minor, BWV 847 – J.S. Bach

Student of Joseph Ries

Group II:  Kevin Jin                             Sonatina in C Major, Op.13 No. 1 – D. Kabalevsky

Allegro assai e Lusingando

Student of Gloria Chu

Group III: Not Awarded

Group IV: Thomas Flynn                     Piano Sonata No.2, “Concord” – C. Ives

                                                                                The Alcotts

                                                                                 Student of Walter Aparicio


Special Awards:

            Regina Rubinoff 20th&21st Century American Composer Awards  $100

Group IV: Thomas Flynn - Piano Sonata No.2, “Concord” – C. Ives

Regina Rubinoff Living Composer Award $100

Not Awarded

Dorothy and Sidney Morrow Baroque Composition Award $100

Group III: Blake Frank -  Prelude & Fugue in C-sharp Major, BWV. 848 – J.S. Bach


20th/21st Century Festival Commissioned Piece Winner

Premiere of “Puddles” by Nic Scherzinger (

Kara Lu - Student of Eileen Buck

Honorable Mention $50

Group I:  Judith-Margot Dubrovsky                      The Seasons, Op. 37a, June – P.I. Tchaikovsky

                                                                                            Student of Snow Wilson

Group I:  Daniel Haiduc                                        Moment Musicaux in F Minor, Op.94 No3 – F. Schubert

                                                                                              Student of Gvantsa Zangaladze

Group II: Randy Sim                                            Flight of the Bumble-Bee - Rimsky-Korsakov

                                                                                           Student of Clara Zhang

Group II: Erenei Ligh                                            Sonata in F Major K.332 – W.A. Mozart

III. Allegro assai

Student of Eileen Buck

Group III; Jenna Cooley                                       Nocturne in C Minor Op. 48 No.1 – F. Chopin

                                                                                             Student of Gloria Chu

Group III: Emily Tong                                            Romanian Folk Dances – B. Bartók

                                                                                             Student of Joan Forsyth

Group III: Meghan Jin                                         Morceaux de Salon Op. 10 – S. Rachmaninoff

V. Humoresque

Student of Gloria Chu

Group IV: Kevin Zhong                                         Sonata in C Major Op. 53, “Waldstein” – L. van Beethoven

                                                                                              Allegro con brio

Student of Gloria Chu