

# **CALL FOR NOMINATIONS**

# **OUTSTANDING ALUMNUS AWARD**

#### NOMINATIONS DUE: February 11, 2022 5:00 pm Send nominations to your department chair to forward to Dean Jacobs

The award was established to encourage alumni to remain connected with the College of Social Sciences and to recognize those making an important contribution to the College.

The Dean will select the awardee in consultation with the College development director. An engraved plaque will be formally presented to the recipient at the College of Social Sciences Awards Ceremony in April.

#### Eligibility

- Recipients should have completed a degree program that has been offered by one of the current departments of the college. They will have:
  - made an outstanding contribution to the college, and
  - o made outstanding professional or civic contributions in venues outside the college.

These two criteria will be given equal weight in the selection of candidates. Special consideration will be given to candidates for this award whose SJSU education seemed to be particularly important in leading to important achievement, as in the case of alumni who have had to overcome considerable adversity to make their mark in the world.

## **Nomination Materials**

Letter of nomination summarizing the nominee's distinguished accomplishments should be submitted to department chairs to be forwarded to the Dean.

## **Previous Recipients**

- 2006 Leslie Francis, Social Science
- 2007 Susanne Wilson, Political Science
- 2008 James L. McGaugh, Psychology
- 2009 Robert Pisano, Public Administration
- 2010 Keith Barnes, Environmental Studies Steven E. Bochner, Political Science
- 2011
- 2012 Jeanne Sheldon, History
- 2013 Robert G. Foster, Public Administration

- 2014 Scott LeFaver, Urban and Regional Planning
- 2015 Maryanna McSwain, Social Sciences
- 2016 Alan Kazdin, Psychology
- 2017 Not awarded
- 2018 Patricia Gardner, Political Science
- 2019 John L. McLemore, Political Science
- 2020 Not awarded
- 2021 Jana Taylor, Justice Studies