Backing-up and Restoring Course Content in Moodle

Moving Materials from an Old Course to a New Course

Click here for a video demo of backup and restore.

Creating a Backup File of Your Course

Moodle 1.9

Archiving your course involves backing up and saving your course to your computer. To do so:

  1. Open the course in old Moodle (1.9) (https://bcmoodle2012.beloit.edu) that you would like to move content from.
  2. Click Backup located in the Administration block (Moodle 1.9)
  3. Deselect anything that you do not want included in the backup. Everything is included by default. You do want to include Course files and Site files used in this course.
  4. Click Continue. You may get a warning that user data is not included in the backup. You can ignore this.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Continue.
  6. Click the link to the file name to download and save the backup file to your computer.
  7. Once the file has been downloaded to you computer, please delete the backup file from Moodle.
    To do so:
  1. Click the [Parent folder] link.
  2. Select the backupdata folder by clicking in the check box to the left of the file.
  3. Select Delete completely from the “With chosen files...” drop-down menu.
  4. Confirm that you want to delete the file.

 

Restoring to Moodle 2.x from a Backup

  1. Login to new Moodle (https://moodle.beloit.edu) and open the empty new course by clicking the link for the course located in the My Courses block.
  2. Click Restore located in the Settings block.
  3. You can either click the Choose a file button to browse for and upload the backup file you made, or you can drag-and-drop the file into the area with the blue arrow*. If the file is larger than 100MB contact the Moodle Administrator.
    *Please be aware that there isn’t a  progress indicator when you drag-and-drop a file into this area. Please be patient as the file uploads - the larger the backup file the longer it will take.
  4. Click Restore. Click Continue.
  5. On the Destination page, scroll down to the “Restore into this course,” section. Select, “Merge the backup course into this course”. Click the [Continue] button.
  6. On the Restore Settings page, uncheck the “Include blocks” option. Click [Next].
  7. On the Course settings page, select or deselect the items you would like to include (all items are selected by default).
  8. On the Review Page, scroll to the bottom and click the [Perform Restore] button.
  9. Click [Continue]. You are finished! You can now edit the content of the new course.